Clare v Dublin

Bosco

I rest my case.....ruining it for everyone else but work away. I look forward to the day you say something interesting and/or relative to these boards.

Ben12 (Kildare) - Posts: 5 - 09/07/2012 10:41:14    1212431

Ben12

Its depressing maybe we should all vacate the board and leave them at it

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 09/07/2012 10:44:43    1212434

Arock I can't believe that admin would allow some of the serial wind up merchants post on these boards. Years ago there was genuine banter. Now, it seems you are penalised before you even make a point based on your county of origin. Watching these boards recently it's fairly evident who is here for genuine debate and who is here to stir.

Ben12 (Kildare) - Posts: 5 - 09/07/2012 10:53:29    1212439

As soon as this game was fixed for Ennis, I feared for Dublin. Clare have a more than decent record on their own turf. Limerick have suffered a few beatings down there through the years. A tight ground with small capacity & the home crowd roaring them on, Clare often do this. Remember them in 2007 under Tony Considine beating Ger Loughnane's Galway in the qualifiers? I just hope our next qualifier is not on there.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 09/07/2012 10:55:57    1212441

Ben12,
It's not much of a case now is it? What do you expect of an Internet forum? Look, I'm as capable as anyone of a coherent exchange with nothing more in mind than discussing the issues of the day as they relate to Gaelic games. Unfortunately what you are met with most of the time is inane attempts at sarcasm and infantile humour from Dubs who think it' their birth right to look down their noses at culchies. So now and again I enjoy meeting fire with fire and taking them on at their own game. If it's childish they want I can do the whole anything you can do I can do better thing.
You are correct though, 2 shocks at the weekend. Galway beating Kilkenny and in particular the manner of it a major surprise. Home advantage for Clare was certainly a fact I would say wouldn't you? Serves to further illustrate the point made by Aindreas Doyle in relation to the big ball game. Now there's something worth getting worked up over if you ask me?
I look forward to your measured and considered response. Only too delighted to discuss things rationally with you.

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 09/07/2012 11:04:04    1212453

Dublin have no idea or plan in attack. Liam Rushe looks like he never played a hurling match before.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 09/07/2012 11:07:38    1212456

Bosco
County: Carlow

1212453 Ben12,
It's not much of a case now is it? What do you expect of an Internet forum? Look, I'm as capable as anyone of a coherent exchange with nothing more in mind than discussing the issues of the day as they relate to Gaelic games. Unfortunately what you are met with most of the time is inane attempts at sarcasm and infantile humour from Dubs who think it' their birth right to look down their noses at culchies.

Bosco it is quite clear to everyone on here that you have an inate hared of Dubs and all things Dublin. You have a serious chip on your shoulder. Most of the posters on here, who have been around for a long time like myself, will absolutely refute your allegations that Dubs on here are "looking down their noses at culchies". Yes you will get a couple from every county who will wind people up but that's to be expected. Read back on your own posts for starters. The vast majority of people are on here to debate GAA and not to start getting personal with people or generalising individuals from certain counties. Your pathertic attempts to smear the Dubs, from your "alrigh bud", "I dislike Dubs" and "I remember 08 when the Dubs broke shop windows in Carlow" etc. really reflect badly on you and your motives for posting on the forum. if you dish it out then expect to get it back. If you are not prepared to have a reasonable debate and respect the views of others then this isn't the place for you.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 09/07/2012 11:57:33    1212521

Bosco, your post regarding Dublin "looking down their noses" just highlights to me that you post at times just to try to annoy them. It's this us verses them mentality that colours every discussion on HS where the Dubs are concerned. Having read some of your recent posts it certainly seems to be the case that you can't debate the point with the Dubs you just see they are from Dublin and you start having a go. There are certainly some Dublin posters at this too however so I get your whole fight fire with fire deal. I used to post here under a different name years ago But got so sick of The trolls so i left. I now wont answer people, who in my opinion, wont debate the point and there are plenty of them still around. It's the same at the moment with Meath posters and Kildare.

