I vote for Limerick's 2000-2002 sides.
They did it all, beat cork in Cork, beat Tipp in Thurles, won close finals, hammered Cork in the 2000 Munster final replay (4-18 to 1-6) and hammered Galway in the All-Ireland final of 2002, 3-17 to 0-8.
They were a goal down in injury time in the 2002 Munster final & Eoin Foley rifled a 21 yard free home. In the replay, they were 4 points down going into injury time. People were leaving Thurles as they got the goal, then won the puck out & got a draw.
Remember in 2000, the Munster final replay was on a Thursday night in Limerick and on the Saturday, 48 hours later, , Limerick played the All-Ireland semi final & beat Antrim in Parnell Park.
The only thing you could say is our lads never beat Kilkenny in that glorious 3 years, but the U21 footballers got to the All-Ireland final in 2000 as well, losing to Mickey Harte's Tyrone. We had a few hurlers playing on that too.
Other notable exceptions were Clare's team of 2009. I think they were brilliant, that 0-15 to 0-14 win over Kilkenny in Croker was a pleasure to attend & Tipp's team of 2010 were just unreal. They hit something like 5-21 in the final, Noel McGrath in particular was sensational.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6484 - 02/07/2012 12:45:50
What did those Limerick lads do at senior level Slayer? Not much.Kilkenny 04 and Tipp 2010 are fairly obvious choices.I will always have a soft spot for the Galway 78 U21s who beat Tipp well in a replayed final in Limerick.Seamus Coen,Conor Hayes, Steve Mahon, Bernie Forde and the Ryan twins from that team went on to win a senior All Ireland in 80. The Galway 83 team produced senior all Ireland winners too in Finnerty,Keady,Ollie Kilkenny,Hopper McGrath,Michael Coleman,Eanna Ryan just to name those I can recall. Over the years some I the best games I've seen have been at this grade.Limerick /Cork was the game of the year last year.
Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 02/07/2012 19:22:06
The Tipp team of 2010 were a quality team. I have no doubt Clare would have won the All Ireland if it was not for the stength of that Tipp team. Clare were the only team to get near them that season.
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 03/07/2012 08:50:51
Thurles. Ye will have to get past Clare in minor, intermediate and under 21 first. Who won munster minor and intermediate last year? I also fancy our under 21s this year backboned by 2 Munster Championship winning minor teams. Where have Tipp been at minor in recent times?
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 03/07/2012 08:57:45
Well I dont remember the old teams mentioned but hard to beat that Limerick team to be honest. The biggest pity is they never really pushed on to senior level.
Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 03/07/2012 09:23:43
Dublin teams of the last few years, oh wait they've won nothing....
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 03/07/2012 15:56:38
An awful shame Pinkie
Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 752 - 03/07/2012 16:14:53
What did those Limerick lads do at senior level Slayer? Not much.Kilkenny 04 and Tipp 2010 are fairly obvious choices.I will always have a soft spot for the Galway 78 U21s who beat Tipp well in a replayed final in Limerick.Seamus Coen,Conor Hayes, Steve Mahon, Bernie Forde and the Ryan twins from that team went on to win a senior All Ireland in 80.
Well the title of the thread is 'best U21 hurling team' and I say Limerick's 3 in a row side were the best I've seen. But you can look at the U21 teams to provide your senior players down the road, so that is another way of looking at it & I take your point completely.
Many of those 3 in a row side played in the All-Ireland final of 2007. We didn't win, but it was good to see us compete at that level.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6484 - 04/07/2012 10:02:30
moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 1823
1208583 Dublin teams of the last few years, oh wait they've won nothing....
who won the under 21 football in 2010 and 2012
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 04/07/2012 17:04:08
Southsham/Slayer what do you think went wrong with that team?
Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 04/07/2012 17:23:47
dhorse County: Laois Posts: 10409
1209602 moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 1823
This is about hurling not football
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 04/07/2012 18:35:46
County: Kerry Posts: 1824
1209701 dhorse County: Laois Posts: 10409
it was originally. it was also about under 21 , your tipperary alter ego brought in minor, a team that seemingly played for 10 years. did you think that dublin u 21 hurlers actually won something and then concluded the hadn't or is it just an obsession you have with dublin? They won the leinster u21 hurling in 2011, that's hardly nothing.
