Clare v Dublin

Dublin will win this, and with a little to spare. Unfortunately. Clare STILL need more time (perhaps playing in Division One in the league will bring them on) and if things click for Dublin they could yet be dark horses for the All Ireland. Daly will know how Clare turned things around in 1995 after an almerciful hammering by Tipp in 94. I believe Dublin have all the ingredients. And in my opinion Daly is a much better manager than Fitzgerald.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 27/06/2012 15:02:24    1203585

I think Dublin will win this reasonably comfortably but they are under an enormous amount of pressure now. Lose this and it could set back Dublin Hurling by years

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 27/06/2012 16:56:03    1203717

if we lose it wont set back dublin hurling years, we have worked hard to make sure juveniles are coming through.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/06/2012 22:01:07    1203994

Clare will win this. I feel it in my water.

Lohansredhelmet

Legend

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 28/06/2012 14:38:38    1204227

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

Southsham
Limerick
03/07/2012
09:59

Clare v Dublin

This is the game I am looking forward the most this weekend. I want to see what Dublin are made of after a awful game against Kilkenny. We know Clare will be fired up for it and are going reasonably well. Hurling is on the definate up that side of the river with there great underage teams the past few years. If Dublin have any aspirations of winning Leinsters and All Irelands they need to be coming out of Ennis with a win, doesn't matter if its by a point or ten a win is all thats required.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 03/07/2012 10:05:15    1208039

Can I just say that I will not be able to post here next week!.....I am telling you all this due to that fact that if Dublin are beaten by Clare I will no doubt be accused of going into hiding as I have been accused before!.......(sure after KK beat us I posted straight away and yet some numpty still accused me of hiding within the space of only 3 posts)!!!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 05/07/2012 14:16:07    1210187

Getting your excuses in first Snuf. :)

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 752 - 05/07/2012 14:47:55    1210231

Dublin will win this, and with a little to spare. Unfortunately. Clare STILL need more time (perhaps playing in Division One in the league will bring them on) and if things click for Dublin they could yet be dark horses for the All Ireland. Daly will know how Clare turned things around in 1995 after an almerciful hammering by Tipp in 94. I believe Dublin have all the ingredients. And in my opinion Daly is a much better manager than Fitzgerald.

Clare took the hammering in 1993 - Munster final Tipp 3-27 Clare 2-12. It was on in Limerick, I was at it.

In 1994 Clare beat Tipp 2-11 to 0-13. Limerick on the other side of the draw beat Cork 4-14 to 4-11 and Waterford 2-14 to 2-12. In the Munster final, Limerick beat Clare 0-25 to 2-10.

So it was 12 months before Clare avenged that monstrous defeat, but 2 years before they won silverware.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6627 - 05/07/2012 14:59:09    1210252

why on earth is the match on so late that no busses or trains will be running even to get you home from ennis
last week we had people complaining about dublin playing all matches in croker well now we have the coomplete opposite they fix the match at a time that makes no sense its like they only want us to attend games in dublin?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/07/2012 15:27:05    1210286

hill16no1man

-------

If you need a bus Friends of Dublin Hurling are your men!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 05/07/2012 16:39:46    1210358

hill16no1man Its called having to travel to a game what every other county has to do, here is the Dubs chance to travel to an away game as ye have all been saying and less than a thousand tickets sold in the capital, just shows what happens when the Dubs are taking outside Dublin.Its a disgrace but fair play to the thousand loyal supporters. Just hope if the Dubs do go on and reach a hurling all Ireland that these loyal supporters get tickets for it.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 05/07/2012 16:42:43    1210365

Snufalufagus It will hardly take you a week to find your way out of Ennis.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 05/07/2012 16:44:37    1210369

Only 1000 tickets sold in the capital - shocking

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 05/07/2012 17:03:02    1210395

Have to say very disappointed with ticket sales for the Dublin Hurlers. I know it was a big disappointment the last day but they've a real chance of doing well yet in the hurling all ireland and personally i can see them reaching at least a 1/4 final. Hopefully there is a decent turnout as they are a decent bunch of players. And to be honest apart from ourselves on Sunday when we clean them out, everyone is getting a trimming from the Cats.......

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 05/07/2012 17:06:05    1210399

"After the performance we gave the last day, you couldn't expect that too many people would make the three-hour trip down," he told The Evening Herald.

So now it's ok for the manager of a Dublin team to use this as an excuse, but when supporters from other counties who have to travel the same distance or more to Dublin bring this up, they are immediately discredited.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 05/07/2012 17:13:28    1210410

Why whats the ratio of football tickets sold compared to hurling tickets in Kildare? Not to mention the opposite scenatio in Tipp? How many sticks do you want to beat us with, we're a football county and everyone knows that. Grow up.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 05/07/2012 17:16:02    1210416

Thats irrelevant realdub kildare hurling while going well at the moment are not in the same league as dublin.dublin have hundreds of thousands spent on the hurlers and marketing of them they hurlers are included in the spring series also and are seen to be making huge improvements which they are but its ironic then when you take the team out of the capital there is not the support for the hurlers if it was in croke park different story altogether.
1000 is bad and daly's excuse is a bad one.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 05/07/2012 17:26:15    1210433

shocking turnout from the dubs

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 05/07/2012 18:53:28    1210497

Just typical of the Media to put their own spin on it .........cop on the lot of ye - the reason why so few are travelln is cos of the 7pm throw-in. A ridiculous time. Try driving that distance at 9pm at night and who the hell is in a position to stay over with people loosn jobs, houses, and all the rest. Just typical of the GAA, no thought whatsoever given to the Throw-In time...Surely an aft fixture would have been fair all round or at worst a 5pm throw-in.....its very annoyin whats writtn in the headlines here to day and in the newspapers.....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 05/07/2012 19:21:42    1210515

Mollymalone what do you think the rest of us do when our county are playing, what about Cork Kerry Donegal or every other county do when they have to travel to Dublin for a 7pm game, its not like ye are doing it every week. Cant believe the moaning out of ye because ye have to travel to a game. may be the next time a thread with the worst supported county comes up here ye might not be so fast to judge other counties.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 05/07/2012 19:47:25    1210536