Fairly straightforward question really. Are "Hurling people" essentially also anti football?
Tomas Mulcahy in particular always comes across on RTE as looking down on football whenever it comes up in conversation, likewise Pete Finnerty was a hoor for it. Lyster would reference something that happened in a football match and you would get the "ah sure dont bother with football" attitude, only made worse by the horrible grin that came with it!! Maybe its the dual county complex?
As a football man living in a hurling county, I know of many "Hurling men" who genuinely wanted the Limerick footballers to lose down the years as it was only a distraction to the real game in Limerick.........in the Limerick leader a few years back an anonymous regular contributor called "man in the middle" actually came out and said it in print, that the footballers success was only serving to distract us from the bigger picture, the hurlers demise.......
You often hear footballers on tv radio talking about hurling but hardly ever the reverse. Joe Kernan was on RTE radio yesterday talking hurling and many many times in the past you have heard O'Rourke, Spillane etc etc reference great hurling teams when talking GAA but you never hear "hurling people" even ackowledge the existence of football!! Its like they really just dont like the game and see it as some kinda shit on the end of their shoe.
Anyone remember Liam Griffins piece on the SG last year before the AI Final going on about it being "the hurling final being the biggest day in Irish Sport, bar none" thus obviously inferring it was a far bigger deal than the football final........
As a fella once famously said in the middle of mass up in Cavan a few years ago, "Sorry father, but thats the kinda sh*t that sickens my hole"....""
Would turn you off hurling to be honest.
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 20/08/2012 12:27:30
Its snobbery Liam, pure and simple.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/08/2012 12:43:14
essentially Brend, if you strip it back, take away all the guff and see it for what it really is, it is 100% snobbery what I dont get Brend is what they have to be snobby about! of the 2 games, its the inferior one! :)
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 20/08/2012 12:51:35
A one word answer to your question Liam - No.
I think most hurling people recognise that while both games were similar 15-20 years ago, these days they are vastly different games. The fitness needed in football is different, more stamina required, more running.
I would never shout for the Limerick footballers to be beaten. I prefer hurling any day, but our footballers have been a most dedicated and unlucky bunch. I know a few lads who played for Limerick footballers over the years. I heard stories about training sessions involving running goal to goal 60 times in a session. These lads deserve massive respect.
The thing is in Limerick we just haven't won the Munster football final. I think a Munster final win has the potential to make both sports equal, or even elevate football higher. Anyone who goes into print saying they prefer to see the footballers lose has to take a look at themselves.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6603 - 20/08/2012 12:57:33
I play and love both . Hurling is obviously more skillful , faster and therefore more exciting but football has its merits too. It keeps me fit for the hurling for a start !!.
Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 20/08/2012 12:58:26
Football is constantly in the firing line
I saw a face guard grabbed yesterday, I've seen players use the hurl as a weapon hundreds of times. You seem to be able to almost do what you like on a hurling pitch...
There is a nice fuzzy myth that surrounds hurling. The truth of the matter is that the most thuggish thing I've witnessed at a GAA match happened during a hurling game.
The assault of a Dublin player against Kilkenny in the 2011 NHL Final. Took a hurl to the guts and was then kicked on the ground... If that had of happened in a football match... well. You can imagine the outcome
The attitudes of some hurling people is terrible. Simple as that.... they are the first to harp up when they think hurling is in trouble.
but with attitudes like their own... why does it come as a surprise.
Football is a massive part of the GAA. In fact it's a far bigger game than hurling... making it a crucial part of hurlings existence.
You couldnt have hurling without football... I dont think the same could be said the other way around.
A lot of these hurling snobs seem to ignore that.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 20/08/2012 13:02:56
The assault of a Dublin player against Kilkenny in the 2011 NHL Final. Took a hurl to the guts and was then kicked on the ground... If that had of happened in a football match... well. You can imagine the outcome
83 All-Ireland football final?
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6603 - 20/08/2012 13:07:34
i think its the other way round actually- football people are more prone to be anti hurling.
fonejacker (Kildare) - Posts: 315 - 20/08/2012 13:07:38
Slayer, see I know what your saying but essentially, reading between the lines of your post your saying that Football is a game for athletes and hurling is a game for artists.... This notion that hurling is somehow more skillful, to me, is absolute rubbish. Its out there, its almost a "given" and the hurling fraternity love to pat themselves on the back and remind everyone AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE that hurling is "the greatest field game in the world" etc Its not, its just not!
