Clare v Dublin

The Dubs are very fast to point the finger at other teams who dont travel to games and now when they have to there all excuses......

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 05/07/2012 19:53:01    1210543

Mollymalone

1210515 Just typical of the Media to put their own spin on it .........cop on the lot of ye - the reason why so few are travelln is cos of the 7pm throw-in. A ridiculous time. Try driving that distance at 9pm at night

It's the very same distance at night as in daylight.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 05/07/2012 19:56:28    1210547

It appears that the last train leaves Ennis for Dublin before the game has even begun. I doubt IE will put a special on for this.

If it was a local qualifier it wouldnt be a issue, but a 7pm throw in is a poor decision considering the relative distance from Dublin to Ennis and the fact many of the travelling support would be relying on trains.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 05/07/2012 19:57:22    1210548

moomoo

The Dubs are very fast to point the finger at other teams who dont travel to games and now when they have to there all excuses......

Yeah sure Kery won't even travel to Killarney for a game.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 05/07/2012 19:59:16    1210549

05/07/2012 16:42:43
therealtmo
County: Tipperary

hill16no1man Its called having to travel to a game what every other county has to do, here is the Dubs chance to travel to an away game as ye have all been saying and less than a thousand tickets sold in the capital, just shows what happens when the Dubs are taking outside Dublin.Its a disgrace but fair play to the thousand loyal supporters. Just hope if the Dubs do go on and reach a hurling all Ireland that these loyal supporters get tickets for it.

Do you not remember those great games against Kerry 10 years ago when we brought 30,000 to Thurles? Too young I expect but it did a lot for the Tipp business community I can tell you.

Look some of us have been to Down, Castlebar, Portlaoise with the senior footballers, to Tullamore with the U21s, to Tullamore with the hurlers, all reasonably accessible places and games on at a decent hour, except Castlebar, but Ennis on a Saturday night at 7pm with no public transport is probably a tall order. This would be like Tipp fans travelling to Omagh for a game on a Saturday night. How many Tipp fans would travel?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 05/07/2012 20:05:54    1210554

joxer I remember Thurles I was there right behind M Fitz for that side line kick, unreal. Dont agree with you about people not going because its to far every other county has to do for most games.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 05/07/2012 20:18:13    1210560

how many matches do cork kerryplay in croker at 7,cop on.we travelled to thurles twice in the last 3 years,tulamore last year portlaoise this year.ennis at 7 on a saturday is a joke,i cant make it down this weekend and fair play to anyone who can.look at your own countys first.coybib

dubs4eva (Dublin) - Posts: 484 - 05/07/2012 20:21:51    1210561

dubs4eva

how many matches do cork kerryplay in croker at 7,cop on.we travelled to thurles twice in the last 3 years,tulamore last year portlaoise this year.ennis at 7 on a saturday is a joke,i cant make it down this weekend and fair play to anyone who can.look at your own countys first.coybib

wow ye've had to travel to 5 games how ever do ye cope?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 05/07/2012 20:25:14    1210563

therealtmo

joxer I remember Thurles I was there right behind M Fitz for that side line kick, unreal. Dont agree with you about people not going because its to far every other county has to do for most games.

You didn't answer the question about travelling to Omagh on a Saturday night. Would you do it for a Tipp qualifier against Antrim? Dublin fans travel it's a fact but asking fans to travel the width of the country on a Saturday night with no public trasnport access is ridiculous. You know it and I know. If the game was 2pm then this would be a different story.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 05/07/2012 20:33:54    1210565

joxer of course I would travel why wouldnt I. Dublin to Ennis 155 miles, cant see the problem. I was at the Tipp Dublin league hurling games the last two years on a Sat night.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 05/07/2012 20:48:01    1210570

Joxer thats a load of rubbish. There are plenty of fans the length and breath of the country who travel vast distances to follow their team.

