Clare v Dublin

Why wasn;t this fixed as a double header with Clare and Cork in teh football, at least that way you might bet over 20,000 to attend?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 06/07/2012 08:30:38    1210650

Mollymalone - get over it lad - pleanty of counties in qualifer action have to travel away for 7pm throw ins.......christ ye dont have to travel that often and at least ye have a motorway to ennis.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11582 - 06/07/2012 08:59:21    1210655

No public transport, cost of following footballers last Sunday, minor hurlers tomorrow and just in case nobody noticed the National Feile is based in Dublin this weekend. Most Dublin hurling/camogie clubs are hosting our country cousins and trying to show them a bit of hospitality. Having read some of the remarks here I think we'll cut back on dinner for our two country young ones!

CapitalGains (Dublin) - Posts: 40 - 06/07/2012 09:24:44    1210670

yew_tree

Mollymalone - get over it lad - pleanty of counties in qualifer action have to travel away for 7pm throw ins.......christ ye dont have to travel that often and at least ye have a motorway to ennis.

and those countys have proper public transport layed on

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/07/2012 09:30:48    1210675

sedico

1210593 Joxer thats a load of rubbish. There are plenty of fans the length and breath of the country who travel vast distances to follow their team.

Why can't you admit that its shocking that the Dublin GAA fan have deserted their hurlers. Shame really because they do need all the support they can get on Saturday because I'm sure it'll be a real war of attrition.

I know Sedico I do it myself all the time and have been doing it for 20+ years like a lot of Dubs. I'm sure you do it too and were in Tyrone, Derry and Monaghan for your football leagues matches, not having to worry about hurling of course!

If this match was earlier on Saturday I would be there and hurling by the way is not my first love. It's a 6 hr round trip on a Sat night and simply not a runner. Crazy scheduling. I'm sure we'll get the result all the same.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 06/07/2012 09:37:52    1210680

lilywhitemagic

Only 1000 tickets sold in the capital - shocking

the dublin hurlers have no history of having a big support base,i dont get this idea of fans turning their backs on the team.there was no big support in first place.
look at this year,this summer we have had two matches
we played laois in tullamore as part of a double header with offaly v wexford,the overall attendance that night was 7 thousand,around 2 thousand dubs.
we played kilkenny in portlaoise the attendance was 12 thousand,the crowd was very split meaning around 6 thousand dubs.
both of these games were played around an hour or so away from dublin with direct public transport to and from the games.
so 1 thousand for a match 3 hours away with no public transport available and at a time were you will get home after midnight would be what you would expect
its hardly a massive drop in support now is it.this is just a spin off to try and put dublin supporters in bad light and fuel some of the nonsense media attention the wexford fella got last week

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/07/2012 09:40:29    1210681

therealtmo
County: Tipperary

1210570 joxer of course I would travel why wouldnt I. Dublin to Ennis 155 miles, cant see the problem. I was at the Tipp Dublin league hurling games the last two years on a Sat night.

So was I. Dublin to Ennis is over 3 hrs driving on a good day. Thurles to DUblin is no comparison Fans will still be on the road at midnight trying to get back. There are no transport alternatives. Crazy stuff. Why isn't this game on at 2 or 3pm so people can drive the 3 hrs back in light? Isn't that the spirit of having championship in summer?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 06/07/2012 09:45:17    1210685

Our club would normally run a bus to the away hurling championship matches.

This time they are not. Why? Not because they don't want to but the guys are all giving a dig out at the Hurling Feile where the club has 3 teams playing!!!!

Same for all nearly all the clubs around Dublin. Lads are bulling as they reckon a day on the lash in Ennis would have been good crack.

But since they will not be there they will be marked down as not supporting hurling. Strange really.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 06/07/2012 10:17:56    1210709

jez we if dublin were ever too need to supporters it ia for tomo's game but it looking like a small crowd due to the bad timing its a bleeding disgrace 7pm no consideration for families going to it shocking.any way going to be optomistic and say a dubs win by 5+ once we start positive notch up a few points and stay ahead keep a good level of intensity we can prevail....

COME ON THE DUBS !!!!!!

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 06/07/2012 10:30:47    1210727

Interesting to see if Seadna Morey , Aaron Cunningham and Tony Kelly start as they are being rumored to

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 06/07/2012 10:32:05    1210729

hill16no1man

I wouldn't think so unless supporters have buses organised etc - special trains only work and are laid on for all ireland quarter/semi final to dublin -

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11582 - 06/07/2012 11:12:38    1210766

yew_tree

there was a special train layed on for the league match in the football against laois this year surely they could do the same for a championship match
also people are missing the fact that the all ireland hurling feile is on in dublin this weekend most clubs are involved in housing kids and running matches what you want them to do leave the kids and head off to clare?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/07/2012 13:16:39    1210868

So first it was the time it was on then that there was no transport and now its the feile anymore excises??

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 06/07/2012 13:24:28    1210878

moomoo

im pointing out what people fail to realise
that a the hurlers dont get a big crowd full stop
and b that the media are trying to put a spin on the amount of tickets sold saying people have lost faith in the team when that is clearly not the reason

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/07/2012 13:30:22    1210885

Need we remind people this is supposed to be a thread on the game not the turnout or distance etc

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 06/07/2012 13:39:52    1210896

Valid point Lohan.

Doesn't matter if there's 3 people and a dog at it at the end of the day. When the draw was announced i fancied the Dubs, but as the week has gone on i'm not to sure now.....One thing is for certain, they will not be as bad as the last day. It could be a real cracker and i hope the boys in blue sneak it...

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 06/07/2012 14:04:41    1210932

hill16no1man - Thats the joys of following your county on the road - there is always an event at home that will keep some supporters at home. It's not often ye have to travel outside leinster - its on TV for those who can't make it over to ennis anyway.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11582 - 06/07/2012 14:11:18    1210939

Im surprised we have yet to see the non bias view of Jackeen on the matter

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 06/07/2012 14:41:06    1210959

hill16no1man

You definitely need to get out more

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 06/07/2012 14:43:16    1210961

its a bit rich coming from Kerry and Mayo fans about not following hurling teams maybe if ye supported your own teams they might actually play in the senior championship. looking forward to a good game as i am travelling to it i think a big performance is in us after the kilkenny game. is honan going to start for clare do any of the banner lads know i hope not think he is a great man for goals.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 06/07/2012 15:20:55    1210984