Ulster Stadium, Belfast or Omagh

North Side Gael

So you have the whitefort, the temple or TK one for a sit down meal, you have the balmoral hotel only a short drive away, or more relaxed cafe environments such as the kelstar cafe also local owned, you also have numerous chippys about the road. For a drink you can choose from the numerous visiter friendly gaa social clubs within a a short walk of casement park or the two main "near by" pubs such as the whitefort or biddy duffys all with good match day environments, also the local bowling club are very welcoming again just facing the grounds. If your up for the night, venture into town and try out belfast nightlife which is mentioned on every tourism booklet about ireland.

I used the rock bar as an example of an anti-GAA bar, there are other bars such as the whitefort which is also owned by a 6 county soccer player who has the audacity to hang out GAA flags when a match is on, talk about brazen. As for Belfasts nightlife, it is mostly non-existant and even the pubs quit serving at 12. Belfasts nightlife involves either standing on street corners drinking and abusing passers by or house parties that last from Monday to Sunday.

Clones it ain't.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 31/10/2012 15:58:12    1290752

'Belfasts nightlife involves either standing on street corners drinking and abusing passers by or house parties that last from Monday to Sunday.'

Sounds very like the holylands to me and we all know where they emanate from!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 31/10/2012 17:30:20    1290804

Could be wrong here might need a west belfast person to back me but is the whitefort not owned by the doran brothers who own the glen owen (gaa friendly bar 5 mins from casement used to do dinners for visiting stewards on big match day) and also the ballymac, where the referees courses get run with no charge for room hire?

Have to laugh you clearly have very little knowledge of belfast, sounds more like your talking about the country folk who occupy the holy lands! Not all of whom are bad either and made welcome in all of the city centre bars! We could talk about that end of town, where gaa people from belfast and the country areas, meet after university gaa games and so on in the city, its the hatfield, gaa fanatical bar, just ten mins drive from casement!

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 31/10/2012 18:32:30    1290828

Oh yes and as for the drinking on the street, i was attacked in clones around 16/17 years of age after a derry/armagh ulster semi around the turn of the millenium, by lads drinking carry outs up in the square, called belfast scum and the rest, thing is, i was on my own and took a hiding, when i seen the fellas i panicked and tried to turn to walk away, too late.

Garda explained to me when they were helping me get up that they had dealt with these situations before, there was no point pressing charges as the crowd would get a 50 pound fine and walk out in the morning!

So as for clones being picture perfect i beg to differ!

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 31/10/2012 18:46:34    1290833

KevHill

1290517 GaryMc82: just out of interest how long does it take you to get from Clones and Casement, assuming you leave immediately after the game? you obviously havent negotiated the nightmare that is Monaghan Town with or without its bypass which patrons from Armagh, Down and Antrim have to

No worries about the name earlier KevHill.

It currently takes me about 1 hour 30minstravelling to Clones, maybe 1 hour 45mins depending on traffic returning afterwards. Casement Park would take me a bit longer, roughly 1 hour 55mins to 2 hours travelling to it, again depending on traffic the return would be approx 2 hours 10mins, maybe a wee bit longer.

I lived in Kildare for roughly 6 years, and too often sat in traffic in Monaghan town, making the very long trip home. These days i be in through Monaghan roughly 4 times every month enroute to Dublin, and find it grand now to be honest. The new monaghan bypass a dream in comparison to the old jam ups.
But the Castleblaney bypass really did the trick, pitty they couldnt just have made it dual carriageway the whole way.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 31/10/2012 21:13:53    1290882

North Side Gael

1290833 Oh yes and as for the drinking on the street, i was attacked in clones around 16/17 years of age after a derry/armagh ulster semi around the turn of the millenium, by lads drinking carry outs up in the square, called belfast scum and the rest, thing is, i was on my own and took a hiding, when i seen the fellas i panicked and tried to turn to walk away, too late.

Garda explained to me when they were helping me get up that they had dealt with these situations before, there was no point pressing charges as the crowd would get a 50 pound fine and walk out in the morning!

So as for clones being picture perfect i beg to differ!

I think that scenario could apply to almost any town in Ireland, and is exclusive to none. I think most people would consider themselves lucky to come away from that type crowd with a hiding in todays climate, as these days things could quickly turn deadly. Sad to see that aul carry on happening, to see a crowd of lads attack an Individual.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 31/10/2012 21:26:10    1290892

Belfast for me. The second city needs a strong gaa presence. Both places are about the same in terms of time from east tyrone.

