Are "hurling people" anti-football?

Countyman

ten years ago, Dublin hurling was a joke.......

Whats your point?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 22/08/2012 13:38:48    1249851

county man
County: Limerick

I am a footballer follower first but can easily see that hurling is more skillful than football. Say if a 12 year old started playing football, he could possibly make it to intercounty football standard down the road but if a 12 year old started hurling he can forget about intercounty.

Also that is why you can see lowly ranked football teams getting competitive. Limerick were ranked in 30's in the mid 90's but introduced a football board in 97 and got serious about football (for a few years anayways) and by 2003 we were beating Cork and putting it up to Kerry. If a hurling county ranked even in the high teens tried to the same in hurling, they would get nowhere near the big teams in that timeframe.

I am not saying hurling is a better sport but there is definitely more skill involved.

am what about my own county dublin they introduced coaching at underage level in hurling about 10 years ago and look at underage within a few years have beat the number one hurling county in the country kilkenny at all underage grades and have made the last 2 all ireland minor finals and have beaten kilkenny in a national league final for the first time in decades,so i cannot see your point,limerick club scene at senior level is awful theres no interest in it from any of the city clubs i have been involved with down there several do not train at all only the week of a match at best,limerick yes did have fruitfull years under liam kearns but they had a good team then the level of players coming through is not happening now.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/08/2012 13:57:03    1249864

There are skills in hurling that are harder to master, which takes a long time playing to be comfortable with, its doesnt mean its more skillfull, the distance a point can be scored from in hurling means once a free is given ye can take it that theres gonna be a point. theres more variables in a game of football and a lot less tactics in hurling is your being honest.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 22/08/2012 14:10:00    1249879

county man
I am a footballer follower first but can easily see that hurling is more skillful than football. Say if a 12 year old started playing football, he could possibly make it to intercounty football standard down the road but if a 12 year old started hurling he can forget about intercounty.

This seems to be what the entire argument is hinged on, but does that make it more skillful, or just more specialised? This has more to do with people's ability to learn in their youth as opposed to it requiring more skill. For me, the only way to judge it is at the highest level, and clearly it is harder to score and keep possession in general in football at the highest level than it is in hurling at the highest level. This is mainly down to the ball being bigger and more awkward. Opponents can get a hand on it in most situations so it requires skill to keep it away from them. Also it is far harder to be accurate when you have to kick a ball as opposed to hitting it with a hurl. Fair enough, it might take a while to get in on pucking the ball, but once you have it, more often than not it goes straight, and that goes for players from 1-15. On the flipside, how many footballers in the full back line can kick a point from 45 yards on the run and under pressure? Now they have done no less training than their hurling counterparts yet the outcome is different. If you take the best free takers in both codes and compare their records, there are far more misses in football than hurling. That tells us that it takes more skill to kick the ball than it does to puck it. Of course the daft argument is that if the footballer had as much skill as the hurler he would put them over, but in truth that is just idiotic.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/08/2012 14:12:26    1249881

There is a LOT more skill in kicking a heavy ball out of the hands on a wet day over the bar from 30 yards at an angle than ANYTHING you will do with a hurl in your hand and a tiny ball that will travel 80 yards with a good smack!!
This notion that hurling is more skillful is nonsense. I will tell you what it is, its quicker, a lot quicker, and its pretty obvious why!! Cos a fella can smack the ball half a mile down a pitch in one go!
So saying that its more skillful, because its essentially quicker, is like saying Usain Bolt is a better athlete then Mo Farrah.....cos he is quicker...???

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 22/08/2012 14:58:05    1249933

'Of course the daft argument is that if the footballer had as much skill as the hurler he would put them over, but in truth that is just idiotic. '

If the footballer had as much skill as the hurler he would be playing hurling !!

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 22/08/2012 15:11:54    1249942

Liamwalkinstown:

This notion that hurling is more skillful is nonsense.

Liam you keep saying that, people keep disagreeing. Does that make a large portion of people on this site wrong & you correct?

I will tell you what it is, its quicker, a lot quicker, and its pretty obvious why!! Cos a fella can smack the ball half a mile down a pitch in one go!

I find hurling a quicker game, but the fitness needed for football is a good deal more than hurling.

So saying that its more skillful, because its essentially quicker, is like saying Usain Bolt is a better athlete then Mo Farrah.....cos he is quicker...???

In my opinion, this is a very weak argument. Neither have played GAA so they are irrelevant. Even if both played Junior B with a dual club for a month, then they'd be relevant, but right now, irrelevant.

I enjoy both - surely no matter what anyone thinks is more skilful doesn't really matter as long as both are enjoyed?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6603 - 22/08/2012 15:14:04    1249946

Slayer, wrong on 2 points
1. You say people keep disagreeing? There are as many people on this thread agreeing with me as disagreeing. (Sign of a good debate!)
2. Usain Bolt played about 10 mins of Football once with Donaghy Galvin and Cooper! Its on youtube i think! Famous picture of him in a Kerry jersey! The p***k :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 22/08/2012 15:32:09    1249958

