Racism in the Gaa?

Lot of posts born out of ignorance in this thread
Using a persons colour as an adjective for an insult is racial provocation, it us not the same as calling someone an Orange b or a fenian b or a dirty dub or a backward culchie etc etc for alas nobody is born a fenian or born a member of the Orange order etc these are life choices yet people are very defiantly born of colour without choice and when they are singled out by a majority it is a form of bullying, something which the GAA and a lot of the moral warriors around here are supposed to be against.

bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 05/12/2012 08:17:11    1306620

I am sure you must have a point to make there bernardmessi but I am damned if I can see what it is.
I can't see any posts on this thread that suggests that racially abusing someone is the same as calling them a fenian or a culchie. And I can't see a single poster who in any way has condoned racial abuse of a player.

So I have no idea what you are on about when you say that "a lot of the moral warriors here are supposed to be against"

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 05/12/2012 09:52:14    1306635

To anfearbeag
You obviously haven't read through the part of the thread discussing cavan supporters jeering the six counties about having a queen or the Dubs in the sixties that started sledging ....
My point is this, sledging a person on their political or religious persuasion is different to racial provocation as political and religious ideals are life choices whereas a person is born Asian black white and has no say in the matter ...
A black man can't lie about being black and is therefore in this regard true to himself which makes a slur on his race all the more abhorrent

An Orange man for example can walk into a catholic church and receive communion
An Irish man can say he is American and show a passport to prove it

So to equate racial provocation with sledging a man on his religion or nationality is to my mind an assumption borne out of ignorance

I hope the above clears up any confusion on my original post

bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 05/12/2012 11:42:14    1306693

It is sad that a small number of individuals have brought shame on a proud and well-respected club.

befair (Down) - Posts: 238 - 05/12/2012 11:43:31    1306694

Are we being too sensitive here?.. I often think of John Kenny's sketch at the U-12 game when I was playing anything and everything was said, what players wouldn't do or have done to your mother, sister, girlfriend.. I was all said just to raise you and get you off your game, there was nothing malicious or untoward in it, you just gave and take like any other situation in life, and once the game finished you shook hands and that was the end of it, . I'm not a bigot, or a racist but come one where are we going to draw the line?. Call the ref and say "he's calling me names" come on now ok racism must not be tolerated but still grow a pair get on with it.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 05/12/2012 13:03:46    1306731

Horsebox77

"I'm not a bigot, or a racist but come one where are we going to draw the line?. Call the ref and say "he's calling me names" come on now ok racism must not be tolerated but still grow a pair get on with it. "

A perfect example of how hard it is going to be to change attitudes within the game. When anyone can put a "but" after "racism must not be tolerated", then we have serious problems.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 05/12/2012 14:02:29    1306774

The racism against travellers in the game has gone on ever since I started playing, and well before it, and never has a finger been lifted to condemn or punish it. Hypocrites.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2573 - 05/12/2012 14:19:49    1306786

icehonesty - just to clarify- who are you calling hypocrites?

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 05/12/2012 19:40:38    1306992

anfearbeag

icehonesty - just to clarify- who are you calling hypocrites?

Honkies... I think.

Discrimination in any form, be it racial, religious, political, or anything else has no place in any sport.

How some people think it should just be a matter of people growing a pair a getting on with things is beyond me.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 05/12/2012 19:48:59    1306997

IF and that's IF these allegations are proven then the person responsible should be severely punished. But in Cunninghams interview he said that it's alright mentioning lads girlfriends as long as you don't mention their skin or religion. That is completely wrong. How can we say that you're allowed mention a fella's sister, wife, mother, children, grandmother or whatever but you can't mention his coulour? By the way racism is disgusting but some of the stuff said about these topics are far worse.

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 05/12/2012 20:07:39    1307005

icehonesty
County: Wexford

1306786 The racism against travellers in the game has gone on ever since I started playing, and well before it, and never has a finger been lifted to condemn or punish it. Hypocrites.

have you done anything yourself to try and eradicate the racism against travellers you say has gone on ever since you started playing ?.............or have you just turned a blind eye and left it up to others to try and combat it ?............

