Football quarter final line up

I think we may get to a semi but our forwards are not good enough to win an all ireland currently......I hope to be proved wrong. One of the best forwards if not the best in mayo is still Ciaran McDonald who starred for crossmolina yesterday. Stick him in full forward in nay game with 15-20mins left and the man will do damage.

Completely agree Yewtree he would walk on to that Mayo team shame about Mort too know you have divided opinions down there about him but if Varley was making a team ahead of me I would'nt be too inclined to drive up and down for training. I think if Meath get through they could beat you and Kerry would also after that ye would take the rest.

alsoran you are sooooo right thats why a ref yesterday tried his best to rule our perfect point out and allowed Meath to take a last gasp free TWICE for good measure don't be so bitter you'd swear you were from Kildare lol!

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 23/07/2012 19:05:32    1226610

lilywhitemagic

Ah no its alright lads im alright Kildare could hardly expect croke park all the time like the Dubs in all fairness.
Will travel down to the Hyde in numbers great travelling support something the Dubs can never say ANYWAY..
Id like to see
Cork v Kerry
Kildare v Dublin (oh let it be if there is a gaa god ;)
Laois v Mayo
Donegal v Down can they play again?

Haha firstly if you can't beat us you won't beat Dublin and secondly poor Meath aren't there! I'm amused :)

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 23/07/2012 19:08:37    1226615

lilywhitemagic

1226552 Ah no its alright lads im alright Kildare could hardly expect croke park all the time like the Dubs in all fairness.
Will travel down to the Hyde in numbers great travelling support something the Dubs can never say ANYWAY..
Id like to see
Cork v Kerry
Kildare v Dublin (oh let it be if there is a gaa god ;)
Laois v Mayo
Donegal v Down can they play again?

good to see our neighbours think we'll beat laois :)

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 23/07/2012 19:11:43    1226622

lilywhitemagic

If in doubt im not getting worked up at all
I just think its a bit rich of dubs to come on here saying kildare are moaning about travelling its alright for them they dont have to put money in their pockets to travel I hear what your saying there always in quarter and semi's year in year out but what about
e.g tipperary v dublin 2010 Qualifier played in croke park why? was that not played in a neutral venue oh yeah it is neutral 'parnell is the their home'
forget about the dubs but
There is also nothing wrong with me saying that we are one of the best travelling support around after losing to meath 11k kildare fans travelled to Cavan who else in the country can say that? not many thats what I meant if we have to go to the hyde we will and we will go there in a big number.
CILL DARA ABU

That was a round two or three qualifier, so it wasn't down for a neutral venue like the round four games, whatever team was drawn out first was going to get home advantage.

Pretty sure it was a double header with the Dublin hurlers playing Clare or Antrim so that would have been the sensible thing to do, instead of making fans choose one code over another and that.

If Tipp were drawn at home and agreed to move the match to Croke Park then that's their prerogative, it's not often their footballers get to play there so it would have been a good experience for them, plus I'd imagine the county board got more money through ticket sales than it would have done otherwise.

I'd definitely agree we brought a big crowd to Cavan, and the home support was good too, we must have had close to 10,000 in Portlaoise on Saturday too, Dr. Hyde Park is the best chance for us to bring an even bigger crowd this weekend though, Pearse Park, Cusack Park and a double header in Tullamore would mean reduced crowds and less fans.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 23/07/2012 19:13:55    1226626

I'd like to see

Dublin v Kerry (need i say more?)
Mayo v Meath (alot of history between the two)
Donegal v Kildare (a repeat of last year's classic)
Cork v Down (a test for Cork before the semi)

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3588 - 23/07/2012 19:15:01    1226629

Risteard we never got to play dublin this year what are you on about about because we lost to meath.
The reason I would like to play Dublin if we please god get over sligo is that
1. It will be a full house in croker.
2. Dublin are the all ireland champions
3. Kildare need/should win one of Dublin/cork/kerry this year take a scalp out if you like and no better to do it than in croke park going in under the radar as they 'hype' is now gone.
4. We only lost to them by a 'free' last year.
The draw will be interesting but
First and for most though is the sligo hurdle.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 23/07/2012 19:15:28    1226630

Gaa_lover
County: USA

I'd like to see

Jesus, i near agree with you (first time for everything) but i reckon Sligo might beat Kildare.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 23/07/2012 19:20:49    1226639

id love to get Mayo for Kerry as its the easiest Draw. The Dubs Cork, and Donegal would take this Kerry Team at the moment.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 23/07/2012 19:32:15    1226653

if_in_doubt

That was a round two or three qualifier, so it wasn't down for a neutral venue like the round four games, whatever team was drawn out first was going to get home advantage.

