Fair Play to Aindreas Doyle

It is irrelevant if Croke park is an advantage to Dublin, I don't believe it is an advantage in playing terms, it is probably on balance more of a hinderance.
It seems what people want is equality and fairness which is impossible given the sheer size of Dublin and the dependancy the GAA has financially on full houses in Croke Park, its why it was built there in the first damn place. No matter how quaint and "fair" it might seem to be to have Dublin playing "away" (as if croke Park is "Home" for Dublin) it just doesn't cut it financially. Someone has to pay for the Go Games gear, the development officers, the coaching sessions/courses, subventions to all counties, the capitol expenditure etc etc etc. So spare us all this "fairness" lark.

As regards ticketing - there is absolutely NO fairness or equality where that is concerned. Just look at the tickting arrangements for the latter stages of the Championship games if they involve Dublin. Tickets are split evenly between participating counties with a huge percentage going to all the other counties. Unsold tickets are then returned and made available to the general public. Some of the ticketing suggestions here are already in place.

It would be very interesting to see a county by county breakdown of tickets allocated and sold/unsold for last years all-Ireland final. I think the reality of that would nail some of the myths floating around.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 28/06/2012 08:21:03    1203995

JayP I suppose the big problem I can see with your proposal is that you havn't factored in the extra cost for Kerry fans to get to Croke Park and then the knock on effect for their attendance. Its handy out for the dublin support to get to all of their games as they are at home including the finals. I would have to ask if every one of Dublins AI QF, SF and AI finals were to be held in Fitzgerald stadium in Killarney then do you expect their would be a similar dublin support? When you have to fork out over €100 just to get to each game and loose an entire day travelling then I think you would soon learn why the Kerry Supporters don't turn up to Semi Finals in big numbers, they hold off for the big one.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 28/06/2012 09:28:44    1204014

MesAmis

1203761 Yellabelly

Yous did.

Wexford County Board tried to spin it differently at the time alright.

just like you are doing now. Like i said, check the FACTS, not the biased myths.

yellabelly (Wexford) - Posts: 1062 - 28/06/2012 09:38:38    1204016

omg is this rubbish still going on,any excuse to slate dublin,god help us if we win another all ireland anytime some.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 28/06/2012 10:15:46    1204033

AthCliath

the master
take it up with the gaa hierarchy that you want the hill evenly split, all the things in gaa that could be changed and you have a problem with that. you do know that anyone can buy a ticket for the hill or are you just spitting the dummy out of the pram because half the hill isnt in mayo colours on the day of a match.

I may well do that, but that isnt for you to worry about, because on this website I am asking you to acknowledge that it is an advantage playing every game on the same pitch in front of 50,000+ of your own fans. A simple question, with an obvious answer. But how long does it take before you can bring yourself to utter the words? The truth is everyone knows the answer, what this has turned into is how far the dub fans will go to avoid answering the question straight. Some have stopped posting on the thread, others continue with the wishy washy county board stuff. What route will you take?
One guy actually said it was a hinderance! No reasons why of course, just that it is a hinderance. If that is the case then I better get onto our own county board to get every game in mchale park moved...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/06/2012 10:19:42    1204037

28/06/2012 10:19:42

AthCliath

the master
take it up with the gaa hierarchy that you want the hill evenly split, all the things in gaa that could be changed and you have a problem with that. you do know that anyone can buy a ticket for the hill or are you just spitting the dummy out of the pram because half the hill isnt in mayo colours on the day of a match.

I may well do that, but that isnt for you to worry about, because on this website I am asking you to acknowledge that it is an advantage playing every game on the same pitch in front of 50,000+ of your own fans. A simple question, with an obvious answer. But how long does it take before you can bring yourself to utter the words? The truth is everyone knows the answer, what this has turned into is how far the dub fans will go to avoid answering the question straight. Some have stopped posting on the thread, others continue with the wishy washy county board stuff. What route will you take?
One guy actually said it was a hinderance! No reasons why of course, just that it is a hinderance. If that is the case then I better get onto our own county board to get every game in mchale park moved...

