Fair Play to Aindreas Doyle

bluedubstar,
the "Nell"? Ah god.....

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 26/06/2012 14:11:47    1202591

I wonder did Aindreas Doyle raise this issue with the Wexford County Board. This being the same county board that decided to lose home advantage in 2010 against the Dubs so they could switch the game to Croker and make some more money.

The Master.

You are more than welcome on the hill. Terrace tickets for Croke Park games are available through your county board and clubs. Put in the order and you'll get your hill ticket no bother.

Yous want the Dubs to travel outside Croke Park then the decision is totally up to your county boards. If the rest of the Leinster County Boards insisted we travelled then of course we would but they don't so we stay in Dublin.

It's your call lads.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 26/06/2012 14:21:31    1202609

Count_Awesome

Why not just dilute the Hill? It's obvious (from that "march to the hill) nonsense that it's a great psychological boost to the Dubs, and it would be human nature for referrers to feel increased reassure from it

So sell Hill tickets through clubs in the opposing county. The latecoming League of Ireland boys can fork out thee tea rennet for a change. Leaves them with less cider money anyway, so the odd game might start on time

Evens things up a bit without loss of revenue

There is nothing stopping anyone from getting a hill ticket for a Dubs game.

If you want a hill ticket, apply for one through your club or county board. You could also just buy one off ticketmaster.

You have the exact same amount of ways to access Hill tickets as Dublin fans but you choose not to.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 26/06/2012 14:25:29    1202615

Jaysus Paddy they are just about able to compete as it is and you want to go dilute them into 4!!!!

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 26/06/2012 14:29:45    1202619

Jackeen

Because of your massive population advantage.

ah here we go again the huge population advantage card being rolled out again,
as has been mentioned over and over again gaelic football and hurling are a minority sport in dublin.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 26/06/2012 14:32:27    1202622

Count_Awesome

Why not just dilute the Hill? It's obvious (from that "march to the hill) nonsense that it's a great psychological boost to the Dubs, and it would be human nature for referrers to feel increased reassure from it

So sell Hill tickets through clubs in the opposing county. The latecoming League of Ireland boys can fork out thee tea rennet for a change. Leaves them with less cider money anyway, so the odd game might start on time

Evens things up a bit without loss of revenue

you obviously have not been to a match involving dublin have you? you can a buy a hill ticket from any county in ireland you wish
go into ticket master or through their website ticketmaster.ie,you can buy through tickets.ie or any supervalue shop that sells tickets
you can also send off to portlaoise and have them delivered in the post .
you dont have to have a dublin identity card to buy one

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/06/2012 14:34:13    1202627

bluedubstar

1202337 26/06/2012 11:11:21
tribeinbrum

To be fair though, what other ground in Leinster would accommodate the support that the Dubs bring???

This argument is just ridiculous, this is about the bottom line for Leinster Council, why doesn't Andrias direct that argument at them? Or is it a case if Wexford loose its because the Dubs have unfair advantage of playing in Croker? To be honest I would love to see Dublin not playing there in Leinster Champion for at least three years to see what way bottom line and funding ends up... its just absolute bull**** of an argument.

He never directed it at the Dubs in general. He just said he didn't believe it was fair. He never said the dubs instigated it.You have to agree a team playing at home is an advantage whether it's Dubs, Kerry, Cork or Wexford. Like anybody who knows their elbow from they ***hole knows playing at home has always been classified as an advantage. I'm sure he won't be making it as excuse if we loose because we are expected to loose anyway. If for the past 30 years Dublin had to travel to Wexford for every game they played them in the championship do you not think it would be a bit unfair, seriously?

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 26/06/2012 14:34:17    1202628

i wonder what his deal is for playing for parnells ?

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 26/06/2012 14:36:16    1202630

Jaysus Paddy they are just about able to compete as it is and you want to go dilute them into 4!!!!

totally agree with this only 3 all irelands in nearly 30yrs,paddy give it a rest will you....

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 26/06/2012 14:38:57    1202637

No point moaning and cribbing if the infrastructure is not there - whatever the dubs do will annoy certain folk, fact of life - hopefully a back to back title will inflame this hatred!