Pretty sure it was a double header with the Dublin hurlers playing Clare or Antrim so that would have been the sensible thing to do, instead of making fans choose one code over another and that.

If Tipp were drawn at home and agreed to move the match to Croke Park then that's their prerogative, it's not often their footballers get to play there so it would have been a good experience for them, plus I'd imagine the county board got more money through ticket sales than it would have done otherwise.

I'd definitely agree we brought a big crowd to Cavan, and the home support was good too, we must have had close to 10,000 in Portlaoise on Saturday too, Dr. Hyde Park is the best chance for us to bring an even bigger crowd this weekend though, Pearse Park, Cusack Park and a double header in Tullamore would mean reduced crowds and less fans.

I'm pretty sure we were drawn at home in that qualifier.

And it was Clare we were playing in the hurling. We beat the banner but were in turn beaten by Antrim in the next round.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13792 - 23/07/2012 19:43:15    1226675

Lads no surer thing it will be Dublin v Kerry. The quarter final draw has never been kind to us except Westmeath in '06. 01 Kerry 02 Donegal 03 Armagh 04 Kerry 05 Tyrone 07 Derry 08 Tyrone 09 Kerry 10 Tyrone 11 Tyrone.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/07/2012 19:58:14    1226703

23/07/2012 19:20:49

Gaa_lover
County: USA

I'd like to see

Jesus, i near agree with you (first time for everything) but i reckon Sligo might beat Kildare

Jesus me too (not first time) but yeah this is the perfect line up. IF the 4 qualifiers go according to plan.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/07/2012 09:03:00    1226932

one thing for sure i know for Donegal to won the all irelandd they will have to defeat Kerry Dublin and Cork. . I know the way these draws work

john_wayne1 (UK) - Posts: 233 - 24/07/2012 09:50:55    1226976

Lads no surer thing it will be Dublin v Kerry. The quarter final draw has never been kind to us except Westmeath in '06. 01 Kerry 02 Donegal 03 Armagh 04 Kerry 05 Tyrone 07 Derry 08 Tyrone 09 Kerry 10 Tyrone 11 Tyrone.

Doesn't matter much these days
Whoever gets us now have the unlucky draw
I hope it's Kerry

bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 24/07/2012 10:21:54    1227010

Jumping the gun a bit because We have a bit to do yet to beat Sligo, Meath have a big job on their hands against Laois, and Down looked demoralised after Donegal, so Tipp must have a chance, but possibility of some mouth watering clashes to look forward to, just hoping we get there and find a bit of form to have a go

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 24/07/2012 11:52:56    1227163

I would love to get Kerry. An aging team who are well past their best and our young heroes would beat them well.

If Donegal played Kerry, Donegal would be in the unusual position of being the more attacking team on the pitch.

mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 24/07/2012 12:07:55    1227183

have no idea if we'll really win this sat or not, hope hope we do. BUT just in the case of wishful quarters this is mine
Dublin v Down
Donegal v Kerry
Cork v Kildare
Mayo v Meath

Semis- (Ulster v Munster this year connacht v Leinster)
Donegal v Cork
Dublin v Meath

Final: Cork v Meath and Meath win!!!!!!!

dont go mad people its ONLY MY WISHLIST!

Eri (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 24/07/2012 12:22:52    1227217

have no idea if we'll really win this sat or not, hope hope we do. BUT just in the case of wishful quarters this is mine
Dublin v Down
Donegal v Kerry
Cork v Kildare
Mayo v Meath

Semis- (Ulster v Munster this year connacht v Leinster)
Donegal v Cork
Dublin v Meath

Final: Cork v Meath and Meath win!!!!!!!

dont go mad people its ONLY MY WISHLIST!

Eri (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 24/07/2012 12:25:10    1227224

If we get through, I want Mayo

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 24/07/2012 12:38:38    1227246

We could have 7 Division 1 teams in the last 8..............and they say the League doesn't matter.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 24/07/2012 12:50:51    1227269

The way things have gone so far I think at least 1 out of sligo, tipp & laois will make the quarters!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 24/07/2012 12:51:28    1227270