Aindreas Doyle of course has a point. It is definitely an advantage for Dublin but it is what it is. Regarding home advantage for Clare, no I don't believe it was a factor at all. when they went down to 14 men they upped their intensity as so often happens when a team loses a man. I think there was a thread about this recently and I would agree with the OP it's more helpful to a team in most cases. It brings an element of do or die into their mindset. Dublin for their part have been very flat all year. It's hard to know what to think. I took no pleasure seeing them exit in the manner they did and have to wonder at the amount of posters queuing up to stick the boot in not too unlike when Meath beat us btw. The more competitive counties we have in hurling the better. I thought they would push on from last year like many others. I still think Kilkenny are the team to beat this year but was delighted for Galway as they won convincingly yesterday.

Ben12 (Kildare) - Posts: 5 - 09/07/2012 12:12:50    1212544

Bosco

Hill16no1man,
You declined to answer the other day I see. What did you think of the infrastructure in Ennis? Big enough for you?
Maybe Daly should follow your advice and feed those horses of men some "hey"? What do you reckon clever clogs?

declined to answer what?
had to get train to limerick then get a connecting train to ennis going
and on way back got a bus from ennis to limerick and got a dublin coaches bus from limerick city centre home.
maybe daly should take over carlow?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/07/2012 12:18:46    1212553

Whats the story with all the Dublin bashing? Let it go

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 09/07/2012 12:31:02    1212571

Joxer,
I appreciate you taking the time to post and while I disagree with most of what you've posted I respect your point of view. Any derisory comments I've made on here and admittedly I have done so were in response to the tired old cliched comments from your county men in relation to culchies etc. I posted on the issue of home advantage for Dublin and was shot down for being from Carlow, what would I know blah blah blah, internet, electricity etc. Takes two to tango I'm afraid. I apologise if you find the "bud" references offensive but I might refer to the myriad examples of similar coming from your end.
Logic dictates that every county will have their fair share of clowns who upset the apple cart and by extension from that it's reasonable to suggest that Dublin have more than most.
In relation to the anti social behaviour issue from 2002 not '08 well while it might be unpalatable to you it's true. There is a certain element attending Dublin football matches that are a little unsavoury which in my experience is not replicated in any other county. Simply my experience. I know plenty of Dublin supporters who would never choose to attend a match on hill 16. Also true.
As long as people are willing to contribute respectfully I'm more than happy to reciprocate but watch now for the inevitable barrage from those you are defending.
Does it ever occur to you Dubs why so many outside the capital are not very fond of you? Perhaps I'm mistaken but I think there is a sizable contingent who enjoy seeing you stumble and it can't be because you win everything or anything like that. No dig intended.
What say you?

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 09/07/2012 12:31:10    1212573

Bosco

Ben12,
It's not much of a case now is it? What do you expect of an Internet forum? Look, I'm as capable as anyone of a coherent exchange with nothing more in mind than discussing the issues of the day as they relate to Gaelic games. Unfortunately what you are met with most of the time is inane attempts at sarcasm and infantile humour from Dubs who think it' their birth right to look down their noses at culchies. So now and again I enjoy meeting fire with fire and taking them on at their own game. If it's childish they want I can do the whole anything you can do I can do better thing.
You are correct though, 2 shocks at the weekend. Galway beating Kilkenny and in particular the manner of it a major surprise. Home advantage for Clare was certainly a fact I would say wouldn't you? Serves to further illustrate the point made by Aindreas Doyle in relation to the big ball game. Now there's something worth getting worked up over if you ask me?
I look forward to your measured and considered response. Only too delighted to discuss things rationally with you.

hahaha he trys to defend himself and then contradictes himself by having another pop at dublin by dragging doyles comments about the dublin footballers into a hurling debate,you make it worse for yourself pal.
dublin lost to clare because clare were the better team on the night and wanted it more not because of where the match was played.
doyle must be your new hero he has given you a reason to spout more rubbish but yet you ignore a few facts that the dublin minor hurlers and under 21s have played majority of games away from home and won all ireland and leinster titles.dublin have lost 3 football championship matches outside croke park in the last 42 years and have only been playing all games in croker since 2006

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/07/2012 12:31:31    1212575

Hill16no1man,
You were being a bit of smart Alec the other day now with your "hey is for horses" jibe which was a bit off the wall to be honest. Look you sound like you've enough on your plate there so it's best off if we don't get into it I suppose eh?
As regards Daly in Carlow I doubt we'd have the funds for that. Kevin Ryan doing alright regardless.