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 26/06/2012 14:39:51    1202641

MesAmis

The Master.
You are more than welcome on the hill. Terrace tickets for Croke Park games are available through your county board and clubs. Put in the order and you'll get your hill ticket no bother.

Well we werent made very welcome when we warmed up in front of it, and that was just the squad and management.
My point is that to even up the score other counties should get more opportunity to get the tickets earlier on. When they go on sale in dublin they are hoovered up quickly as there is A) more people buying them and B) more places to get them. For another county to get the same amount of coverage for tickets they would need more time to do it. If they are not bought within a certain timeframe then make them available to dublin. Surely you can see that this is only evening up the score as regards the availability and uptake of tickets, and ultimately making it less of a 'home draw'?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/06/2012 14:42:35    1202644

26/06/2012 14:11:47
Bosco
County: Carlow

bluedubstar,
the "Nell"? Ah god.....

and... would you like to enlighten me as to what you mean?

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 26/06/2012 14:45:40    1202654

By the way, Doyle plays for Parnell's in Dublin - i'm sure a local lad is being kept out of the team because of him? is that fair? swings and roundabouts Aindreas, cant have it everyway.

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 26/06/2012 14:48:33    1202661

I think Dublin are between a rock and a hard place here. They went 16 years without winning an All Ireland between 1995 and 2011 and played all their big games at Croke Park so people could have said playing there was a hindrance to them....but no one spoke up. Indeed I recall when the Dubs were struggling people on HS, including many Dubs, saying that Dublin needed a defeat in Leinster and to go through the qualifiers AWAY from Croke Park in order to succeed. Kerry, Tyrone, Armagh, Mayo all beat the Dubs in big games in Croke Park and very little was said; all that time the Dub crowds were still turning up and the GAA was making millions out of them. Now they are winning again there are those who say it is unfair that they play all their games at HQ blah de blah de blah. Sorry folks we can't have it both ways; whether we like it or not the GAA needs the finance that Dublin brings and a lot of that goes out as grants around the country. We have a choice; either we make Dublin play all their games at Parnell Park and receive much diminished income or allow Dublin to play at Croke Park and reap the financial awards. Furthermore Dublin have won ONE Sam in 16 years, it's not as if they have been winning it year in year out. If that was the case then maybe there would be a valid arguement; as it stands this sounds a bit like sour grapes.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 26/06/2012 14:52:11    1202662

jasus how many 'outsiders' are on that parnells team they may aswell be renamed the cluchie team.!!
the check of the dubs then to mouth about ethos yeah pull the other one...

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 26/06/2012 14:53:17    1202665

If you are good enough it dosn't matter where the game is played.How many times have the Dubs been beaten ( well beaten sometimes) in Croker? I can recall Mayo,Tyrone,Cork,Kildare,meath,Down,Derry, Westmeath,Offaly Donegal ,Armagh and Kerry (several) all beating them in big games in Croker.A big home support can be a burden on a team if things are not going well.It didn't stop the Tipp football minors beating them in last years final in front of a big Dublin crowd.
Just get on with it Aindreas.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 26/06/2012 14:56:39    1202672

lilywhitemagic

jasus how many 'outsiders' are on that parnells team they may aswell be renamed the cluchie team.!!

thats the point nobody wants them playing for them thats why dubs are complaining about parnells
parnells has a culchie chairman as you call it hes from laois so should he not be the one who gets the blame for bringing in country players to a dublin club instead you focus the blame on dublin gaa people who have no control over the situation

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/06/2012 15:02:04    1202684

26/06/2012 14:53:17
lilywhitemagic

If I was nominating posts of the year, you would get it. You had me at 'jasus'. WOW! You really must be magic.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 26/06/2012 15:02:29    1202686

Nick
County: Wexford

his jibe at the end of his interview indicated it was towards dublin by saying if kerry got to play every match in killarney they would win the all ireland every year
so if you dont think he was trying get a dig in at dublin read it again

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/06/2012 15:04:51    1202689

why should dublina always play in dublin?

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 26/06/2012 15:08:26    1202694