OK TheMaster...
Its an advantage, I can see the point been made after reading through the thread again. Its advantage in more ways than one, from my perspective transporting Kids to and from. In my opinion its ok traveling if your on your todd, with Kids I can see the overall cost of traveling, if your earning the industrial wage with a modern mortgage its a lot of money. On the flip from a footballing side of view It hasn't always felt like a advantage, but there you are. So back to the question, whats the alternative, suggestion to make for 'all things been equal'?

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 28/06/2012 10:44:04    1204059

AthCliath

the master

actually it is both,it is an advantage no doubt about it against weaker counties,but against teams like kerry tyrone cork even mayo its a hindrance as these teams are well used to playing big days in croke park and use this so called dublin advantage as a motivation.just look at the records of these teams v dublin in croke park,its obvious you are well aware of this,and as usual you are using this thread to have another pop at dublin.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 28/06/2012 10:48:40    1204065

This Sunday when Dublin play Wexford, dublins biggest advantage will be that they possess the better players and are a better team!
Dublin playing in Croker is an advantage to them can be argued both ways

I've been in Croker many times watching Dublin being beaten by many great teams such as Donegal Meath Tyrone Kerry Down And Derry
All the above teams had a sizeable support which became very vocal as there team was on the home stretch to winning

As Mayo on warming up in front of the hill- they went against protocol and it paid off for them so congrats for that

The hill is traditionally where the dubs congregate and when full and on song is one of the most prodigious sights in Irish sport- long may it continue and stare in the face of blatant anti Dublin bigotry from some quarters of the wollybacks!

I personally would love a couple of away trips in the early rounds of the Leinster championship, to my knowledge Dublins last defeat outside Croker in the champion was against Offally in 1980 and the time previous was in 1973

In all good teams and good players perform Regardless of surroundings

Andreas who ?

bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 28/06/2012 10:56:01    1204078

JayP

Ill give you an example, Kerry fans dont travel, in fact they were outnumbered in Killarney by Cork fans a couple of years ago. Now last year Kerry were demanding a huge allocation of tickets for the final, yet their fans didnt travel to the quarters of the semis. So my suggestion is that Kerry brought about 8000 fans to the semi, so give them 8000 tickets for the next game plus ten percent of that. They get 8800 tickets....

With all due respect JayP that's untrue. Firstly Cork have never outnumbered Kerry in Killarney, they've come close a few times but have never outnumbered us, plus red stands out more than most colours in stadiums. Secondly, I don't recall Kerry "demanding a huge allocation of tickets for the final", we got what we usually get and there were no complaints about it. It's true we didn't travel in massive numbers for the Limerick game but we could not be blamed for not wanting to see another whitewash, even though I was there myself. Regarding the Semi-Final, there was a very big Kerry contingent present against Mayo, more so than usual.

The rest of your post was pretty good though! ;)

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 28/06/2012 10:56:09    1204081

Joxer,
I replied to you yesterday evening there but I suppose the moderator is worried I might hurt your feelings or something, you'll just have to deal with the suspense.
Eugene McGee is on this panel that has been set up to address some of the issues besetting football at the moment so I hope all the Dubs will be e-mailing furiously to make him aware of how it's not an advantage to be playing every game at Croke Park or if anything it's a drawback?
Let him know that it's perfectly right and acceptable that one team represents a quarter of the entire population of the only country to play the sport and that they compete in the same competition as areas with as little as 30,000 inhabitants. Don't know what all the fuss is about at all, sounds perfectly fair.
Mention how there is absolutely no conflict of interests between an association that needs money from huge numbers of people supporting this team in order to sustain the organization as a whole. So one team exists to maintain the GAA Eugene, or should that be the GAA exists to maintain one team?
The monopoly and competition authority apparently were looking closely at one airline's proposed takeover bid of another airline recently amid concerns over fairness and the long term implications attached, they'd have their work cut out looking at this stuff.
Aindreas Doyle called a spade a spade and like I said should be commended for it.
I hope somehow Wexford upset all the odds stacked against them but in an age where everything is done to remove the chance happening out of Gaelic football that's unlikely, and we still hand one team that needs no further help another advantage.
Meath vs Kildare is at least set up on a much fairer and even premise and that's why football fans in general will have much greater interest in it. In general though Gaelic games are becoming so inevitably predictable across the board that people will be turned off at inter county level. Club competitions are where it's at!

