Football quarter final line up

Two points to people talking about Dublin v Kildare

1) - Kildare have to beat Sligo first

and

2) - Dublin will get Kerry in the QF draw. Its absolutely NAILED ON .. i'll run up and down O'Connell street in the nip if we don't..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 24/07/2012 17:20:45    1227774

Imagine a repeat of the 2006 semi final Mayo v Dublin - a defeat that the dubs really have a problem with more so than the other semi final defeats in that period (maybe it was the hill thing) but a sweet victory for mayo - tainted by the collapse in the final a few weeks later.

It would be some game in my opinion as neither team fear each other and both would fancy their chances - what ye think dub fans? Would a few brave souls in green and red be welcome on the hill?

(all this is speculation of course - we await what will be a really tough battle in the quarter no matter who we face)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11540 - 24/07/2012 17:22:37    1227777

Bluewave

You've got to admire Kildare fans wishing to play the All Ireland champions when they made Limerick look like world beaters.

YOU HAVE NO FORWARDS

I just hope you don't make a show of Leinster football for much longer and leave the business end of the championship to Dublin & Meath and let your promising manager go to pastures new he is wasted with the snowmen of the GAA as every year when it heats up your challenge melts away!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Good man, you clearly know your football anyway! No forwards? go back to sleep. I'm well aware Kildare are not near performing this year to the ability they can. Scraping by if anything. But coming out with silly comments like that is ridiculous.

"don't make a show of Leinster football for much longer and leave the business end of the championship to Dublin & Meath" - I'm sure Cork and Donegal are shaking at the thoughts of playing Meath. I suppose the GAA will keep you busy till the premier league rolls back in again.

jimmy90 (Kildare) - Posts: 160 - 24/07/2012 17:23:28    1227780

dubbydave.

bernardmessi

Lads no surer thing it will be Dublin v Kerry. The quarter final draw has never been kind to us except Westmeath in '06. 01 Kerry 02 Donegal 03 Armagh 04 Kerry 05 Tyrone 07 Derry 08 Tyrone 09 Kerry 10 Tyrone 11 Tyrone.

Doesn't matter much these days
Whoever gets us now have the unlucky draw
I hope it's Kerry

i would love a crack at kerry in this stage ive a good feeling we could catch them off gaurd they havent played well all season and looked very tired against tyrone in the last 20mins,dont get me wrong im not saying we will hammer them but will win with a few points to spare imo anyway..

I thought Dublin looked a bit off pace against Meath in the last 20 minutes of our game. kept in it obviously but slowed down to nothing really. Yes you have won Leinster this year but Dublin havent had the most impressive season either. Everything you are saying about kerry applies to yourselves Apart from provincial titles. Kerry dont have much to prove after the stick they got before they came out and slaughtered Tyrone. I think Dublin probably would beat Kerry too but I would call an extremely close game.

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 24/07/2012 17:29:12    1227792

We will attract a big crowd it dose not matter if it is you or anyone else don't flatter your faltering team. That was a year ago since then we have won the All Ireland and a under 21 All Ireland you have not improved. Fair enough if you want to face us but I would rather someone else playing Kildare will not benefit us in our goal of retaining sam. You are now third in Leinster we have bigger fish to fry.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 24/07/2012 17:30:38    1227797

Kildare have no forwards lol....

And where were all of these 'natural forwards' that Meath are supposed to have? Because I didn't see any of them yesterday. That game was there for the taking for Meath, but their forwards didn't perform.

suncroft_abu (Kildare) - Posts: 298 - 24/07/2012 17:37:28    1227808

jimmy90

Bluewave

You've got to admire Kildare fans wishing to play the All Ireland champions when they made Limerick look like world beaters.

YOU HAVE NO FORWARDS

I just hope you don't make a show of Leinster football for much longer and leave the business end of the championship to Dublin & Meath and let your promising manager go to pastures new he is wasted with the snowmen of the GAA as every year when it heats up your challenge melts away!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Good man, you clearly know your football anyway! No forwards? go back to sleep. I'm well aware Kildare are not near performing this year to the ability they can. Scraping by if anything. But coming out with silly comments like that is ridiculous.

"don't make a show of Leinster football for much longer and leave the business end of the championship to Dublin & Meath" - I'm sure Cork and Donegal are shaking at the thoughts of playing Meath. I suppose the GAA will keep you busy till the premier league rolls back in again.

Well when are you lillies planning on playing to this so called ability I have never seen before. I am sick and tired of seeing you put down Meath saying Cork and Donegal are shaking at the thoughts of playing us. Imagine how confident they would be playing you lot? after the roasting we gave yous and then making Limerick a hurling county look top class. hilarious seeing lillies talking about loving the challenge of playing the dubs full house etc. Dublin will roast you even more than we did. Kept quiet for long enough about you lillies and your blinkers. Open your eyes and look at what you have done over the past number of years. At least Meath can see were not up there with the top tier teams yee are truly delusional for want of a better word.

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 24/07/2012 17:38:04    1227809

suncroft_abu

And where were all of these 'natural forwards' that Meath are supposed to have? Because I didn't see any of them yesterday. That game was there for the taking for Meath, but their forwards didn't perform.

No worries they done enough against you lot to reach a leinster final with the incredible lillies names all over that final thats all that matters :) div 3 and reaching a leinster final and coming within 3 points of the all ireland champions says enough really, and even more about were you lot are at in terms of competing for silverware.