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 04/07/2012 20:08:43
dhorse County: Laois Posts: 10412
1209781 County: Kerry Posts: 1824
1209701 dhorse County: Laois Posts: 10409
it was originally. it was also about under 21 , your tipperary alter ego brought in minor, a team that seemingly played for 10 years. did you think that dublin u 21 hurlers actually won something and then concluded the hadn't or is it just an obsession you have with dublin? They won the leinster u21 hurling in 2011, that's hardly nothing.
Well we hear about how great Dublin underage hurling is suppose to be and how many All Ireland do they have to show for it?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 04/07/2012 20:38:45
Number of reasons Pinkie. The senior set up was never stable. Dave Keane the under 21 manager was givin one year. A sucession of managers never got a routine.
Also the social life got in the way or certainly hindered some of that team.
Limerick also lacked a number of what id call lethal scoring forwards, this left Shocks on his own quite alot and teams knew contain him and you contain Limerick.
Slayer how many of the team are still playing county? Niall Moran Donal O grady and Mossy O brien with the Dubs. Am I forgetting anyone?
Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 752 - 05/07/2012 09:14:34
Slayer how many of the team are still playing county? Niall Moran Donal O grady and Mossy O brien with the Dubs. Am I forgetting anyone?
I think that is about it. The U21's did provide some serious hurlers though. Damien Reale was a class act. Lucey probably never realised his potential but was a fine player nonetheless. Paudie Reale suffered from injury & this held him back at county level, but he is still playing with his club. Mark Keane was not ever the kind of forward I'd expect to see win a high ball & send it to the net, but the man always chipped in with vital scores. He played centre back V Kilkenny in the 2008 Intemediate all-Ireland final.
Others, well players like Peter Lawlor, Donnacha Sheehan, Eoin Foley - absolute class hurlers who gave their all for those U21 sides but we never got to see their potential at Senior level.
Still though, I'm glad these lads all played for us, they were absolute gems & brought a lot of joy to the people of Limerick winning tense battle after tense battle, a great bunch of players.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6484 - 05/07/2012 13:06:57
mooncat County: Kilkenny Posts: 277
1206511 I think its safe to say it could be a KK team,1999 included N Hickey,M kavanagh,R Mullaly,E Brennan,D Lyng,J Hoyne,M Comerford,and the King.How many AIs and All Stars did those players go on to win,2003/2004 teams,D Herrity,J Tyrell,JJ Delaney T Walsh,A Fogarty,M Rice,M Fennelly,J Tennyson, Cha Fitz,R Power,E Larkin,how many AIs and All Stars have they won and 4 of them won hurler of the year awards, and 3 captained senior AI winning teams and JJ was hurler of the year while still u21
Mooncat, sure once they are all gone ye'll win nothing! And Ben KK didnt hammer tipp, it went to a replay which KK won. Woodlock and Young I think are the only players on the Tipp panel from that team. KK have a lot more, so couldnt have been that great of a team
tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/07/2012 14:53:09
Mooncat, sure once they are all gone ye'll win nothing!
Is that you Thurlas?
Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 752 - 05/07/2012 15:00:47
Just to point out - there was a four in a row Cork success 68-71. However, I think Mick Malone was the only guy to win all four medals. he remains the only player with 4 U-21 medals, I think.
I assume lots of the guys on the 3 in a row senior side of the late 70s, cut their teeth on those U21 sides.
Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 05/07/2012 15:01:55
I know feic all about hurling but I do know that tiobraid is really clutching at straws. You can't argue with the stats re the KK teams from 99 and 04. Ridiculously successful teams. Don't think their record will ever be beaten.
pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 05/07/2012 15:08:52
LohansRedHelmet County: Clare Posts: 600
1207977 Thurles. Ye will have to get past Clare in minor, intermediate and under 21 first. Who won munster minor and intermediate last year? I also fancy our under 21s this year backboned by 2 Munster Championship winning minor teams. Where have Tipp been at minor in recent times? 2006 and 2007 two all-irelands in a row Lohan this is only 2012 and wel win it again this year so whats your point?
That will make it 19 All-Irelands for tipp how many have ye won? Recent times or bygone times?
thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 05/07/2012 16:35:55