Whats everyone's ideal match-ups...

Mine has to be
Donegal vs Kerry
Dublin vs down
Cork vs meath
Mayo vs Kildare

spy_in_the_sky (Antrim) - Posts: 273 - 23/07/2012 13:37:24    1225919

If, and IF being the biggest word in this whole paragraph, Meath come through, Id like either Mayo or Cork. Just personal preference, not a slight on either team, but would rather them than Donegal & we cant face Dublin.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 23/07/2012 13:41:24    1225930

My personal favourite for the Quarter finals would be Mayo V Dublin, however I would love to get Donegal or Cork too.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 23/07/2012 14:30:34    1226033

You really a Gaa fan Paddy?

If Kildare beat Sligo it doesnt matter. On performances to date I wouldnt fancy meeting anyone.

Jinxie ye will beat Laois.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 23/07/2012 14:35:32    1226048

Dublin v Down
Mayo v Meath
Donegal v Kerry
Cork v Kildare
Dubs v Mayo
Donegal v Cork
Dubs v Cork
Dublin

CapitalGains (Dublin) - Posts: 40 - 23/07/2012 14:40:34    1226068

I would love to see the Dubs and Mayo. I reckon Mayo could take them

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 23/07/2012 14:45:17    1226078

Mayo and Dublin are provincial champions and form no part of a quarter-final discussion.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8725 - 23/07/2012 14:51:36    1226093

sedico

I dunno. I know on paper so far we look a bit stronger but this Meath team are such a Jeckyll & Hyde outfit ya really wouldnt know where they are at.
Just look at the 2 Carlow games. Stumbled through the drawn game, yet turned it on in the reply.

the whole 6 day thing doesnt bother me tho. If we lose, it wont be due to that. Intercounty lads train so hard so often, 4/5 times a week for 2 hours that the 2 games in 6 days isnt a massive factor, especially if the opposition have also played the previous weekend.

I think Mayo would be the perfect opponents for Kildare. Could only see a Kildare win and itd bring vital confidence going into a semi, but I wouldnt fancy Kildare to beat any of the other 3. at least not in a 1/4 final anyway.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 23/07/2012 14:51:52    1226094

I most certainly am sedico, look back at my previous posts I am right about most things. I predicted that Meath would beat Kildare and the Kildare would need extra time against Limerick. I predicted Antrims win over Galway, and Sligo's victory over Galway.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 23/07/2012 14:52:27    1226095

again these are all ifs and buts for the exercise id love to see
dublin v kildare
cork v down
donegal v kerry
mayo v meath

now reasons behind my wish list, kildare have gone on so much about the should have beat the dubs this that and other, lets put it to the test
cork down, a replay of 10 final intriguing
donegal kerry, what a match up
meath v mayo, ahh come on the history of these two counties would be enough to pay in, no matter how good mayo are the cant beat meath, and all the other stuff written about them, i think mayo would win and if they get that off their back could go on and challange
thats my wish list gotta say it be some qf round of games

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2012 15:07:34    1226138

paddyogall

Every year you also predict that Mayo will Sam

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/07/2012 15:09:41    1226141

Paddyogall did you predict Dublin's win over Meath ??? Or Mayo's forthcoming demise in 2weeks time unless you find two scoring forwards :)

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 23/07/2012 15:09:47    1226142

To the Kerry man above. All Provincial champions play in the Quarter final, so they do have a say here.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 23/07/2012 15:09:48    1226143

royaldunne

Anyone but Cork if we reach the Quarters!!! We would get slaughtered again. Id' take Mayo or Dublin.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 23/07/2012 15:13:33    1226153

I said I Almost get everything right Jimbo. But I am correct 98% of the time. Who here predicted Tyrones 10+ victory over Roscommon and Kerry's 10+ victory over Tyrone? credit where credit is due.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 23/07/2012 15:14:18    1226157

paddyogall

To the Kerry man above. All Provincial champions play in the Quarter final, so they do have a say here.

You want to see Mayo v Dublin in the Quarter Finals, this can't happen so it's irrelevant. That's what he meant.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 23/07/2012 15:15:14    1226160

23/07/2012 15:09:48
paddyogall

07/2012 14:30:34
paddyogall

My personal favourite for the Quarter finals would be Mayo V Dublin, however I would love to get Donegal or Cork too.

They don't have a say in terms of provincial finalist being drawn against each other when it can't happen. Dublin won Leinster. Mayo won Connaught. They cannot be drawn against each other for the quarter. If both get through their quarters, which they should, they will meet in the semi-finals.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8725 - 23/07/2012 15:16:40    1226165

I reckon the draw will be

Kerry v Dublin
Kildare v Mayo
Cork v Down
Meath v Donegal

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 23/07/2012 15:19:43    1226170

no point talking about mayo v dublin it cant happen and mayo would humiliate them just like we did already this year, mayo need to be playing top teams at this stage and dublin certainly are not a top team

theboydog (Mayo) - Posts: 52 - 23/07/2012 15:20:40    1226174

Foolish to write off sligo.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 23/07/2012 15:20:50    1226175