Clare v Dublin

Heroic last 25-30 minutes from Clare. Really it took the sending off to get them going and as the game started to open out a bit their quality showed. Should have made it a bit more comfortable on themselves, took some poor options towards the end. They can't afford a repeat of their first half against a quality side or they will be punished. Dublin didn't put them away while on top and were relying on Clare indiscipline to keep the scoreboard moving and that told when the Clare defence settled down but Dublin should have had a 7 or 8 point cushion before Clare's revival.

Really big question marks about Dublins future now. They have made huge progress from the early 2000s but really they have stalled at the level they are at now. They still had more than enough opportunities to at least force a draw in the end but started taking pot shots from out the wing rather than working scorable shots. Really like my own county, when the pressure comes on, there just aren't enough leaders. Also Dublin have relied a lot on physicality but when it came to the crunch Clare were winning all the physical battles. Boland at centre back tried hard but really you could tell with 15 minutes left Dublin were gone even though there was only a point or two in it. Its also shows poor league form rarely lies. Dublin have won 1 game from 11 all year against a woeful Laois side.

Dublin have put in great work at underage but that doesn't always translate. Dublin are here to stay as a good side but I have seen it said by many people that given their quality / underage structure Dublin have to win an all-ireland within 5 years. From experience, Galway can tell you thats a dangerous assumption to make. Dublin have a long way to go yet.

Is that the end of Anthony Daly? I think so. Who can replace him? Liam Sheedy? Donal O'Grady? It'll be interesting to see.

Stuckinthepast (Galway) - Posts: 472 - 07/07/2012 20:59:09    1211727

Culann

Absolutely devastated. Congrats to Clare they deserved it but Dublin let themselves down. 4 or 5 points up when Clare went down to 14 men, lots of wides, and lack of bottle is what has disappointed me. I hope this doesn't set back hurling in Dublin. There are lot of good hard working hurling folk in Dublin who will be devestated by this. I hope it is not then end for Daly.

Moomoo and your Mayo mates enjoy your win but beware, filleann an feall ar an bhfeallaire.

------------------------------------------------------

Nothing against Dublin buddy, I've just always had a soft spot for Clare since Anthony Daly gave me a signed hurl when I was a young fella.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 07/07/2012 21:00:27    1211728

ahsure.

1211724 The Daly interview there shows how much it means to him, I'd say that was his last game though. How do the Dubs feel about it?

Absolutely devestated. I am just hoping this doesn't set us back years.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 07/07/2012 21:02:16    1211730

At the end of the day hurling is a game of skill, and unfortunately for Dublin that is where they lack and whats even worse for them is that no amount of money can buy that,

Finally, on a different note, i have to say that i am proud of Offaly hurlin after tonights performance, Wadding made some outrageous decisions but we ran Cork all the way, its club championship in both codes for the rest of the year, and we have to build for next year based on that

hurlinhand95 (Offaly) - Posts: 17 - 07/07/2012 21:03:14    1211732

I could not believe that Dublin couldnt win against 14 men. To our Dublin friends, I dont think anyone sticking the boot into Dalo as he has done a great job with Dublin but to be fair he never utilised the extra man at all. But the reason Dublin lost the game was because their forwards did not turn up. That made it easier for Clare to negate the extra man. They also seemed to have 1 tactic of high balls in to the forwards which the Clare backs dealt with easily.
Hard to know now is Dalo the man to take them to the next level, I dont think Dublin are as bad as they have been this year but been relegated to 1B and a very disappointing championship, it is hard to pinpoint where it all went wrong for them.
I wonder did players put too much emphasis on physicality and forget about the ball work? Because they were physically massive but some of their stickwork today was dreadful.
Dont think Dublin are fading just yet and I think if anything they are still getting stronger. One bad year doesnt mean the end. Keep the heads up lads.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 07/07/2012 21:05:43    1211734

killer_88_

Nothing against Dublin buddy, I've just always had a soft spot for Clare since Anthony Daly gave me a signed hurl when I was a young fella.

To be honest I was referring to 51longago. It was wrong of me to generalise Mayo folk like that. After all there are people like moomoo and 51 every where in the world. Of course you are ebtitled to cheer for who ever you want. I'll be cheering for Davy myself now

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 07/07/2012 21:06:29    1211736

Culann

killer_88_

To be honest I was referring to 51longago. It was wrong of me to generalise Mayo folk like that. After all there are people like moomoo and 51 every where in the world. Of course you are ebtitled to cheer for who ever you want. I'll be cheering for Davy myself now
--------------------------------------

Indeed there are, several of them from Mayo on here unfortunately, or at least claiming to be from Mayo.