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 24/07/2012 17:42:02    1227811

of course you have to go and say about meath forwards when it was a dublin person who insulted kildare in the first place by saying yous have no forwards, and some kildare people try to say were the ones who are obsessed with yous? dont think so...

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 24/07/2012 17:45:08    1227814

This Kildare craic is truly bordering on ridiculous at this stage, ye have done nothing , for crying out loud ye haven't won a provincial title in years.

Put up or shut up............come on Sligo

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 24/07/2012 17:46:06    1227816

The height of their unrealistic ambitions was to win Leinster hence their obsession with Dublin & Meath really is laughable how high they rate themselves, they have done nothing but yet crawl around the top table of the big teams looking for crumbs of respect and acknowledgement.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 24/07/2012 17:52:24    1227830

Beautiful.Meath

Well when are you lillies planning on playing to this so called ability I have never seen before. I am sick and tired of seeing you put down Meath saying Cork and Donegal are shaking at the thoughts of playing us. Imagine how confident they would be playing you lot? after the roasting we gave yous and then making Limerick a hurling county look top class. hilarious seeing lillies talking about loving the challenge of playing the dubs full house etc. Dublin will roast you even more than we did. Kept quiet for long enough about you lillies and your blinkers. Open your eyes and look at what you have done over the past number of years. At least Meath can see were not up there with the top tier teams yee are truly delusional for want of a better word.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well firstly i've seen Kildare play a lot better in the last 2 years say than they are now. I haven't mentioned anything about playing the Dubs, in fact the way we're playing at the moment i'd rather stay clear of them for a while till a bit of momentum is built up. I always say it how it is with Kildare and we aren't good enough at the moment. Simple as that. We haven't performed to a decent standard once this year, should have lost the league semi to a poor Galway team, beat a finished Tyrone side and then getting a serious beating from Meath. I'm very much aware that Sligo are a serious threat and Kildare will really need to dig deep to beat them.

jimmy90 (Kildare) - Posts: 160 - 24/07/2012 17:58:39    1227840

As far as I can find out we can't meet Kerry in the Quarter Finals, That is the understanding in Cork from everyone I met. I know provincial finalist can't meet each other but the fact we met in provincial semi does that mean we can not meet

andhuglas (Cork) - Posts: 26 - 24/07/2012 21:48:02    1228157

andhuglas

As far as I can find out we can't meet Kerry in the Quarter Finals, That is the understanding in Cork from everyone I met. I know provincial finalist can't meet each other but the fact we met in provincial semi does that mean we can not meet

Im nearly 100% certain that is incorrect. The only team we cannot play in the next round (should they get that far) is Clare. The same way as Dublin cannot play Meath, Donegal cannot play Down & Mayo cannot play Sligo in the Q/F. Provincial finalist's cannot meet in the Q/F stage, that is the only restriction in the draw. So yes, Cork can meet Kerry in the Q/F.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 25/07/2012 09:23:21    1228233

Clare are clear favourites for Saturday anyways so the discussion of a Cork v Kerry quarter-final is irrelevant.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8725 - 25/07/2012 10:03:30    1228273

24/07/2012 17:37:28
suncroft_abu

I think they left it on the pitch when they played Kildare. They showed plenty of natural ability then, seriously Suncroft, delusional statements you come out with.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 25/07/2012 10:06:11    1228274

24/07/2012 17:58:39
jimmy90

Well firstly i've seen Kildare play a lot better in the last 2 years say than they are now. I haven't mentioned anything about playing the Dubs, in fact the way we're playing at the moment i'd rather stay clear of them for a while till a bit of momentum is built up. I always say it how it is with Kildare and we aren't good enough at the moment. Simple as that. We haven't performed to a decent standard once this year, should have lost the league semi to a poor Galway team, beat a finished Tyrone side and then getting a serious beating from Meath. I'm very much aware that Sligo are a serious threat and Kildare will really need to dig deep to beat them.

Thats a good post and a good assessment of where KIldare football is at the moment. IMHO Kildare where better last year. the Div 2 football has glossed over some bad things in the league. Looking at Emmet Bolton again he looks like he should be in the WWF he is that bulked up.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 25/07/2012 10:09:09    1228278

bluedubstar
Thats a good post and a good assessment of where KIldare football is at the moment. IMHO Kildare where better last year. the Div 2 football has glossed over some bad things in the league. Looking at Emmet Bolton again he looks like he should be in the WWF he is that bulked up.

Yeah they were a better team last year, I can't explain why they aren't performing the way they should be. I'm sure a lot of Kildare people will put it down to Seanie, but he wasn't even really talked about during the league. They seemed more hungry last year. Not one performance this year has convinced me that we'll beat Sligo. I cringe when I read and hear Kildare people building the team up to something they're not. The reality is we are miles off Cork,Donegal, Kerry and Dublin at the moment.
Yeah Bolton is a big man alright, most of the Kildare lads are. Bolton is a brilliant footballer though and appears to be the one of the few Kildare footballers who has been very consistent over the last few years.

jimmy90 (Kildare) - Posts: 160 - 25/07/2012 12:26:13    1228471

The only forward Kildare have is from Cavan. Only for him you would have lost to Limerick.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 25/07/2012 12:39:15    1228489

ClassApart

The only forward Kildare have is from Cavan. Only for him you would have lost to Limerick.

Yeah God knows what could have happened us had he not scored those two points in extra time.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 25/07/2012 12:45:29    1228500