All-Ireland Club-hurling championship

I think Carlowman above has summed things up perfectly. Others would want to relax the heads a bit and not let county affiliations get in the way of a simple discussion over an unjust sending off that had a huge impact on the game.

Some posters don't seem to think that the first red card had any impact on the game but I disagree.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 20/03/2013 10:23:31    1352459

tommy k

1352336 MesAmis Thomas's only scored 2 points from frees even though they deservIn contrast KK scored 7 points from frees many of the soft variety. Thomas's deserved at least the same amount (if not more) frees than KK but they were never given. Thomas's for most posters and people I have spoken to were much the better team. Yes they missed a lot of chances they would normally have taken but they created / scored much more than KK who only stayed in touch from the soft frees given by the ref. I would confidently predict Thomas's would win by 6 points plus if the 2 teams were to meet again and the ref was as fair to Thomas's as he was to KK.
Firstly Congrt's again to St. Thomas, There Players and Supporters are complete lovely Hurling people. They deserve the All-Ireland.

Secondly, If St. Thomas had won the game by 2 points with it 15 against 15 everyone on here would be on talking about the great game played in such poor conditions.
Kilcormac Killoughey did get a few soft free. I counted 3 that I couldn't see where the foul was and get gave St Thomas 3 that were soft as well. The only difference, St. Thomas were in there half back line. they was also 2 65 for KK given as wides and 3 sidelines cut award the wrong was 2 against KK, 1 against St t. These things happen in a game. It's a pain but that life.

But the send off were different. they were different because it gave one team an massive advantage for the last 10 mins. that doesn't take away for St. Thomas being a great team .
It doesn't take away from St. Thomas deserved to win the match. No one here is saying that.

But it took away for the contest that both set of supporters and neutrals were enjoying. Its destroyed 15 months of training for one team. Its destroyed the biggest day in two young players life so far. That what people are unhappy about.
If it's was Two St. Thomas Players that got the line for the same offences. I would be on get saying the same thing.

None of the Booking in the first half for St. Thomas or Kilcormac Killoughey were booking.

But the real disappoint thing is, It's the Wednesday after a match and we should be on here talking about the great battle between Ger Healion and Richie Murray.
But were not, we're talking about a poor display of refereeing :-(

toxicity234 (Offaly) - Posts: 31 - 20/03/2013 10:43:23    1352473

Not so MesAmis - I'll call it as I see it, including against my own county and did so on here last September when

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 921 - 20/03/2013 12:10:50    1352574

Not so MesAmis - I'll call it as I see it, including against my own county. If Thomas' had lost that game by a point and no penalty given for the faceguard pull on Bernard Burke, I wonder would you be so quick to be complaining about unjust referee decisions?

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 921 - 20/03/2013 12:17:04    1352589

Lads I don't want to keep talking about the sendings off but my original point was that the 2 players in question had already been booked so should have been more careful in their tacking after that. The first sending off was a straight red which may have been a bit harsh but he was going to get a second yellow as a minimum which meant he was going to be sent off anyway. The second sending off deservedly merited a second yellow and was a more dangerous tackle than the first incident. However there were other incidents in the game that were even more dangerous - the bad tackle on Bernard Burke's helmet / head in the KK penalty area being just one example. It was a tense, close game but then these finals are often tense and the bad conditions and poor ref didn't help. It will be difficult for both these clubs to come out of their respective counties next year but they look capable of doing that.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 20/03/2013 12:40:18    1352619

There is another incident nothing to do with dirty play etc. but Kenneth Burke had scored a perfectly legitimate point from out near the Hoganstand just before halftime that was waved wide by the nearside umpire who could not have got a good view of it but from TV replays it was clearly inside the post. If KK had won the game by 1 point or een drawn the game with a last second goal, that would certainly have been controversial but thankfully it didn't come to that.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 20/03/2013 12:59:19    1352646

Ailteoir

Not so MesAmis - I'll call it as I see it, including against my own county. If Thomas' had lost that game by a point and no penalty given for the faceguard pull on Bernard Burke, I wonder would you be so quick to be complaining about unjust referee decisions?

Of course I would, but they didn't. And neither of those decisions carry the same weight as an unjust red card.

The penalty still has to be scored, and I'm not sure about the point.

Also I'm sure KK and Offaly posters could also bring up incidents too.

I've no idea why you seem to suggest that I am the one with some sort of bias here. Before this year I hadn't heard of either clubs if I'm honest.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 20/03/2013 13:21:20    1352668

Thomas' should appeal the final score, they won by three. Offaly has a history of players that cross the line imo...but I always support them if I'm neutral.Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1759 - 20/03/2013 20:00:29    1352983

Well MesAmis, suggesting as you have been that Thomas' owe their victory to the sending off, is an opinion that isn't really based on fact. Important? Yes. Decisive? No. Only scoring 1-1 from play as against 1-9 was ultimately the difference. I'm not associated with Thomas' but I doubt somehow that anyone who is cares how poor you think they were.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 921 - 20/03/2013 21:41:27    1353102

suckvalleypaddy

1352983 Thomas' should appeal the final score, they won by three. Offaly has a history of players that cross the line imo...but I always support them if I'm neutral.Gaillimh Abu

Bit of a general statement there, suckvalleypaddy. To say that Offaly has a history of players that cross the line is a difficult one to justify.
I think its very unfair to just level that at Offaly.

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 635 - 21/03/2013 08:36:49    1353135

Ailteoir

Well MesAmis, suggesting as you have been that Thomas' owe their victory to the sending off, is an opinion that isn't really based on fact. Important? Yes. Decisive? No. Only scoring 1-1 from play as against 1-9 was ultimately the difference. I'm not associated with Thomas' but I doubt somehow that anyone who is cares how poor you think they were.

I have merely stated that I would have my doubts whether or not they'd have won the game without them. It is my opinion. I do not, like you seem to have, equate my opinions with fact. I've based my opinion on Thomas' struggles against 13 men and it is hardly an unreasonable conclusion to reach that if they struggle to beat 13 men, they might have struggled to beat 14.

Note this is my opinion. Just like that you believe that the sending off didn't alter the outcome is your opinion, not fact.

You doubt that Thomas' care about my opinion......well aren't you Captain Obvious? I fail to see the relevance of that to the point you're trying to make.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 21/03/2013 10:05:53    1353183

Ah come on Suckvalley, name one in the last 25 years?
Sylvie Linnane, Lynsky, & the legendary Johnny Maher spring to mind!!

Hopefully (Offaly) - Posts: 143 - 21/03/2013 10:16:45    1353192

Its all sour grapes from some people here I'm afraid but I don't think Thomas's are too worried about that. 1 - 9 (6 players scoring) to 1 - 1 (1 player scoring) from play tells its own story I'm afraid no matter how some of ye would like to dress it up. Remember that Loughgiel only socred 1 point from play in the replayed semifinal also so the Thomas's defence have been outstanding in the last 2 games when it really counted although many people in Galway thought that was the weakest part of their team. The number of bonfires on the road that I saw between Loughrea and Gort the following evening was unreal. They are very passionate hurling people down there. Fair play and congrats again!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 21/03/2013 11:21:51    1353254