But moomoo we were in the same boat as kerry hurling 5 years ago, now we're getting to minor and U 21 finals and winning Leinster underage titles surely you can see that as progress? We were the whipping boys at all levels only a few years ago but now slowly but surely were changing that.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/07/2012 20:01:46
lilywhitemagic County: Kildare Posts: 1037
1212022 Well done clare!! how bad are dublin when you look at galway hammering them in the first half!!
If I was you I'd be more worried about Seanie and the boys being hammered out the gate by a Div 3 outift in the footall championship.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 08/07/2012 20:21:00
MesAmis/Joxer I will take another look tonight but my first instinct was it was a free in. I thought the full back had a hand on his back and the referee will give that every time. But I will have a look and will admit if I am wrong on a 2nd viewing! Joxer the umpires cannot call decisions like that, only the referee and linesman can call that. Another reason why I have said for a long time they should be replaced by up-and-coming referees, ideal place for them to serve their apprenticeship. Do you lads think Daly will be in charge next year, and do you think he should stay on or is it time for change?
Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 08/07/2012 20:43:52
Joxer County: Dublin Posts: 835
1212206 lilywhitemagic County: Kildare Posts: 1037
1212022 Well done clare!! how bad are dublin when you look at galway hammering them in the first half!!
If I was you I'd be more worried about Seanie and the boys being hammered out the gate by a Div 3 outift in the footall championship.
As ever the Dubs turning a blind eye to things. Also Meath played in Div 2 this year not Div 3 same Div as Kildare
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 08/07/2012 20:44:57
moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 1863
we have beaten kilkenny consistently at u14,15,16,minor and u21 what other county has been doing that ? that is were we have been progressing at senior level it has be stalled by anthony daly cranking up the hype machine and taking the credit for wins and distancing himself from defeats
answer to other poster who asked would daly be there next year simply no. if dublin county board open their eyes they will see shay boland is the man for the job he has consistently got the majority of the senior players to perform and today guided the minor team to another leinster title,he has achieved far more then anthony daly already as regards dublin hurling revolution and should be given the senior job
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2012 20:58:22
hill16no1man you are dead right, people on here are jealous at the money Dublin are pumping into hurling, it is of course going to bring resentment and jealousy. But Dublin have been the standard at underage for at least 5-6 years in Leinster and they deserve credit and encouragement for that. It takes time for underage success to turn into adult success and think many on here dont realise that.
Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 08/07/2012 21:02:47
Pinkie County: Wexford Posts: 2082
thats true sure look at it this way if we put that money into football in the county you would have the same people complaining that their is nothing been done for the hurlers so you cant win with some people
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2012 21:06:13
Exaclty. Damned if they do damned if they dont. Hurling needs Dublin to keep going so hopefully this is not the turning point, but rather a blip on the road. There was always going to be such bad days anyway.
Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 08/07/2012 21:30:11
DUBLIN COULD HAVE DONE WITH SEANIE LAST NIGHT DUBLIN COULD HAVE DONE BETTER IF HE HAD OF LINED OUT FOR THEM LOL!!
lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 08/07/2012 21:31:49
Well done to Clare, a man down and they fought till the end. Disappointing as a a Dubs supporter but there are days you have to admit you were beaten by a team who had more desire to win. After last year our hopes were high but that's sport but we have come a long way in the last number of years and there's hope for the future. . The writing was in the wall after the first half where nearly all of Dublin points were frees and backed the wind.
spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 08/07/2012 21:32:53
Pinkie County: Wexford Posts: 2085
true but i dont believe the senior team has delivered on the underage success at all iv been saying this for some time that daly tactics have been poor and he doesnt get the best out of the players, he has yet to achieve anything at championship level other then two wins in the 4 years he has been in charge. i think he reminds me of tommy lyons managing the footballers all hype and no facts to back it up.shay boland has got the majority of them guys to play to their best for him so i think he deserves his chance
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2012 21:37:53
Where art' thou Snuff??????????
Dual County ................. I Think Not!!!!
Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 09/07/2012 08:42:57
paddyogall County: Mayo Posts: 4858
1211796 You cant buy Liam, no matter how hard Dublin try. Even Manchester City would of been ashamed of the craic Dublin were at the last number of years.
