Fair Play to Aindreas Doyle

Culann

1204122 A quick question for the Loch Garman Dublin bashers.

Loch Garman, Cill Dara agus An Mhí play in Croke Park a lot more than other teams. For example, those three teams will be there for the Leinster semi finals and if they win they will be there for the finals - adn probably every game after that. Is this fair on teams from other provences? Have these teams an unfair advantage over other teams from other provences?

Just a thought.

Go raibh maith agaibh.

God you are not a very bright lad. Eh no they don't have an unfair advantage they won their games. If the other teams had won their games they would also have played at Croke Park dumbo!! I don't believe your mother is from Wexford because you'd be a lot smarter then and stop dribbling all over your keyboard.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 28/06/2012 14:32:57    1204222

Culann

1204169 Why is it that its only people in unsuccessful GAA footballing counties like Loch Garman and Maigh Eo that are crying here? The Tír Eoghain and Gaillimh brigade and the most of the Ciarraí brigade, for example, don't have a problem with it. Jelousy I reckon!

I'm not really sure but if you consider Wexford Unsuccessful then I presume you would have Dublin there too, afterall ye have only won 7 titles since the 70's. You cannot county any title before this as basically those titles were won on behalf of Dublin by the culchies. Sure somebody had to give them a hand. They were too busy playing Rugby and Cricket with their friends.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 28/06/2012 14:37:46    1204225

Captain Murphy back for Wexford
28 June 2012

Now you boys are in real trouble!!

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 28/06/2012 14:41:48    1204230

Nick
County: Wexford

1204122 A quick question for the Loch Garman Dublin bashers.

Loch Garman, Cill Dara agus An Mhí play in Croke Park a lot more than other teams. For example, those three teams will be there for the Leinster semi finals and if they win they will be there for the finals - adn probably every game after that. Is this fair on teams from other provences? Have these teams an unfair advantage over other teams from other provences?

Just a thought.

Go raibh maith agaibh.

God you are not a very bright lad. Eh no they don't have an unfair advantage they won their games. If the other teams had won their games they would also have played at Croke Park dumbo!! I don't believe your mother is from Wexford because you'd be a lot smarter then and stop dribbling all over your keyboard.

What!!!? I'll explain in simple words for you! Loch Garman played An Longfort in Croke Park. They drew and played the replay in O' Connor Park (I think - maybe O Moore park). They are playing against the mighty Dubs in Croke Park on Sunday. If they win they will play again in Croke Park - while ard Mhacha, Tír Eoghain, Ciarraí, Corcaigh, Dún na nGall etc etc will not have played in Croke Park yet. Is that an unfair advantage Loch Garman will have had on other teams. Also, parts of Wexford are less than 60 miles from Croke Park, where as Donegal supporters would have to travel over 150 miles to Croke Park. Is this an advantage Wexford would have over Donegal??

Its the same sort of point Andréas Doyle had. Do you understand it now? By the way, do you mind me asking what age you are?

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/06/2012 14:43:49    1204232

Nick

1204169 Why is it that its only people in unsuccessful GAA footballing counties like Loch Garman and Maigh Eo that are crying here? The Tír Eoghain and Gaillimh brigade and the most of the Ciarraí brigade, for example, don't have a problem with it. Jelousy I reckon!

I'm not really sure but if you consider Wexford Unsuccessful then I presume you would have Dublin there too, afterall ye have only won 7 titles since the 70's. You cannot county any title before this as basically those titles were won on behalf of Dublin by the culchies. Sure somebody had to give them a hand. They were too busy playing Rugby and Cricket with their friends.

lol! So Dublin are an unsuccessful footballing county. They have 'only' won seven titles since the 70s. How many counties have won more?

Seriously what age are you?

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/06/2012 14:47:12    1204235

SuperBlueDub, that argument can be made for any team playing at home. The same could be said for mayo playing in mchale park, however, I still accept that playing there is an advantage for us. Furthermore, we dont play every game there, we have to go to other places too. The dubs play every single game on the same pitch, they would know it inside-out. They can build their gameplan to suit its wide open spaces, and never have to worry about changing tac to play on a tight pitch with a bad surface. Are you really that stubborn that you cant just admit that it is an advantage

the master
are you really that blind to see that i did admit it is an advantage against weaker teams,and are you really that stubborn/stupid to admit that against the big guns ie the, kerrys tyrones corks mayo down etc, it is not an advantage check the stats they dont make for good reading for dublin.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 28/06/2012 15:07:38    1204253

I'm wondering, would Cork people think Kerry have an advantage over Cork when they play them at Croke Park? Kerry have played in Croke Park probably as often as Dublin have in the last 12 years, Cork are hardly strangers to Croke Park either in that time, Kerry wouldn't bring the same support for every game as they would for an all-ireland but Kerry have beaten Cork everytime they've played them in Croke Park since the qualifiers started. Is this down to Kerry being a better team or that Cork simply don't perform as well at Croke Park as they have against Kerry in Killarney and Pairc Ui Caoimh?

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 28/06/2012 15:11:28    1204257

Nick

Keep in mind that you crowd up there would all be starving only for the like of us Wexford people. Also keep in mind that you'd spend 100% of you summer up there sitting in the ******* rain (rather than 99%) and strolling along on radioactive black sand only for us. Keep in mind you'd have no strawberries with your ice-cream

hahahahahahahahaha oh this has to be the best yet.
wexford the feeder the county of ireland the only place that produces food.
oh dear god he realy thinks every dub goes to wexford for the summer like ye dont get rain and bad weather like every other county in ireland
haha seriously i have only been to wexford once and that was for a match and it lashed rain you would swear the whole country migrates there for holidays like spain portugal canaries are less popular then wexford haha.radioactive black sand hahahaha have you been to dublin pal its ALONG THE COAST somebody failed geography.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/06/2012 15:11:41    1204258

Culann if you think its an advantage for Wexford Kildare etc then surely you can't deny that it's an advantage for Dublin, and significantly more of an advantage for them that the stadium is in Dublin and obviously not in Wexford, Kildare etc? So I take it you agree then with Aindreas Doyle then?

