Mark included in FRC's proposals

Arock , the opposition to the mark comes from those of us who believe that it would slow the game up and take away a lot of the excitement. County football at the moment is more about athleticism rather than skill. Such a move would do nothing to change that, only take out any players under 6 foot.

Micklow (Wicklow) - Posts: 118 - 10/12/2012 20:40:26    1308884

Some really goods ideas on the list, The one rule they could introduce would be 13 a side rule for Senior football only. They could trial it for the Nat League in 2014, and it dosent work they could put it to bed.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 10/12/2012 21:39:31    1308909

One of the biggest problems with modern football, in my opinion, is the amount of times players will solo as far as they can, taking the ball into contact. It usually ends in a free for or against the player or with the ball being spilled. Whatever the outcome this slows the game down; anyone in a forward position who has made themselves available for a pass is by then marked so if the player still retains the ball he has to go laterally with a short fisted pass.

Solution: discourage & coach young players away from this tendency! No need for wholesale changes to the rules.

Disclaimer: I do accept there are times when you would encourage players to "take on their man". The place for that? Inside the opposition's '40 !!!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 10/12/2012 21:40:25    1308910

croker16
County: Louth

How much longer are we going to have to look at frees being given for lads supposedly pickin the ball from the ground? The sooner that rule is scraped the better. How is a player of any standard club or county meant to put his boot under a ball that is rollin towards him at speed. Time to speed the game up and get rid of the pick up rule... Any thoughts?

i think its a skill of the game that you should have mastered and if you havent then you shouldnt be playing. i agree with previous poster. reduce teams to 13 and or increase playing time to 80 mins. players are much fitter nowadays, this would create more space. all other rules are Ok if referees would interpret them correctly.
10/12/2012 16:01:15

S Goldrick

That is my point it's a skill to pick the ball up when it is stationary but it is impossible to pick it up with the boot when a defender is pulling and dragging you without fouling the ball. We need to introduce the same as the women's football where you have to be on one leg while picking it up, reduce the amount of players on a team and clamp down on cynical fouling.

croker16 (Louth) - Posts: 349 - 10/12/2012 21:53:18    1308916

keeper7
County: Longford

1308910 One of the biggest problems with modern football, in my opinion, is the amount of times players will solo as far as they can, taking the ball into contact. It usually ends in a free for or against the player or with the ball being spilled. Whatever the outcome this slows the game down; anyone in a forward position who has made themselves available for a pass is by then marked so if the player still retains the ball he has to go laterally with a short fisted pass.

Solution: discourage & coach young players away from this tendency! No need for wholesale changes to the rules.

Disclaimer: I do accept there are times when you would encourage players to "take on their man". The place for that? Inside the opposition's '40 !!!

I think its the opposite that happens, players dont run enough with the ball, they look for the short hand pass all the time acrooss the pitch , which makes it easier for man marking. when a players runs at the opposition it opens up spaces for the forwards to get away from their men as the defenders have to make a decision whether to stay or go to the man.
Crossmaglen are a good example of how the mix both when needed.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 10/12/2012 21:57:19    1308918

Yes they were horsebox. Didn't work then...cant see much having changed in 3 years

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 10/12/2012 21:59:52    1308920

I think the 'mark' would slow the game down and have the opposite effect of increasing actual playing time.

I think the yellow card rule, the 30 metre march forward etc are starting to tackle cynical fouling and this is a big step forward. I think that if this is reduced (never will be zero) then many other things fall into place.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 11/12/2012 08:16:29    1308926

I think the proposal on picking the ball off the ground with one foot is a good suggestion. The problem with trying to do away with the pick up a couple of years ago was that it was very dangerous as men dove head first for a ball on the ground, this eliminates that danger.