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 28/06/2012 10:58:17    1204082

yellabelly
County: Wexford

just like you are doing now. Like i said, check the FACTS, not the biased myths

C'mon man go way outta that.

Yous had home advantage and you gave it up. Change of venue couldn't happen with Wexford County Board's consent.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 28/06/2012 11:14:36    1204094

Yes its an advantage, when playing the weaker teams, who Dublin would still beat if they had to play them outside croker, but as we come into the bigger games, theres no county under more pressure to perform and believe me, you feel that pressure out there with a huge crowd snarling at every wide of misplaced pass. This is the reason Dublin have only won one AI since '95, they've repeatedly buckled under the pressure in the latter stages of the championship and you could argue that the Dublin side of the noughties were a better footballing side than the present one. Overall I would say that it evens itself out, and Mr. Doyle just sounds likes he whinging, men don't whinge!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 28/06/2012 11:16:10    1204095

Message to Aindreas who?,

Stop giving interviews on the GAA......nobody even knows who you are!!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/06/2012 11:32:00    1204106

For everyone in the country who doesnt like the Dubs getting to play all their games in Croker (which is NOT our home....you all know that Parnell Park is)...........Please proceed to your own GAA Clubhouse this evening and demolish it!!!

Thread closed!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/06/2012 11:39:40    1204113

Advantage or not the gaa would be akin to Shinty without the Dubs

bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 28/06/2012 11:41:31    1204116

Cuid 1

Nick
County: Wexford

Definitely believe you are correct but why should Dublin always get to play their matches there

That is simply a question for Comhairle Laighean

Yes that's exactly what they are suggesting. This is the whole point, Dublin get an advantage every year in the championship and the only reason they get the advantage is because of GAA greed. So has the recession been going for the past 40 years?

So the games would be better off played in venues that cannot cater for the crowds that would be interesting attending instead of them being played in venues that can. I'd be all for travelling to games in venues that can cater for the crowds. There would be no point in having Loch Garman V Cill Mhantain in Pairc an Chrócaigh for example when Wexford Park would more than cater for the crowd that would attend such a match. Reagrding the recession, you are right it has not being going on 40 years, but there is a recession now.

I don't think anybody suggested this and I agree the GAA are the ones who organise this not the Dublin team however this doesn't change the fact that Dublin get an unfair advantage

Read back over the thread. This fact is being dismissed. I think it just being dismissed by anti Dubs however, people who going to write drivel about the Dubs no matter what the topic. Again, yes Dublin do get an unfair advantage n that there fans fans do not have to travel as far for games and that the players are more familiar with Croke Park but what you going to do? Get on to your county board and ask them to do either of two things -a. get them to campaign for all Loch arman games to be played in Croke Park or get them to stop all Dubs games being played there. Its not Dublins fault!

Despite what you might think Dublin GAA doesn't own Croke park.

I don't think that nor have I said anything to suggest that I think that. However, Dublin GAA pumps millions into it every year.

Also keep in mind that there are a huge number of other games played there each year that Dublin don't play in.

Thats just drivel. Everybody knows that. I reckon you are just using this thread to be anti Dub.

Also keep in mind that the only reason Dublin won anything before the 60s was because of all the culchies playing for ye. You guys owe these guys for keeping GAA alive in Dublin.

What has that got to do with anything? You are waffling now. That sort of drivel suggests you just have a chip on your shoulder towards Dubs and I think that is whats really bothering you.

I think Dublin playing in Wexford park probably would be a better benefit to Wexford and not just the GAA but the local economy.

Thats stating the obvious. That said, don't be relying on the Dubs to fill your stadium. You should be doing that yourselves. By the way, when was the last time you managed to do that?

Keep in mind that you crowd up there would all be starving only for the like of us Wexford people. Also keep in mind that you'd spend 100% of you summer up there sitting in the ******* rain (rather than 99%) and strolling along on radioactive black sand only for us.

