Fair Play to Aindreas Doyle

The reality of this thread is that counties/supporters who have psychological hexes over playing Dublin are the ones who tend to have the biggest issue. Ask 'most' people from Cork, Kerry, Meath and Tyrone and you will find that they have no issue playing Dublin in Croke Park. Even more, they probably relish it. This is probably because they have a good record of beating Dublin at this venue.

Yet certain supporters from the likes of Wexford, Louth and many other so called 'weak' counties have major issues with it. I wonder why?

Also on another point ive made time and time again. Posters who are supposedly GAA supporters taking swipes at Dublins so called 'soccer element' really show themselves up to be honest. Its the equivalent of an Irish person, slagging another Irish person, because they are Irish...Grow up!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 05/07/2012 12:55:20    1210101

A point people are missing here is what moving the dubs around could do for local business in provincial towns like wexford mullingar or wherever . Wexford park could easily have accommodated the crowd for a wexford Dublin stand alone game , and wexford s pubs shops restaurants and b and b s would gain . In recession it's the least the gaa could do to help communities . It's also ripping people off by making them pay extra for double headers .

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 818 - 05/07/2012 13:00:30    1210103

Malonemagic
County: Laois

So we'd help out the culchies in other words..

Ah yeah... I'd be well up for that

These god awful little places could really do with a boost... Carlow and the likes

They'd need the likes of me splashing a bit of cash alright

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2012 13:03:42    1210106

1209949 Culann

Well, start a new thread then or post on the thread titled attendances. I was responding to something you said regarding the title of this thread.

No, you were responding to the points about the wexford game, and brought in a previous conversation on this thread that was actually no ways relevant. See how nobody else made the mistake? Why would the point about ticket sales be relevant to a game where the stadium was nowhere near sold out? This is the kind of point someone who isnt interested in the argument and only want to have a pop would make.

You are just waffling and rabbiting on here. You don't like the Dubs and have nothing positive to say about them so when Dubs supporters come on here and say yes there is an advantage but it is not the Dubs who set the fixtures nor the venues you cannot accept that. Look, I cannot stand the site of a Mayo jersey. I understand what you are going through. You just have to learn to deal with it better as I have done.

Actually no, it is yourself that is waffling. I mean look how biased and frankly childish the above extract is. I dont dislike the dubs, I dont care enough about them to do so. Can someone not make a valid point about a team without disliking them? Jimbodub is doing the same thing, it is like a defence mechanism, 'it must be something personal'. Even though nothing I have said is unfair. I dont care what you think of the mayo jersey, it doesnt bother me in the slightest. Get 10 of them and burn them for all I care, at least you will have had to buy them to do it. Then of course we get this line about not setting the fixtures, and again I point out, who said you did? Nobody is making this point yet it must have been argued against 10 times on this thread. What is that all about? Can you not just address the point put to you without these rants that go off on a tangent? Is it a dublin thing that us culchies dont get? Address the point for gods sake, nobody wants your life story.

That my freind is a lie. All you have to do is read back through the thread. Its black and white. Most Dubs here have admitted yes there is an advantage but have also explained that it is not the Dubs that decide the fixtures or the venues. I do not know why that is so hard for you to accept.

I have read it, I have been here for all of it. Clearly you have read nothing. I mean how is anyone supposed to take that seriously? You are claiming black is white and night is day. We have all read the thread, we all know that what you have just said isnt true. Who do you think you are fooling?

Your whole attitude is bitter, your points are personal and your argument is biased. That isnt a very good starting point for a valid opinion is it?

More waffle. taek a weeks break from Hogan Stand, come back and read this thread again. You are clearly taking it way too personally and because of this you are blind to what is being said. Take a break man.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 05/07/2012 13:50:27    1210162

More waffle. taek a weeks break from Hogan Stand, come back and read this thread again. You are clearly taking it way too personally and because of this you are blind to what is being said. Take a break man.

Now that is waffle.
Dont worry, I will ignore the fact that you didnt make a genuine respone...

Jimbo,
I dont see how that applies to the guy who started the thread. He made a valid point. You were the guy who started getting personal with people, constantly referring to everyone as culchies and saying he was only making the point because of a personal dislike, and so it is not valid. Well I dont dislike dublin and I share his views. Similarly, to the poster who said it was only weaker counties who were making this point. Last time I checked we beat the dubs in our last big game in croker, and gave them a 20 odd point hiding in the league this year. Yet I still make the point. Cant you see that this is foolish logic? Even if it was only the weak teams complaining, which it isnt because there has been kerry men on this thread too, what difference does that make to the actual point? Surely the point should be taken on its merits and not constantly knocked for anything other than the actual facts of the point? This guy is from a certain place, this guy doesnt like dublin, we dont train there, the dubs dont make the rules, when we play badly it can be a disadvantage (I dont buy that one at all) and on and on and on, with none of it a bit relevant. When all is said and done, the simple underlying point is that playing at home in front of a huge home crowd is an advantage over the opposition. Not training there doesnt make a difference because neither do the opposition. Nobody is saying the dubs make up the rules. Where someone is from doesnt change the facts of the above sentence and neither do personal likes/dislikes, and finally if the dub fans get on their own players backs when they dont play well then that is down to their poor fans. It doesnt change the underlying truth about home advantage. whenyou cut out all the BS that is being put forward youa re left with a team playing at home with huge support every time they play a match, and that is the point being made.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/07/2012 14:11:56    1210182

themaster

You dont half waffle on....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2012 14:29:17    1210211

Jimbo,
the old rural electrification gag eh? Savage stuff!! Is that really the best you can do? At least be original bud, at least be mildly amusing. That stuff is just boring. I'm getting a much clearer picture as to why you spend such considerable time online.