I think the yellow card rule is rubbish, whilst something needs to be done about cynical fouling this is not the answer. I remember being at a Tyrone-Galway game the first time this rule was tried, and was really looking forward to the duel between Padraig Joyce and Conor Gormley, unfortunately Gormley got a soft yellow card 10mins in and it ruined what should have been a great spectacle. We should be doing more to promote the best players of the game and our sport as a spectacle rather than having players sitting on a bench because of 1 mistake!

stringbean (Tyrone) - Posts: 134 - 11/12/2012 08:59:43    1308933

delighted that the advantage rule is changing, not sure about the mark but it might clean up the mess that is the middle third. yellow and your off won't work but the 3rd team yellow and your off would I think. 70 min games will increase the fitness demands on teams and will benefit bigger clubs, grand for club championship but hardly necessary for jnr c league match. The pick up is a difficult skill and removing it will certainly make the game easier but so would removing the amount of steps taken still it will make it easier for refs.

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 11/12/2012 09:37:28    1308939

Why do people want to make the game less skilful?

Getting rid of the pickup rule is a ridiculous idea that will add absolutely nothing to the game and only make it a little less skilful. It looks awful and leads to a lot of pulling and dragging of the ball to and fro.

Very little wrong with football at the moment. Disagree with both yellow card suggestions as I feel the sanctions are too harsh.

Disagree with the open handed point too as I feel that hand passed points in general should be stopped but I wouldn't be too annoyed if it ended up been brought in.

Disagree with the mark in general I have to say. Why do we reward one skill over another? Why not start giving out frees for successful blocks too? Or good shoulders? Nice outside of the boot passes?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 11/12/2012 10:04:27    1308948

football first
Rather than speeding up the game, the mark has the potential to actually slow it down. The last time this was tried, the following happened:
1) good fileders were "spoiled" resulting in more breaking ball rather than more high catches
2) teams didn't compete for their opponent's kick-out: instead they funnelled back and put their blanket defence in place.
This proposed change is misguided.

Exactly right. This could actually hinder the issue. The only time donegal came out of their defensive system last year was to contest kickouts. If they lost the kickout they carried out an innocuous foul on the man in posession, to allow them time to get back into position and so stop any potential counter-attack where they were caught up the field. This is the reason that teams couldnt score goals against them. Any potential chance was stopped out on the 45. A mark means they dont need to carry out the foul any more.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 11/12/2012 10:07:01    1308949

Here's a proposal. Ask referees to read the rule book. Give them a whistle each and instruct them on how to use it. Tell them that in each match, whenever a rule is broken to blow the whistle in accordance with the rule book. Tell them that no matter how often teams commit fouls or complain, keep giving a free each and every time a rule is broken. If both teams end with 9 players, so be it.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 11/12/2012 11:11:29    1308977

@ the master, if the card system goes ahead those innocuous frees that Donegal gave away to slow the game down will be punished both with the loss of players and a free from inside the scoring zone, if the mark is used as envisaged ie players moving back etc it should allow quick delivery of the ball inside, of course the devil will be in the detail and whether refs will be willing to follow through with the sanctions

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 11/12/2012 11:36:14    1308988

These proposals are quite proposterous. I particularly have a problem with the yellow card rule. I was at the Wexford v Roscommon Div 3 league game earlier this year in Wexford park where 14 Wexford men received yellow cards and I think Roscommon got 12 or 13. There wasn't a dirty stroke in the game. Players were yellow carded for almost every foul. Does this mean that we would have finished with 4 wexford players v 6 roscommon?
I think the refereeing needs to be changed. I can't remember who the ref was but he contributed heavily to making it a terrible game of football.

gaafarmer (Wexford) - Posts: 280 - 11/12/2012 12:20:59    1309017

What will happen with the yellow card rule is that fouls which would traditionally be a yellow will now be replaced with a warning or a ticking...and what would have been a red will now be a yellow and result in the fouling team not been hampered. It has happened before

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 11/12/2012 12:38:47    1309029

So let me get this straight, they're proposing a rule where a yellow card will be pretty much a red card for the individual in question, the only difference being you won't lose a man, you just replace him instead. This seems crazy to me, just like it did 3 years ago. One tackle now in football and you're booked, so this is proposing a 'one tackle and you're off rule". It's gonna increase diving now because you know if you take a fall, your marker is gonna walk. What's next?, if you hit a wide you'll be booked, meaning you'll be subbed, crazy. P.S Our game is not broken, stop trying to fix it with stupid gimmicks. ~PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 11/12/2012 14:33:28    1309080

I have to say I am not a fan of a lot these new proposals. I try to keep an open mind in relation to any new proposals, but I think some of those mooted are change for change sake. I don't understand the continuous tinkering with the rules of our games. It seems that a year won't pass when some "think tank" proposes that we borrow this, that and the other from other sports. Why does officialdom place such credence in the laws of Aussie Rules and Rugby? What will it be next, will we borrow from American Football and bring on a specialist kicker to take frees? Maybe they will make the hurlers wear roller blades to speed the up the fastest field game in the world!! Who knows, but some of this stuff beggars belief.