Why can't you admit that its shocking that the Dublin GAA fan have deserted their hurlers. Shame really because they do need all the support they can get on Saturday because I'm sure it'll be a real war of attrition.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 05/07/2012 21:20:10    1210593

therealtmo

hill16no1man Its called having to travel to a game what every other county has to do, here is the Dubs chance to travel to an away game as ye have all been saying and less than a thousand tickets sold in the capital, just shows what happens when the Dubs are taking outside Dublin.Its a disgrace but fair play to the thousand loyal supporters. Just hope if the Dubs do go on and reach a hurling all Ireland that these loyal supporters get tickets for it.

eh if you dont have a car this weekend how are you supposed to get to the match please tell me?
every time culchies travel to croker the gaa make sure iarnrod eireann have special trains layed on for the match now the gaa have this at 7pm and the last train from ennis to dublin is 18.45,and the last bus is before the match ends so please tell me how this is the same?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/07/2012 21:26:47    1210598

therealtmo

are you serious i have my ticket for the match
have no car for the weekend
and the last train from ennis to dublin leaves before the match even throws in
so please tell me how this is the same for kerry cork tipp or any other county when playing.
the gaa always make sure there is special trains layed on for them countys playing so why is this not being done for dublin supporters
maybe you should think of this before pointing the finger of blame at dublin supporters for not travelling

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/07/2012 21:32:46    1210603

How many trains are put on for Donegal Fans when they're headin to Croker?? We don't even have a feckin railway line!!!! Get a lift or a bus and support your County!!!!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 05/07/2012 21:37:35    1210605

Tir Conaill Abu

How many trains are put on for Donegal Fans when they're headin to Croker?? We don't even have a feckin railway line!!!! Get a lift or a bus and support your County!!!!!

there is no bus goes from ennis to dublin according to bus eireann site
you have to get a bus from ennis to limerick and then get bus from limerick to dublin
the only problem being the last bus from limerick to dublin leaves at 8.30pm

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/07/2012 21:46:56    1210615

therealtmo, you obviously havent READ my post properly, this is NOTHING to do with TRAVELLING to support our team. Ive travelled the length and breadth of the country supporting Dublin in both codes , my issue is with the unrealistic time of 7pm...When prey tell do other counties have to travel to Croke Park for a 7 pm throw-in??????Not too often and certainly not for CHAMPIONSHIP....you choose to completely misinterpret my post.....nothn to do with TRAVELLING....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 05/07/2012 21:53:04    1210625

How many championship games have you attended in Croker that started at 7pm Tir Connell?

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 05/07/2012 21:53:40    1210626

It obviously depends on whether you are in a Club or not. I would assume Clubs would run private buses, to be honest this is the best way of the lot to travel particularly if you enjoy a pint and a bit of craic. If you are a non drinker might be best avoided though. Next best plan is make a week-end of it, plenty to see & do in that neck of the woods. Whatever about the Dubs travelling support the match itself could be a cracker, I actually expect a massive Dublin reaction and reckon we could be doing a lot of talking on here about this game post match.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 05/07/2012 21:59:15    1210637

Not surprised by this and not surprised by the Dub supporters comments on here. Lads and this is for the Dub fans, the only reason everyone is having a go at ye is because ye are always first to give out about bad attendances for matches around the country and ye like to blow on about how great ye are to go to matches, well it seems ye are not that great to attend matches outside of yer comfort zone and even croker last sunday. So all everyone is saying is think about this before ye have a go at other county's for their attendances. Just have a bit of humble pie instead of getting all bent out of shape. By the way there is a big difference for us to go to Clones than it is for the Dubs to go to Ennis, it is a much further trip for us so it can't really be compared. Enjoy the pie lads!

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 05/07/2012 22:03:11    1210641

Lads, said it before and say it again, the Friends of Dublin Hurling run buses to all Dublin matches, see link below with numbers.

http://fodh.ie/2012/06/buses-to-ennis-on-saturday-july-7/

Only €10 per adult and €5 per child. Same for every match, League etc.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 06/07/2012 08:29:12    1210649