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 01/11/2012 09:44:41    1290935

North Side Gael

Oh yes and as for the drinking on the street, i was attacked in clones around 16/17 years of age after a derry/armagh ulster semi around the turn of the millenium, by lads drinking carry outs up in the square, called belfast scum and the rest, thing is, i was on my own and took a hiding, when i seen the fellas i panicked and tried to turn to walk away, too late.

No excuse for that but I wonder how they knew you were from Belfast.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 01/11/2012 10:00:33    1290946

Good man Tom, they had been hanging around our mini bus when we got off and asked us where were from when we were getting off at 10am, later when returning to get my sandwiches they hadnt left, which is when i was attacked, clearly sitting in waiting, which is also what the garda told me.

Listen im not saying clones should be judged by this and i never did judge clones by this i loved going to antrim games down there the year we got to the final, but all im saying is Belfast has its troubles but its no different to any other city and the minority should be allowed to judge the majority and it happens in ever built up area from village to city.

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 01/11/2012 12:03:57    1291050

North Side Gael

1291050 Good man Tom, they had been hanging around our mini bus when we got off and asked us where were from when we were getting off at 10am, later when returning to get my sandwiches they hadnt left, which is when i was attacked, clearly sitting in waiting, which is also what the garda told me.

Listen im not saying clones should be judged by this and i never did judge clones by this i loved going to antrim games down there the year we got to the final, but all im saying is Belfast has its troubles but its no different to any other city and the minority should be allowed to judge the majority and it happens in ever built up area from village to city.

Look just so we are clear North Side Gael, For my part, I have no direct issue with a top class GAA Stadium being built in Belfast City. And I certainly have no objection to travelling to the occastional game in Casement Park.

My issue is with Ulster having Its main GAA Stadium located in Belfast City.
Example: If Donegal are playing Cavan, or perhaps if Derry are playing Monaghan, we then have both sets of fans travelling across the province to a match.
And knowing the GAA, they will host as many games as possible there, all in the name of paying off the Stadium costs.

If playing Antrim, Down or maybe even Armagh, I wouldn't mind travelling across the province. But I would object to travelling all that way, if it was a Derry/Donegal game, or a Cavan/Tyrone game. And if those teams reach an Ulster semi final, or Final, that is exactly what will happen.

It is very easy for my argument to be viewed as an anti Belfast argument or maybe me having an anti Belfast agenda. But in truth, I would be the first to object if Derry City or Letterkenny was selected as the key location for Ulsters top stadium.
Why? Because it would not be logical or resonable to ask people from so many different counties to drive so far, when the ground could have easily been located in a location which is under an hours drive from all counties.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 01/11/2012 17:56:36    1291334

A very good point gerrymac.

If they chose O'Donnell Park to host all the major games i'd be equally as against it. It's not fair to have it there.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 02/11/2012 12:29:40    1291572

GaryMc82
It is very easy for my argument to be viewed as an anti Belfast argument or maybe me having an anti Belfast agenda. But in truth, I would be the first to object if Derry City or Letterkenny was selected as the key location for Ulsters top stadium.
Why? Because it would not be logical or resonable to ask people from so many different counties to drive so far, when the ground could have easily been located in a location which is under an hours drive from all counties.

Its easy saying Omagh is under an hours drive from a county but it takes over 2 hours 15 mins to drive from parts of north Antrim to get there, same problems arise for north Donegal, wherever you build a stadium it can't be reached in an hour by everyone. Reading your comments makes me think Clones will be a waste land for the lack of any games, pure and simple rubbish as Clones will still be used as a main stadium, more likely its Armagh and Omagh losing possible Semi Final games.

The decision was made two years ago to use the Maze money to rebuild Casement into a modern ground, a new build in Ballygawley due to the transport links argument was among the many options put forward. The next phase is to submit the planning in February as some contracts have been exchanged already with construction to start next Autumn, all the dates were in the tender.