Davy Fitz's passion is infectious and thrilling to watch. I'd love to see a special Davy cam during a game, it'd be some craic!!!

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 07/07/2012 21:14:25    1211741

Pinkie we just bet yous last week with 14 men so what's your excuse? Can people from outside of our Nations Capital stop worrying about our hurling team we will be fine in the future.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/07/2012 21:17:24    1211744

Pinkie we just bet yous last week with 14 men so what's your excuse? Can people from outside of our Nations Capital stop worrying about our hurling team we will be fine in the future.

Whats yours for losing tonight? Ye have been building up this team for the last 2 years to be something there not and now cant take it when you see there not what ye have been trying to tell everyone

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 07/07/2012 21:23:26    1211746

clondalkindub, if you read the rest of my post I went on to say exactly the same as you said....as for the football we had exactly the same problem as Dublin tonight - no forwards and far too many wides...also I dont think anyone is sticking the boot into Dublin like you seem to think.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 07/07/2012 21:23:40    1211747

Haha can't take it? Whose says I can't take I'm grand I said well done to Clare fair play to them. It's coming moomoo you don't worry about that, our underage structures will make sure it happens. Sorry I probably should have read your full post pinkie, I just read the first line. Moomoo you need to stop being a hater it will only make you bitter for the rest of your life cause trust me Dublin will dominate in football and hurling for years to come its impossible to stop it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/07/2012 21:37:27    1211753

Haha can't take it? Whose says I can't take I'm grand I said well done to Clare fair play to them. It's coming moomoo you don't worry about that, our underage structures will make sure it happens. Sorry I probably should have read your full post pinkie, I just read the first line. Moomoo you need to stop being a hater it will only make you bitter for the rest of your life cause trust me Dublin will dominate in football and hurling for years to come its impossible to stop it.

Oh its coming is it? Remind me how many All Irelands that underage structure have brought? As iv said before it have nothing to do with hate its to do with not rating them but you can tell yourself its something else if it makes you happy. As for it being impossible for stop Dublin's dominance Kilkenny have done a fairly good job the last 3 championship games dont you think?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 07/07/2012 21:46:19    1211758

Try get this in before forum closes for dY.come on the banner boy as john conlon said it was 20 men performance they play with great spirt guts character the team and supporters needed that and for a team with 4 19 year old and down a player for half the match great stuff it like good days we had we needed the win whatever happens now we got a championship win and in Div 1 A well done Davy COME ON THE BANNER

claremaninkerry (Clare) - Posts: 92 - 07/07/2012 21:50:19    1211763

The ref was really stupid to be conned so easily for that vital 20m free.

What were the 2 "Dummies" in the White Coats looking at ?

Barry Kelly was intimidated into giving a line ball the wrong way ( Clare played just roared and grabbed the sliotar, well woth the try).

Dublin really copped out in the last 20 and got what that deserved, well done Clare

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 07/07/2012 21:59:26    1211776

Congrats to Clare and hard luck to Dublin.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8820 - 08/07/2012 08:51:11    1211785

Why is anybody surprised about these kind of results. Dublin football is on the rise, which means that Dublin hurlings decline is inevitable.
I have said it before there are too many distractions for young fellas in Dublin. They will be fine for minor and win a few U21 but when it comes to Senior I don't believe that they will consistently have a team like Kilkenny have. They are the exact same in football the only difference is that hurling takes a lot more dedication and the Dubs don't generally have it in buckets.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 08/07/2012 09:14:59    1211788

You cant buy Liam, no matter how hard Dublin try. Even Manchester City would of been ashamed of the craic Dublin were at the last number of years.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 08/07/2012 10:06:54    1211796

two poor teams.clare fowards need more ball winners.conlon wont be able to carry them everyday.as for the short passing game clare nearly beat themselves.a lot of the clare fowards look good on loose ball but when it comes to the dirty ball they are nowhere to be seen.backs were impressive and much improved from waterford game.this win will give them great confidence and they will only improve.dublin lost this game on the line.

yankee (Clare) - Posts: 134 - 08/07/2012 10:21:00    1211798

KELF that was as blatant a 21 yard free as I have seen. Jesus I thought Honan was 1 step short of giving your man a piggy back.

Paddyogall it is not a crime to invest money in hurling, I suppose in Mayo it might be seen as one but to be fair to the Dubs they have still done well to have reached a stage that they are disappointed at losing to Clare, albeit throwing a game away.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 08/07/2012 10:56:33    1211809

Don't think the Dubs threw the game away! Clare were by far the better team full stop

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 08/07/2012 11:18:26    1211814