For people who don't know what you are referring to, tell us exactly what 'craic Dublin were at the last number of years.' Tell us all and back it up with links proving to us all what you are saying. Its amazing the amount of tabloid rubbish that is written 'as fact' on this site.
Hurling needs new teams and Killkenny, Tip and Cork need to be challenged or the game will die out. We should embrace Dublins break through. We should hope Offaly and Wexford get there houses in order. We sgould be delighted by Galways great win yesterday. We should cheer on Clare, Limerick and Waterford. We should hope that Westmeath, Antrim and Laois can make a breakthrough. That is of course if we care about the future of hurling, the best game in the world.
There are a few Mayo and Kerry supporters on this thread who are very bitter. Don't forget, filleann an feall ar an bhfeallaire.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 09/07/2012 10:08:15
carlowman County: Carlow Posts: 875
1211848 Firstly well done to Clare and Davy Fitz. The Banner was alive and well last night in Ennis. They had the fire in their bellies and met the Dublin challenge head on. The goal was the deciding factor as it gave Clare the momentum to fight harder than ever. The ref was codded and gave the easy decision, but the finish was good. Their defence stood up to all that was thrown at them in the final quarter and they had the legs to stay the pace.
Dublin were again poor by the standards that they set for themselves. The paucity of their attack and the poor finshing of their forwards was disappointing. The wrong options were taken by their players and the Clare defence harried and worked hard to limit the Dubs.
So what now for Clare and the Dubs? Clare will need to replicate that performance to get past the next round and they are definitely capable of doing well and the age profile of the team certailty bodes well for the future of Clare hurling. Well done to them! A powerful display.
As for Dublin, it was a poor display and following on from their game agaisnt Kilkenny the jury will be out for a while on what went wrong. Anthony Daly has brought them to a new level and it will take time, perseverance and determination to get to the level they have set for themselves. Whether Daly is the man to get them there is a matter for future debate. Dublin have put in the right building blocks and it is a matter of confidence from now on for the current players to lift themselves again and make a bolder bid next year. Hurling needs the Dublin team and especially Leinster needs them to power on and be a threat to Kilkenny as Wexford and Offaly have slipped a little in recent years.
A very good and very fair post. I'd agree with every bit of it. Its good to see sensible and fair posts like this after the drivel sprouted by a few here.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 09/07/2012 10:13:38
Ah no winning All Irelands is progress, but if it makes you feel better to think other wise you go do that.
So if a county doesn't win an All Ireland they don't make progress? So only one team in hurling in every competition only makes progress. You should read back over some of the waffle you write before posting it. Basically what you are saying is if Galway don't win the All Ireland this year they havn't made progress - depsite beat Kilkenny
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 09/07/2012 10:17:59
Ye look down on other county's who try to progress at there own level yet turn a blind eye to the fact ye have done very little to shout about
Waffle. I think your prejusices are based on maybe one or two people on hogan stand. That is sad. There is life outside of hogan stand you know.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 09/07/2012 10:21:21
Hill16no1man, You declined to answer the other day I see. What did you think of the infrastructure in Ennis? Big enough for you? Maybe Daly should follow your advice and feed those horses of men some "hey"? What do you reckon clever clogs?
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 09/07/2012 10:21:48
Such a load of tripe being said on these boards. I would argue less than 10 of you know anything about hurling and just come on here to troll. I see nothing has changed on HS anyway. Massive respect to Galway on their fine win against Kilkenny and indeed Clare's win against Dublin. Two big results one wouldn't have bet on at the start of the championship. Greatest game in the world.
Ben12 (Kildare) - Posts: 5 - 09/07/2012 10:28:37
Ladies and gentlemen, Ben12 has spoken!!!!!!!!!! Now he must return to the UN!!!!!
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 09/07/2012 10:34:36
Ben12 County: Kildare Posts: 1
1212418 Such a load of tripe being said on these boards. I would argue less than 10 of you know anything about hurling and just come on here to troll. I see nothing has changed on HS anyway. Massive respect to Galway on their fine win against Kilkenny and indeed Clare's win against Dublin. Two big results one wouldn't have bet on at the start of the championship. Greatest game in the world.
I agree 100%.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 09/07/2012 10:36:20