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 05/12/2012 20:28:58    1307025

anfearbeag

A perfect example of how hard it is going to be to change attitudes within the game. When anyone can put a "but" after "racism must not be tolerated", then we have serious problems.

I see what your saying I'm just saying that I have been called my fair share of names over the years, personally it doesn;t bother me, maybe I;'m thick skinned I just feel a mountain is being made out of a molehill here, and back to my question small man how will a ref control it if he dosen;t hear it?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 05/12/2012 20:55:01    1307040

Yes I have.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2573 - 05/12/2012 20:57:41    1307042

Horsebox77

1306731 Are we being too sensitive here?.. I often think of John Kenny's sketch at the U-12 game when I was playing anything and everything was said, what players wouldn't do or have done to your mother, sister, girlfriend.. I was all said just to raise you and get you off your game, there was nothing malicious or untoward in it, you just gave and take like any other situation in life, and once the game finished you shook hands and that was the end of it, . I'm not a bigot, or a racist but come one where are we going to draw the line?. Call the ref and say "he's calling me names" come on now ok racism must not be tolerated but still grow a pair get on with it.

ye say racism must not be tolereated and then say grow a pair , and then in another post say you have been called names and just got on with it.
I doubt very much your in the same situation, to be honest your post is of someone whos either very young and doesnt understand the pain families of racism have to go through.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/12/2012 21:24:06    1307057

AthCliath County: Dublin "to be honest your post is of someone whos either very young and doesnt understand the pain families of racism have to go through"

Would you believe your incorrect on both counts, furthermore I was involved in an underage game recently where a racist accusation was made against a player, and I saw first hand the effect that the incident had on the young lads mother who was in the stand behind me when it occcured. I also saw how the ref handled it and the knock on effects of same.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 05/12/2012 21:42:42    1307072

The problem is this, what if the ref heard racial abuse? the "offence" carries a minimal punishment, sure retrospectively if a player is booked for racial abuse the book can be thrown at them, but can it? I really doubt the rules and regulations are in place to deal with it. Plus if someone goes to a ref and says that guy abused me racially all that can be done is for the allegation to be noted and reported but unless there is an independant witness it is hearsay.

I would go so far as to say its all hogwash and weasel words, few clubs have the procedures and processes in place to get rid of mentors etc I actually know of one case in which absolutely NOTHING was done about a racial abuse complaint - nothing at all because nothing could be done if it comes down to my word against another it is of no use.

Throw the book at the offender? what book? more like an envelope.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 05/12/2012 21:56:30    1307081

Horsebox77

1307072 AthCliath County: Dublin "to be honest your post is of someone whos either very young and doesnt understand the pain families of racism have to go through"

Would you believe your incorrect on both counts, furthermore I was involved in an underage game recently where a racist accusation was made against a player, and I saw first hand the effect that the incident had on the young lads mother who was in the stand behind me when it occcured. I also saw how the ref handled it and the knock on effects of same.

It should not be in the game end of, having the attitude to grow a pair and get on with it because it creates more hassle than its worth is precisely the reason many kids and adults for years didnt want to say anything and just suffered silently while bullies or cowards or mouth pieces whatever ye want to call them got away with it, theres no comparision to racist abuse and the hurt it causes families to you being called names and getting on with it, unless im missing something here.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/12/2012 21:57:40    1307082

late late tonight.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 07/12/2012 21:32:59    1307891

I'm Jewish and of German extraction to make it worse. I'm probably one of very few involved in the GAA.. I got loads of the guff while I was playing in my younger years.. Stuff like "Hitler reject", "big nose" "wheres your tattoo" (reference to the Holocaust), etc etc but it didn't knock a stir out of me.. I'm as Irish as the lad next door to me.. I gave as good as I got insulting mothers, sisters etc. I've been subject to "racial abuse" from black people, pakistanis, indians, arabs but my attitude is that its a free country with free speech.. We are making a mountain out of a mole hill here.. and for the record I am also a referee...

donkeyford (Limerick) - Posts: 119 - 09/12/2012 09:35:03    1308124

See where you're coming from donkeyford. It's a sad reflection on the modern game that what happens on the pitch, no longer stays on the pitch. I don't think players should be yapping to newspapers. Sort it yourself or get on with it.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 09/12/2012 17:49:06    1308272