As for Tom1916 complaining about having to drink in bars leased by 6 county soccer players, what will he make of this then http://ulster.gaa.ie/2012/10/ulster-gaa-ifa-train-up-volunteers/. He can safely drink in the PD club behind Biddy Duffys as many other wise supporters do (cheaper drink) or even the felons club as profits go back to their members.

lufty (Antrim) - Posts: 77 - 02/11/2012 17:17:37    1291768

lufty

1291768 Its easy saying Omagh is under an hours drive from a county but it takes over 2 hours 15 mins to drive from parts of north Antrim to get there, same problems arise for north Donegal, wherever you build a stadium it can't be reached in an hour by everyone. Reading your comments makes me think Clones will be a waste land for the lack of any games, pure and simple rubbish as Clones will still be used as a main stadium, more likely its Armagh and Omagh losing possible Semi Final games.

The decision was made two years ago to use the Maze money to rebuild Casement into a modern ground, a new build in Ballygawley due to the transport links argument was among the many options put forward. The next phase is to submit the planning in February as some contracts have been exchanged already with construction to start next Autumn, all the dates were in the tender.

Lufty If travelling from Malin town in North Donegal to Omagh, We are talking approx 1 hour 15mins max if travelling via Redcastle, Muff, Derry City etc.
If travelling from Dungloe or Dunfanaghy, again the travel time is would be just over an hour max.
The Omagh location would mean all parts of Donegal would be roughly around 1 hours distance from a central Ulster stadium, as opposed to over 2 hours.

All parts of Fermanagh, Tyrone, Monaghan, Armagh, Cavan, Down, Donegal, Derry would be approx 1 hours (+/-15mins ) drive to a Stadium in Omagh. And a large section of Antrim would also be a similar distance.
While if the main Ulster Stadium is in Belfast, fans from many different counties face approximate 2 hour Journey.

Clones will not be used as the main stadium anymore, once a new stadium is built in Belfast. Do you really think the GAA would build a new stadium and then keep the Ulster final in Clones? Not a hope. It's all about the money

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 05/11/2012 14:28:10    1292904

GaryMc82
All parts of Fermanagh, Tyrone, Monaghan, Armagh, Cavan, Down, Donegal, Derry would be approx 1 hours (+/-15mins ) drive to a Stadium in Omagh. And a large section of Antrim would also be a similar distance.
While if the main Ulster Stadium is in Belfast, fans from many different counties face approximate 2 hour Journey.
Clones will not be used as the main stadium anymore, once a new stadium is built in Belfast. Do you really think the GAA would build a new stadium and then keep the Ulster final in Clones? Not a hope. It's all about the money

I think you need to research a bit more if you think all of Down is that close, see how long it is for supporters from Downpatrick and Newcastle to Omagh, double your one hour estimate for everywhere in the county. I've been in Shrove a few times so can you let me know what rocket car you are driving from Malin town to Omagh as aa routefinder says 2 hours 15 mins, why go Redcastle way when the Carndonagh road cuts time off even that estimate. I stated Clones will be used as A main Stadium and not The main Stadium, playing Ulster finals outside of Clones will put them under pressure to upgrade their Stadium and road network to get them back.

lufty (Antrim) - Posts: 77 - 05/11/2012 16:31:10    1292980

Clones is the only spot for it
Lofty Clones is an Ulster GAA ground, not Monaghan county board so up to Ulster to upgrade it, which is desperately needed especially in terms of floodlights.

Monaghan08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 188 - 06/11/2012 19:02:25    1293680

Clones is going to be the old stadium which still gets the odd big games and will be a monaghan ground, casement will be a proper state of the art stadium for multi purpose including ulster finals and so on.

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 07/11/2012 10:12:48    1293879

lufty

I think you need to research a bit more if you think all of Down is that close, see how long it is for supporters from Downpatrick and Newcastle to Omagh, double your one hour estimate for everywhere in the county. I've been in Shrove a few times so can you let me know what rocket car you are driving from Malin town to Omagh as aa routefinder says 2 hours 15 mins, why go Redcastle way when the Carndonagh road cuts time off even that estimate. I stated Clones will be used as A main Stadium and not The main Stadium, playing Ulster finals outside of Clones will put them under pressure to upgrade their Stadium and road network to get them back.

AA routefinder is wrong in this case, as I have a van travelling that route on a regular basis. And I meant the Quigley's point turn off, out the redcastle road.

Malin town to Omagh does not take 2 hours 15mins, I promise you that. Well not in my White transit van. And when the dual carriageway is built between Derry and Omagh, this time will again be reduced further.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 08/11/2012 18:06:10    1294963