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 09/07/2012 12:36:21    1212584

Bosco

In relation to the anti social behaviour issue from 2002 not '08 well while it might be unpalatable to you it's true. There is a certain element attending Dublin football matches that are a little unsavoury which in my experience is not replicated in any other county.

I rememeber that day Bosco. The Dubs were playing Wexford in the first round of the Championship and got a bit of a fright - as far as I remember they beat Wexford team that wasn't the strongest at the time by a couple of points. There were about ten Dublin streakers on the pitch that day. The Dubs misbehaved big time that day which was more than likely fueled by a long days drinking. Ireland had a World Cup earlier that morning. That said I remember two local cars pulling up in the middle of the main street that day and lads jumped out and started a fighte with about 50 Dubs. The Carlow lads were given a bad hiding and I remember hoping that no kids were about to see the row. What were the Carlow lads doing starting a row with a street packed full of drink fueled people? Ehat were they expecting? I am sorry Bosco but I think it is very inncoent of you to think that you wont find thugs in any other county apart from Dublin.

Simply my experience. I know plenty of Dublin supporters who would never choose to attend a match on hill 16. Also true.

Do you think the Dubs that spend time time posting on Hogan Stand are thugs? Do you think that anyone who stands on the Hill is a thug. Open your mind man.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 09/07/2012 12:53:08    1212610

Bosco

Does it ever occur to you Dubs why so many outside the capital are not very fond of you? Perhaps I'm mistaken but I think there is a sizable contingent who enjoy seeing you stumble and it can't be because you win everything or anything like that. No dig intended.
What say you?

yeah becuase we are the capital city,its the same in nearly every other country in the world people have a thing against their own capital city mainly because it is bigger and has more amenities.as for people wanting to see us stumble thats becuase the dubs generate most of the headlines and have the biggest support base like most teams in sport people dont like seeing them teams win if you dont support them

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/07/2012 12:56:31    1212617

Culann,
read your own post there again please. You are correct on some of the details but your opinion of who started what etc is meaningless. Your referencing of a long days drinking etc to somehow perhaps excuse this kind of behaviour I find abhorrent.
This kind of incident does not in my experience occur with any other set of supporters.
There is an element in your support that is rather unsavoury just as there is a strong element on here that see it as their entitlement to condescend to others not lucky enough, ahem, to be from Dublin.

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 09/07/2012 13:03:06    1212624

Hill16no1man,
I resent Dublin because it's the capital city, it's bigger and has more amenities? It's the same in most countries is it? Thanks for that I really enjoyed it. FairPlay to you.

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 09/07/2012 13:07:09    1212633

What say you?

I say, I state my case.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 09/07/2012 13:13:17    1212643

Bosco

you say i was being a smart alec this was your original post to me haha you just keep making it worse for yourself dont you

hill16no1man,
should've moved the bleeding feile finals bud!! Sure Dublin are keeping the whole show goin' for all the bleedin' culchies wha'?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/07/2012 13:16:13    1212650

Bosco

Culann,
read your own post there again please. You are correct on some of the details but your opinion of who started what etc is meaningless. Your referencing of a long days drinking etc to somehow perhaps excuse this kind of behaviour I find abhorrent.
This kind of incident does not in my experience occur with any other set of supporters.
There is an element in your support that is rather unsavoury just as there is a strong element on here that see it as their entitlement to condescend to others not lucky enough, ahem, to be from Dublin.

A few things. I am not giving any opinions. I reported what I saw. I don't know why Carlow lads jumped out a car and started punching etc...either do I care. That is what I saw.

I am not excusing any sort of thugish behaviour. It was disgusting. Let me be clear, drink is an excuse for nothing. All I said was that it was probably fueled by an all day bender.

If you think this sort of behaviour does not occer with any other set of supporters you are innocent. A wa#ker is a wan#er and there are w#nkers everywhere.

You speak of condescending people. You should read back over what you have bean writing. You should open your mind a bit. I personally hate when my fellow Dubs speak of 'culchies' and 'boggers' etc.. but it is not meant in malice. Don't take it personally. If you do you will have the problems which are to be seen here. Grow up and grow a bit of skin basicaly.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 09/07/2012 13:16:48    1212652