The mark bemuses me, why on earth do we want to introduce this and slow the game down? Did we not change the free taking rules to speed the game up? Am I missing something? This bull is bi-product of the nonsense that is the International Rules Series (yet another reason to abolish it in my opinion). One rule I do like is the sin bin, I think this could act as a great deterrent to things such as verbal abuse of officials and 3rd man tackles. I sincerely hope that the majority of these new proposals get binned.

All these changes do nothing but confuse players, officials and spectators and lead to a shouting match when they are misinterpreted. I really wish they would stop messing with it, in my own opinion, there is not a lot wrong with the spectacle we have on offer at the minute.

GlensMan89 (Antrim) - Posts: 54 - 11/12/2012 14:51:11    1309087

My main problem with the pick up rule is the one where the ball is rolling towards you on the ground at pace. Some refs let you pick it up if its rolling towards you and some don't. If the rolling ball towards you was allowed to be lifted direct from the ground then the rest of the rule could remain the same,imo.

croker16 (Louth) - Posts: 349 - 11/12/2012 14:51:23    1309088

i hate the idea of a mark..completely slows the game down..again we are leaving the future of the game in the hands of old men who miss the days of kerry and dublin

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 11/12/2012 17:15:41    1309176

Here's my take on the new rule changes

1: CCC control fixtures within county, not the County Board
Good rule change, there needs to be a fixed club/county season in place. Have seen in my own county, club matches get called off every year if county does well.

2: Manager's Charter becomes a formal agreement
Good rule, should go through.

3: Mandatory qualifications for managers/coaches for adult club and county teams
Good rule in theory, probably won't go through. Not every inter county manager will coach. Some will emply coaches and the do the managing.

4: Distinction between 'accidental' and 'deliberate' fouls.
Hard one - a foul is a foul. If I accidently get tripped going for a goal - does the offender get a second yellow card or not; if he meant foul or not? Should get throw out.

5: Publication of a laypersons guide to rules
Good, why not.

6: Improve refereeing standards by improving links between committees
Again good to see, not sure how this would improve refs tho.

7: Full and proper enforcement by referees of the rule governing field incursions
Silly rule - have seen club refs not allow managers to give players water. Only managers/mentors (limit the number of officals say 4) allowed on pitch.

8: Recruitment drive for referees among recently retired players
Good why not - no incentive for players to try refereeing tho.

9: Before all games, referee should introduce himself to both teams in dressing rooms
Good in theory - not sure if it'll pass tho

10a: Players issued with a yellow card will be subbed (max of 3);
Stupid rule - will get thrown out hopefully. 10 minute sin bin for a yellow card would have been a better rule change.

10b: Total subs allowed increase from 5 to 6;
Good rule.

10c: 3 yellow cards = 2 game suspension (inter-county only)
Good rule.

11: Move ball forward 30m rather than 13m where necessary
Good rule - would make team cut out blocking of quick frees/ back chat etc

12: Proposed new definition of 'the tackle'
Great rule - what exactly is a legal 'tackle'?

13: Clarity about the advantage rule
Great rule should go through.

14: A 'mark' awarded for clean catch from a kickout over the 45m line
50/50 about this one. Probably will get thrown out.

15: Ball can be picked from ground if player has at least one foot on the ground (not while lying on the ground)
Great rule. Hope it goes through.

16: Allow a point to be scored with the open hand
Good rule change

17: Introduction of a clock, operated by a separate official, which is stopped as directed by the referee
Great rule - should make game alot longer, as ball currently out of for at least 20mins each game.

18: Adult club games increase in time from 60mins to 70mins
Great rule - should go through.

KHL (Donegal) - Posts: 113 - 11/12/2012 18:00:42    1309207