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 05/07/2012 14:47:55    1210232

Oh yes the aul online too much slag.. how original.. HS has never seen one of them before.. haha

Priceless.

Thats built up over years chief... you see we've had the internet in Dublin for sometime now...

We can even access it from our mobile phones dont you know...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2012 14:57:06    1210251

Jimbo,
Doesn't matter what device you're using to access the net the point remains the same, crunch the numbers there now and you might be surprised to see how frequently you're doing it. The first step after all is admitting that you have a problem isn't it? It mightn't be so bad if you had anything interesting to say. Remove culchies, electricity, bypass, up da dubs wha', Croker, bud, chief etc and all you'd have left is a few prepositions. The take home message Jimbo is -Try Harder!!!

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 05/07/2012 15:24:09    1210279

Yeah, Yeah.. getting advice from a fella on the web about using the web too much...

Haha gas stuff. I mean it could be worse... I could also be from Carlow

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2012 15:40:12    1210299

Must try harder..?

The fella going on about post counts?

Please... I mean really?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2012 15:43:32    1210301

You dont half hide behind personal attacks on posters. Come on, it isnt difficult. If the connacht final was in castlebar it would be an advantage to mayo, no ifs and or buts. You see? Honesty is much easier and doesnt take half as long.
Over to you 'chief'...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/07/2012 15:52:42    1210311

1210311 jimbodub

You dont half hide behind personal attacks on posters. Come on, it isnt difficult. If the connacht final was in castlebar it would be an advantage to mayo, no ifs and or buts. You see? Honesty is much easier and doesnt take half as long.
Over to you 'chief'...
________

Here man, listen.

When did I ever say it wasnt an advantage?

In fact I think I started a thread about how the Spring series was a genius move by the Dublin county board as we get all that game time in Coker over the winter. In Divisoin 1 against the likes of Kerry, Mayo, Cork, Down

Of course it's an advantage? again...I never said it wasnt... just putting another spin on it.

Personally I'd love to see our own stadium in place, 50,000 seater... all mod cons, best of facilities for training etc...

Then we could move out of Croker if we're let to of course! and all you culchies could sleep little bit better at night.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2012 16:01:09    1210319

God damn, still whining about this, its all been said!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 05/07/2012 17:01:15    1210392

Never said it wasnt? You were saying everything else but that, for what reason I dont know. So now 1 more dub poster on this thread has, after an excruciating struggle, uttered the words. As I pointed out earlier, if ye just told the truth from teh start this thread would be history.

Here is another nail in the coffin of the counter argument about croker

'Would outnumber the opposition anywhere in the country'
indeed...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/07/2012 17:02:35    1210394

realdub

1210392 God damn, still whining about this, its all been said!

Culchies = whingers

Easily wound up whingers. It's perfect...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2012 17:04:10    1210397

Malonemagic
County: Laois

A point people are missing here is what moving the dubs around could do for local business in provincial towns like wexford mullingar or wherever . Wexford park could easily have accommodated the crowd for a wexford Dublin stand alone game , and wexford s pubs shops restaurants and b and b s would gain . In recession it's the least the gaa could do to help communities . It's also ripping people off by making them pay extra for double headers .

The spending of money by supporters in provincial towns has nothing to do with having an advantage on the pitch
In fact your point embellishes the argument that the dubs supporters are used as a cash cow by the Gaa- so t should the gaa put money in the pockets of provincial town publicans when they can keep the bigger crowd in Croker and keep the extra cash within the association,
It's up to the provincial business's to look out for themselves and the gaa to do the same

bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 05/07/2012 17:16:12    1210417

Master... I was enjoying seeing you calling for my honesty when I've said several times in the past that it was an advantage.

Absolute genius move to get all our home winter games on that pitch... that's where the real advantage lies. Then we can just say

"Well it's good for the profile of the league"

No it's good for us :)

Excellent prep against the big guns. Lots of game time...

Just putting a bit of a spin on it... to well generally annoy people.

It's just the way it is... until Dublin GAA gets a new venue. No point waffling on and on about it so much... I mean it's obvious. Doesn't take much to figure it out...

No need for over elaborate posts. I still think we should be able to train there... it is our home pitch. This will also increase our advantage over the rest of you.

The GAA wont allow championship games in Parnell Park... we need a bigger stadium here in the capital to call our own.

Then sure Croke Park can sit there idle over the winter... but until that day happens, if it happens... you all better get used to it.

Sure it's your very own making the calls... not many Dublin men wearing the suits within the GAA.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2012 17:18:22    1210420

1210319 TheMaster

1210311 jimbodub

Over to you 'chief'...
________

Here man, listen.

When did I ever say it wasnt an advantage?

In fact I think I started a thread about how the Spring series was a genius move by the Dublin county board as we get all that game time in Coker over the winter. In Divisoin 1 against the likes of Kerry, Mayo, Cork, Down

Of course it's an advantage? again...I never said it wasnt... just putting another spin on it.

Personally I'd love to see our own stadium in place, 50,000 seater... all mod cons, best of facilities for training etc...

Then we could move out of Croker if we're let to of course! and all you culchies could sleep little bit better at night.

There is no point arguing with him jimbodub. Its just not registering with the Mayo Master that we are sayng that it is an advantage to the Dubs (neither is the fact that its a question for the GAA and not the Dubs to get rud of this advantage). For some reason those word are just not registering with him.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 05/07/2012 19:49:36    1210538

Culann
Argue, thick as a brick

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 07/07/2012 12:35:53    1211383