Liam W, you started the thread as an anti-hurling poster and you have said nothing during the whole debate to dispel that. Unlike you I have played at all levels and coached children to the age of 18 in both codes for more years than I wish to remember (no doubt you will try and tell people differently). There are far more boys playing football as young lads give up hurling in dual clubs for two reasons, lack of skill (or you could call it drive to learn the skills, laziness) and secondly because they are terrified of getting hurt because they have a fear that the hurling stick is going to hurt them. I can tell within two training sessions if a young boy is going to stick with hurling by the way they react when we do blocking exercises which is a much harder skill than those you keep on harping on about. By the way I have always found the football dad more anti-hurling in dual clubs where they refuse to send their sons to hurling training and would see it as a working man's sport as apposed to a 'educated persons' sport the numbe of fathers that take their kids to rugby and football 10 miles away rather than have them available for Saturaday mornings for hurling training-blitzes is sickening. Everyone to their own I say. Grow up Liam and start a thread that is positive ++++

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 22/08/2012 18:42:36    1250118

When the guys I coach with were doing U-6's,U-8's & U-10's we would never tell the kids that x night was hurling or y night was football.
Instead,we told them to bring their hurleys and helmets every night and kept mixing things up ie one night we might do hurling only,another night football only but probably most nights a bit of both.
Result is that at U-12 now they are all still hurling with us,even the weakest ones,and they all love it.

Now,on the other hand,the coaches now doing U-8's in our club have taken to coaching football one night and hurling another night.
Result is that kids who're a bit afraid of hurling at the start have stopped coming and just turn up for the football only.

Now that's a lesson we learnt more by accident than by design but I hope it's of some assistance to those coaching hurling in dual clubs like ours.

As I say,I love both games but hate hurling snobs!

Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 23/08/2012 10:22:07    1250333

In Lucan Sarsfields which is a top tier Dual Club 'at everything' when a kid joins the club they just 'automatically' play both football and hurling and it has always been like that!

A kid in Lucan doesnt join football or hurling, a kid in Lucan joins the 'GAA'!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/08/2012 10:45:00    1250346

Brian_Coyote

Excellent post.

I played hurling underage up to U-16 and just wasn't able for it, the skill sets involved to be good at hurling are something that can't be compared with football. Striking the sliotar cleanly when under pressure, blocking, hooking. Controlling the sliotar first time on your hurley with players around you. In the semi-final vs Cork the sliotar was pucked into Joe Canning from 60 yards out and he controled the sliotar first time and he was surrounded by 2 Cork defenders. I love football as Im from North Galway which is football first and hurling second. But in my eyes the likes of Joe Canning and Henry Sheflin are artists . . .

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 23/08/2012 11:33:12    1250374

Muilleann
County: Tipperary

that is some good info

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/08/2012 11:39:15    1250378

Finsceal
If the footballer had as much skill as the hurler he would be playing hurling !!

Another example of the snobbery that hurlers have towards football. And then people try to say it doesnt exist?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/08/2012 11:43:56    1250384

From my own perspective, "proud hurling men" around these parts are very anti-football. There's a certain poster from my own county who takes great delight in proclaiming our footballers to be sub-standard invalids who wouldn't win a game of Scrabble, yet more often than not goes missing when this doesn't happen. We are traditionally a hurling county, but we don't exactly have the dynasty of KK, Tipp and Cork to merit this incredibly snobby attitude.

In my own club, we have a football team yet have been demanded to surrender home advantage for matches for the past few years now so our hurlers can train. Again, I wish my club all the success it can get, but it is a little grating at the same time in fairness. The main issue is really the fact that even despite our distinct lack of success at both club and county level, the inability to get behind all possible teams in the area by a large portion is quite perplexing.

I can't speak for anti-hurling people, as I have no experience of this whatsoever. It's always been one way, and forever will be. It's lazy and uninformed, and I don't think it's going to change any time soon, even if we were to win a Munster title, which is very sad.

bob_dolphin (Limerick) - Posts: 694 - 23/08/2012 11:55:14    1250399

mon

Brian_Coyote

Excellent post.

I played hurling underage up to U-16 and just wasn't able for it, the skill sets involved to be good at hurling are something that can't be compared with football. Striking the sliotar cleanly when under pressure, blocking, hooking. Controlling the sliotar first time on your hurley with players around you. In the semi-final vs Cork the sliotar was pucked into Joe Canning from 60 yards out and he controled the sliotar first time and he was surrounded by 2 Cork defenders. I love football as Im from North Galway which is football first and hurling second. But in my eyes the likes of Joe Canning and Henry Sheflin are artists . . .

your just one individual though if you see what i mean you could also look at some of the dual players out there at club level some of these guys are better at one then the other does that mean it generally has to be easier to play one for them its all down to the individual him or herself.
take alan mccrabbe the dublin hurler i played against his club at under16 level two weeks running both games in midfield the first week we played them in hurling he was too good for me and they won,the second week we played them in football and i destroyed him and we won, if anything it just means he is better at hurling where as i am better at football

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/08/2012 12:32:19    1250426

Liam,

I'm not sure what your trying to get at with this thread? Hurling and bog ball are two different sports.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 23/08/2012 13:25:36    1250473

Snufalufagus

In Lucan Sarsfields which is a top tier Dual Club 'at everything' when a kid joins the club they just 'automatically' play both football and hurling and it has always been like that!

A kid in Lucan doesnt join football or hurling, a kid in Lucan joins the 'GAA'!

Top tier Dual Club strange iv never heard of them winning anything.....

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/08/2012 13:41:34    1250479

Gaelic Football is an embarrassment to this country, I struggle to know what people see in it!

Blackcat (Galway) - Posts: 132 - 23/08/2012 14:11:49    1250500

Blackcat

1250500 Gaelic Football is an embarrassment to this country, I struggle to know what people see in it!

whats your choice then.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/08/2012 19:56:26    1250767