Ryan McMenamin retires from inter-county football

A real legend who will be missed by Tyrone. I would say every team in Ireland would have loved to have him in their dressing room before a match.

MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 01/11/2012 14:02:12    1291166

Congrats on the retirement Ricey, the game will definitely be a lot quieter without you!

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 01/11/2012 14:18:05    1291177

I loved to hate him and I'd have loved to have him!

mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 01/11/2012 14:47:05    1291201

mayoboy1

I loved to hate him and I'd have loved to have him!

Oooh behave!

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 01/11/2012 15:24:19    1291216

yes he was a gritty man but his antics and his verbal abuse of opponents was not in the best interest of gaelic football ..i saw some great hard backs ..ie paudie o se ..jimmy dennihen ..conor couhihan ..sean doherty ..and many more and never once did i see them do what mac used too do

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 01/11/2012 15:37:52    1291231

Ryan was like a pantomime villain. He played on the edge sometimes got caught sometimes not, i would have loved him on a Monaghan team came up and kicked some great scores for tyrone and was tigerish in defense.

Kerry people how would you regard tomas o'se?

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1949 - 01/11/2012 16:02:59    1291246

Enjoy the retirement Ricey, you were a legend. 3 All-irelands medals, each one of them hard fought for,
this man won no handy All-irelands. The mcmenamin snarl was a thing of beauty, that struck fear into the
heart of many opponents! Best of luck Ricey, you will be missed. Up Tyrone.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 01/11/2012 17:43:52    1291327

Very effective player and put fear into teams when he played especially Kerry players who he intimidated and wound up something awful. Under rated footballer but one of the most important in that Tyrone squad. Good luck Ricey you have your medals in your pocket and have nothing left to prove.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 01/11/2012 17:45:50    1291328

No kerryman ever feared anyone but if it floats your boat sure heh, you must be used to fear why else would you be so preoccupied by same, more to be pitied i suppose.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 01/11/2012 20:01:48    1291399

He was never my favourite, but he won 3 all ireland medals and had a touch of class about him. Good luck to him in what ever he does next in life.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 01/11/2012 20:35:34    1291419

Huge loss to Tyrone but i think he be back in with squad come next spring. Still a great man to have for 15 to 20 minutes in a tight game.

hound (Meath) - Posts: 234 - 01/11/2012 21:49:54    1291456

shaggylegend
County: Monaghan

Ryan was like a pantomime villain. He played on the edge sometimes got caught sometimes not, i would have loved him on a Monaghan team came up and kicked some great scores for tyrone and was tigerish in defense.

Kerry people how would you regard tomas o'se?

I regard Tomás Ó Sé as the greatest half-back of all time.....bar none.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 02/11/2012 09:24:01    1291480

Cute_Kerry_Hoor
Just as i expected tomas would be something similar to ricey but twice the footballer, not afraid to mingle in the darker side of the game

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1949 - 02/11/2012 10:16:33    1291494

The differance with tomas was that while he engaged in the darker arts it was usually in response to provocation,the same can't be said about mcmenamin,my critique on him has not been posted by admin but then again i can't blame them,tomas and mcmenamin are in no way alike,tomas as a previous poster stated is one of the best half backs that kerry ever produced or that the game has ever seen.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 02/11/2012 10:53:14    1291509

Just like breakingballs22 from Louth pointed out a page back, I'm also shocked and disgusted by the small minded vindictiveness shown by almost all the Kerry posters on this thread (cute hoor is a welcomed exception)!

Get over it lads, ye weren't good enough in 2003, 2005, or 2008 but I can see that it still rankles! To see the celebratory antics of some of the Kerry players this year in Killarney just shows how much they appreciated beating Tyrone ONCE in their playing careers in championship football! You'd swear they'd just done the 5-in-a-row that had eluded even Micko and his great team! It was a QUALIFIER, for those who only saw such joyous scenes at the final whistle. Once I saw those antics, then did I know that Kerry's race in the 2012 Championship was run!

I lived in Tralee in 1992 when Clare made light of the term
"the kingdom", but were Clare accorded any credit down there. The vitriol and begrudgery spouted out of so many Kerry mouths, not all thankfully, about the Banner's victory had to be witnessed to be believed. That peevishness hasn't gone away however, as we are witnessing similar vile twenty years later on this very thread by about 80% of the Kerry supporters on it!

For what it is worth, Ricey, the 3 O'Se's, and Galvin are all of the same or similar ilk! Tough, uncompromising footballers who'd go thru u for a short-cut (Tomas n Galvin get a bit side-tracked at times but...) and players who I'd have on my team first thing in the morning. Why? Who'd you expect me to pick? Aiden O'Mahony!

As Ricey is settling into a retirement that he well deserves, and the best of wishes in it, I hope that quite a lot, again thankfully not all, Kerry folk can start taking their beatings like men/women and that this inability to accept defeat graciously discontinues to besmirch such a great footballing county!

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 02/11/2012 11:15:06    1291519

The differance with tomas was that while he engaged in the darker arts it was usually in response to provocation,

Wasn't much provocation when he took out one of the O'Rourke brothers at the start of the 2000 all-ireland semi-final replay v Armagh.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 02/11/2012 11:21:43    1291524

shaggylegend
County: Monaghan

Cute_Kerry_Hoor
Just as i expected tomas would be something similar to ricey but twice the footballer, not afraid to mingle in the darker side of the game

The darker side of the game is needed to be successful, Darragh and Tomás had it, Galvin too. The Kerry team of the 70s and 80s had it, so too the Dublin team of the 70s, Meath late 80s, Tyrone of the 00s.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 02/11/2012 11:24:33    1291527

mlcollins

1291509 The differance with tomas was that while he engaged in the darker arts it was usually in response to provocation

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ah, is that what happened, time after time, year after year?

As Arsene Wenger said, everyone thinks that their wife is the prettiest...

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 02/11/2012 11:32:49    1291535

MichaelO

The differance with tomas was that while he engaged in the darker arts it was usually in response to provocation,

Wasn't much provocation when he took out one of the O'Rourke brothers at the start of the 2000 all-ireland semi-final replay v Armagh.

Hope he brought him somewhere nice.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 02/11/2012 12:05:10    1291559

"Hope he brought him somewhere nice. "

very witty

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 02/11/2012 12:32:41    1291574