It clearly is an advantage but to be honest I wouldn't change it. It makes perfect sense for most parties in most cases, but I kinda agree with the master that there is a surprising amount of denial about it from some of the dubs on here. No county plays such a large proportion of their games in their own county. Tipp probably the only ones that come close. That is definitely an advantage and anyone who says home advantage is not important may give up following sport as its a huge factor in almost every sport imaginable, the bookies certainly don't ignore it.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 28/06/2012 15:19:01    1204265

maybe andreas doyle should have kept his mouth shut and concentrated on his football as he aint even in the team to play us this weekend

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/06/2012 15:20:24    1204267

MesAmis

I've been on the hill with country mates of mine on several occasions and it's been great. No problems at all.

Then why was there a problem when mayo went to warm up in front of it?

because they went down to the hill to warm up to cause trouble simply the only reason they did it,why else would you want to warm up in front of the opposite teams supporters and it actualy had no effect on the way the match went,tyrone done a smiliar idea in the 80tys

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/06/2012 15:24:12    1204274

Breffni39

1204265 Culann if you think its an advantage for Wexford Kildare etc then surely you can't deny that it's an advantage for Dublin, and significantly more of an advantage for them that the stadium is in Dublin and obviously not in Wexford, Kildare etc? So I take it you agree then with Aindreas Doyle then?

Look Breffni39, I don't want to get snotty here but read my posts. I have stated clearly and voluntarily that there is an advantage for Dublin. What I don't agree with, however, is people trying to have a go at Dublin because of that. This is a question for the Leinster council and I take it Leinster Council make the decision based on potential crowd. That is not Dublin's fault. I would also like to say however that Andréas Doyle and his Loch Garman team also enjoy an unfair advantage over teams like Dún na nGall, Ard Mhacha, Ciarraí, Corcaigh etc etc. Sunday will be their second time playing in Croke Park this year and if they win they will play there again. Also north Wexford is only about 60 miles from Croke Park where as there are places in Dún na nGall are over 200 miles from Croke Park. The supporters don't have far to travel compared to other counties. Like Dublin that is not Wexford's fault.

Also, if Dublin were to lose, like every other county they would go into the draw for the qualifiers and if they were to be drawn out second they would have to travel. This does not happen too often however because of Dublin's success in Leinster over a long period of time. Way back in 2003 (as far as I remember) Dublin were drawn with London. They were pulled out of the hat first and the game was played in Parnell Park. The second game was awy against Longord I think and played in Longford.

Time for Andréas and others to stop whinging about. Meath supporters don't winge about this, either do Tír Eoghain ór Corcaigh etc... If people want to change this demand either of two things - a. that their county get to play in Croke Park always or b. that Dublin are not allowed to play there un less they are drawn first out of the hat but, plese, stop your whinging.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/06/2012 15:51:43    1204297

hill16no1man

1204267 maybe andreas doyle should have kept his mouth shut and concentrated on his football as he aint even in the team to play us this weekend

I noticed that. I wonder what his excuse is for not been picked!!

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/06/2012 15:53:00    1204298

MesAmis

I've been on the hill with country mates of mine on several occasions and it's been great. No problems at all.

Then why was there a problem when mayo went to warm up in front of it?

Are you serious!!!! I am not saying the reason for it is right but do you not know or understand what the whole uproar was about? I think you secretly know but you are just trying to come across all ignorant and inncoent. Poor old Mayo did not know. They had a decision to make, to go right or left and they just choose left. It wasn't to wind anyone up or anything or to try to get a phsilogical advantage or anything? Poor old Mayo.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/06/2012 16:05:10    1204309

The Dubs,
never short of something to say anyway.

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 28/06/2012 16:16:29    1204317

Can anyone point to the stats that illustrate the advantage that Dublin have when playing at Croker? We can certainly point to their lack of silverware a la Bosco. We can certainly point to the unexpected hidings they have received when under extreme pressure and in the face of great expectation. On the flip side we can point to a great away league record last year when the shackles of playing in the CP spotlight were off. I would guess that with all three counties shouting for Wexford on Sun that the Dub support will be outnumbered. Anyone know where the advantage will be on Sun? Also any objections to Meath's advantage over Kildare, that county being in closer proximity to CP than Kildare. I guess there are pros and cons but not as many pros as some people would like to believe or else they could back up their claims with stats.
Up the Jackeens!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 28/06/2012 18:00:20    1204403

The Dubs,
never short of something to say anyway.

eh hello who started the thread

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 28/06/2012 19:46:06    1204490

Joxer the only relevant stat that I know is: 25% of the population, nearly all matches at home and 1 in 15.

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1022 - 28/06/2012 19:53:42    1204497

Can anyone point to the stats that illustrate the advantage that Dublin have when playing at Croker?

How about this?
"This year 58 per cent of victories across all four divisions of the league were by the home team. Over the last two seasons, that figure rises to 59 per cent. And all the while, 66 per cent of Dublin's wins have come at Croke Park while on 60 per cent of the occasions they didn't win, it was on the road."

Too much home comfort for Dubs

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 28/06/2012 20:49:50    1204547

Country lads... thats an interesting article that Doublehop went to the effort of posting

Dublin have not played in Parnell Park League/Championship since March 2010

The article suggested that because of this fact... Croke Park is now Dublins home ground.

Would the rest of you agree with that?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/06/2012 21:12:10    1204569