What age are you?

Keep in mind you'd have no strawberries with your ice-cream

My mother is from Loch Garman. She can get strawberries whenever she likes to go with my ice cream.

A quick question, Loch Garman, Cill Dara agus An Mhí play in Croke Park a lot more than other teams. For example, those three teams will be there for the Leinster semi finals and if they win they will be there for the finals. Is this fair on teams from other provences? Have these teams an unfair advantage over other teams from other provences?

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/06/2012 11:41:48    1204117

A quick question for the Loch Garman Dublin bashers.

Loch Garman, Cill Dara agus An Mhí play in Croke Park a lot more than other teams. For example, those three teams will be there for the Leinster semi finals and if they win they will be there for the finals - adn probably every game after that. Is this fair on teams from other provences? Have these teams an unfair advantage over other teams from other provences?

Just a thought.

Go raibh maith agaibh.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/06/2012 11:43:30    1204122

The Master

Jesus are you for real? We get a chance to buy them, but we dont get the same chance the dubs do, that is the whole point. Can you not see that what I am saying is a possibility to counteract it being a home tie? No need to go to county boards or any of that waffle that you keep pushing. Look if there are 12 seats up fro grabs to a game between mayo and dublin in croker. There are 12 dubs looking for a ticket and there are 8 outlets for them to get tickets in dublin. Now lets say in mayo we have 8 people looking for tickets and 4 outlets. Obviously, all things being equal, the dublin fans are going to buy more than their share of the tickets in the same time the mayo fans will have bought a little over half their share. This is my point, you need to give the mayos of this world more time to get their share of tickets than the likes of dublin. That is if you want to make things a bit fairer anyway, if you dont then you will keep waffling on about county boards and anything else you can think of rather than address the real issue.

Are you serious man? What are you recommending? That Mayo buy all the tickets they want and then once they are finished buying lets the Dubs in. Are you mad? Thats a sily idea. Think about it. The last time you were in Croke Park there was bearly 8,000 of you there. Why should Mayo supporters be given preference? Are you really serious or am I understanding this correctly?

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/06/2012 13:16:48    1204162

Why is it that its only people in unsuccessful GAA footballing counties like Loch Garman and Maigh Eo that are crying here? The Tír Eoghain and Gaillimh brigade and the most of the Ciarraí brigade, for example, don't have a problem with it. Jelousy I reckon!

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/06/2012 13:24:23    1204169

Are you serious man? What are you recommending? That Mayo buy all the tickets they want and then once they are finished buying lets the Dubs in. Are you mad? Thats a sily idea. Think about it. The last time you were in Croke Park there was bearly 8,000 of you there. Why should Mayo supporters be given preference? Are you really serious or am I understanding this correctly?

Well functionally, that is what is happening to the opposition at present when someone gets the dubs in croker, ye have all the tickets snapped up very quickly, buying them twice as fast as most other teams, but no this is not what I am saying. I am saying split them 50-50, gives the dubs 2 weeks (just a random figure before anyone jumps on it) to buy their half, and give mayo 4 weeks to buy theres. Then if they are not sold in 4 weeks make what is left available to everyone. Very simple. Basically the idea is: to match dublins fans in croker, and to make the game more neutral, other counties need a higher percentage of their fans to be at the game, this facilitates it. It wouldnt take huge policing either. Timestamp the ticket, if the guy going in is a dub fan and the timestamp is within those 2 extra weeks, dont let them in. That would make the game far more neutral. The dubs would still be playing on the same pitch every week, which is another advantage, but we cant do anything about that, we can however do something about this.

BlueDubStar, the above answers your question also.

SuperBlueDub, that argument can be made for any team playing at home. The same could be said for mayo playing in mchale park, however, I still accept that playing there is an advantage for us. Furthermore, we dont play every game there, we have to go to other places too. The dubs play every single game on the same pitch, they would know it inside-out. They can build their gameplan to suit its wide open spaces, and never have to worry about changing tac to play on a tight pitch with a bad surface. Are you really that stubborn that you cant just admit that it is an advantage?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/06/2012 14:28:45    1204219