Football quarter final line up

Jinxie

The same particular Kildare poster seems to only be happy in Croke Park. Hardly neutral either

True enough.

I think he believes that after all the awful persecution that the poor Lilywhites have had to endure that they should be given a bye into the quarter finals without all this nonsense about having to play some other team.

You can see his point they are a top 4 team after all ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13792 - 23/07/2012 16:51:31    1226417

i would love to see donegal get kerry , donegal would scare the life out of them

boyblue (Dublin) - Posts: 90 - 23/07/2012 16:51:44    1226418

I don't think Kerry would hold any fear of Donegal after spanking Tyrone. I think it would be a fantastic game, my money would probably be on Kerry. However, it would be a 50/50 game. Would love to see it happen!

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 23/07/2012 16:55:28    1226423

I would be very careful,I reckon one of Tipperary,Laois and Sligo will win...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2012 16:57:16    1226428

bluewave , we need luck and we know it, unlike ye playing in your own backyard and a gov body desperate to keep ye in the race, ye don't need luck but ye always get LUCKY.

allSOran (Sligo) - Posts: 690 - 23/07/2012 16:59:52    1226431

boyblue

i would love to see donegal get kerry , donegal would scare the life out of them

How do you make that out? We've never played in the Championship. At this stage we don't fear any of the teams left and they don't fear us. Actually, I'd say the majority of us down here would fancy a crack at Donegal.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 23/07/2012 17:00:31    1226434

Is the draw this day week for 1/4s or what's the story?

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 23/07/2012 17:02:43    1226439

51longago

1226439 Is the draw this day week for 1/4s or what's the story?

Probably next Sunday evening on RTE after the hurling

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 23/07/2012 17:09:17    1226453

id like to see these

Dublin v kildare
kerry v donegal
mayo v down
cork v meath/laois

IF we beat laois, i dont really know why but for some reason id rather play cork than mayo. i think it would be a brilliant game too and with cork after having a big enough break it would give us more of a chance.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 23/07/2012 17:14:01    1226459

Say Sligo happen to beat Kildare, can Mayo meet Sligo in the 1/4s or is the rule you cant play provincial finalists in the 1/4s still there?

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 23/07/2012 17:20:26    1226470

51longago

1226470 Say Sligo happen to beat Kildare, can Mayo meet Sligo in the 1/4s or is the rule you cant play provincial finalists in the 1/4s still there?

No they cant meet, we cant have the following Q/Finals AFAIK

Mayo v Sligo
Cork v Clare
Meath v Dublin
Down v Donegal

hence the reason theres been no draw yet.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 23/07/2012 17:29:17    1226478

Mayo can't meet Sligo Dublin can't meet Meath cork can't meet Clare and Donegal can't meet down.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/07/2012 17:31:26    1226485

51longago

If sligo beat Kildare which they wont, you's (Mayo) cant play them.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 23/07/2012 17:32:53    1226488

51longago

Say Sligo happen to beat Kildare, can Mayo meet Sligo in the 1/4s or is the rule you cant play provincial finalists in the 1/4s still there?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yeah its still there

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 23/07/2012 17:34:53    1226492

None of the winners from Next Saturday's round four Qualifers can meet each other. The winners of Kildare/Sligo, Meath/Laois, Kerry/Clare and Down/Tipp will face Dublin, Mayo Cork or Donegal.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3024 - 23/07/2012 18:11:11    1226538

Ah no its alright lads im alright Kildare could hardly expect croke park all the time like the Dubs in all fairness.
Will travel down to the Hyde in numbers great travelling support something the Dubs can never say ANYWAY..
Id like to see
Cork v Kerry
Kildare v Dublin (oh let it be if there is a gaa god ;)
Laois v Mayo
Donegal v Down can they play again?

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 23/07/2012 18:21:25    1226552

lilywhitemagic

Ah no its alright lads im alright Kildare could hardly expect croke park all the time like the Dubs in all fairness.
Will travel down to the Hyde in numbers great travelling support something the Dubs can never say ANYWAY..
Id like to see
Cork v Kerry
Kildare v Dublin (oh let it be if there is a gaa god ;)
Laois v Mayo
Donegal v Down can they play again?

Tullamore or Mullingar will be packed that day...

Dublin don't play outside of Croke Park because as long as they keep making the Leinster semi finals they'll be put through to the quarter finals the following year automatically. The only games in Leinster that are played on a home or away basis (most counties have agreements with each other to rotate home advantage bar ourselves and Wicklow) are the preliminary rounds. So unless Dublin lose their first match in Leinster and fail to make a provincial semi final then there's no way they'll be drawn in the preliminary round.

Their quarter finals are played in Croker because of the crowd they bring, and even then it's often as part of a double header.

The only other way they'll have to play outside Croke Park is through the back door, something that doesn't happen often enough for you to be getting so worked up about.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 23/07/2012 18:45:18    1226584

If in doubt im not getting worked up at all
I just think its a bit rich of dubs to come on here saying kildare are moaning about travelling its alright for them they dont have to put money in their pockets to travel I hear what your saying there always in quarter and semi's year in year out but what about
e.g tipperary v dublin 2010 Qualifier played in croke park why? was that not played in a neutral venue oh yeah it is neutral 'parnell is the their home'
forget about the dubs but
There is also nothing wrong with me saying that we are one of the best travelling support around after losing to meath 11k kildare fans travelled to Cavan who else in the country can say that? not many thats what I meant if we have to go to the hyde we will and we will go there in a big number.
CILL DARA ABU

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 23/07/2012 18:55:06    1226596

If in doubt im not getting worked up at all
I just think its a bit rich of dubs to come on here saying kildare are moaning about travelling its alright for them they dont have to put money in their pockets to travel I hear what your saying there always in quarter and semi's year in year out but what about
e.g tipperary v dublin 2010 Qualifier played in croke park why? was that not played in a neutral venue oh yeah it is neutral 'parnell is the their home'
forget about the dubs but
There is also nothing wrong with me saying that we are one of the best travelling support around after losing to meath 11k kildare fans travelled to Cavan who else in the country can say that? not many thats what I meant if we have to go to the hyde we will and we will go there in a big number.
and yeah i would love Dublin v Kildare if we get over sligo full house in croke park and we might just take that scalp this year.
CILL DARA ABU

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 23/07/2012 19:00:38    1226601

lilywhitemagic, (if there is a gaa god let it be dublin)

you had your chance to meet dublin and got hammered by an average meath team, then needed extra time to beat
limerick. Dublin will beat yee pulling up be realistic.

and people say meath are cocky supporters

risteard7 (Meath) - Posts: 64 - 23/07/2012 19:00:58    1226603