For me Slayer, Peter Canavan, Colm Cooper, Maurice Fitzgerald, Bernard Brogan, Stevie McDonnell, Padraig Joyce, these lads were all every bit as skillful and every bit as talented as Henry Shefflin, DJ Carey, Eoin Kelly or Joe Canning But to say so, is seen by many as ridiculous
Hurling people as they love to call themselves cant see past their nose. They cant accept that maybe their attitude is insular, and maybe, just maybe hurling isnt the greatest game in the world and maybe football might possibly just possibly might be as good....or in my opinion....better!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 20/08/2012 13:09:53
I will give the hurling lads massive credit for one thing tho and someone mentioned it earlier aswell, they talk their own game up so much as to have us all believing everything they say Conversely, football analysts seem to consistently talk football down That could actually have a lot do with it
You never hear Ger and Cyril say "that was a bad game" no matter how shite a match it was, and yet the football analysts will break their arse telling you how bad some football games are
The hurling lads are far better at self promotion than the football lads. The football lads are almost apologetic for their game, the hurling lads expect us all to fall to the floor and worship at the altar of the Mycro Helmet!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 20/08/2012 13:15:04
I'm hurling and football.
Absolutely detest hurling "snobs".
If you have to knock another game to bolster your own game then you're the one with the problem.
Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 20/08/2012 13:15:39
These are two different sports. Why do people think that if you like one you must like the other? Just because it comes under the umbrella of the GAA?
Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 20/08/2012 13:17:38
slayer County: Limerick Posts: 4480
1248441 The assault of a Dublin player against Kilkenny in the 2011 NHL Final. Took a hurl to the guts and was then kicked on the ground... If that had of happened in a football match... well. You can imagine the outcome
83 All-Ireland football final? _____ Was there a player hit in the stomach with a piece of wood and then kicked on the ground and sneered at...?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 20/08/2012 13:19:30
Football is constantly in the firing line
It is, most likely because most people follow and play football. How many counties have hurling as the main sport? The media focus on football and therefore over analyse it in my opinion. Hurling does seems untouchable and has a mystic feel to it which can be overrated. Both games are brilliant, football is easier to play and watch.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11801 - 20/08/2012 13:20:35
Agree 100% with fonejacker, hurling would have more than the same 5 or 6 teams competing every year if it wasn't for the snobbery of football county boards not giving two sh**es about the hurling and only promoting Fair enough some hurling people don't like football but it is worse the other way round.
Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 20/08/2012 13:22:46
slayer County: Limerick Posts: 4480
1248441 The assault of a Dublin player against Kilkenny in the 2011 NHL Final. Took a hurl to the guts and was then kicked on the ground... If that had of happened in a football match... well. You can imagine the outcome
83 All-Ireland football final? ________
Yeah Slayer people are still talking about 1983....
See what I mean.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 20/08/2012 13:26:24
I don't think so. I just think they know they have a much better game that is followed by fewer people and are a wee bit dismissive/defensive of football because of that.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 20/08/2012 13:32:21
It's because hurling is a far more skilful game. In hurling you need 5 times the skill to become a successful intercounty player. How many footballers could you genuinely call skilful? And then compare that number with hurling. I'm not saying it's right that some hurling people turn their noses up at football, it's not, it's snobbery, I'm just giving the reason why.
Me, I prefer football, but I can still recognise that to hurl takes far more skill.
throw_it_over (Galway) - Posts: 769 - 20/08/2012 13:33:20
Was there a player hit in the stomach with a piece of wood and then kicked on the ground and sneered at...?
Jimbo,
who carries pieces of wood in Gaelic football? If you know of any you should report them.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6603 - 20/08/2012 13:38:39
Hurling is a better game. End of :-)
BTW, Loughnane picked the Dubs footballers as one of his all time sporting memories on that programme a few years back.
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 20/08/2012 13:45:03