Clare v Dublin

Will we be able to redeem ourselves??

Hard to see it been possible in Ennis. Davy will have Clare riled up and we have shown nothing so far!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 25/06/2012 09:40:14    1201404

A repeat performance of the muck they served up on Saturday will have us beaten out the gate again.

Clare are a good young team and will come at us strongly.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 25/06/2012 09:42:15    1201405

I think no matter who we got we will struggle. I still hope to male the trip, come what may! Up the Dubs!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2012 09:45:45    1201407

It'll be a struggle all right but if we can get through it it could reignite things for us.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 25/06/2012 09:47:26    1201410

Dublin by 2!

The backlash is on!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/06/2012 09:49:17    1201412

Surely Dublin wont be as meek again to this time humiliate Daly on his old stomping ground?

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 25/06/2012 09:57:28    1201414

If we play like we did last Saturday that's exactly what will happen derfil!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2012 10:04:55    1201418

Tough one for the Dubs.If it was in Parnell Park I would give them a chance but in Ennis? My 2 bob is on the Banner.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 25/06/2012 10:27:13    1201431

Felt so sorry for Daly afterwards. The interview he did with Rte was painful to watch. He looked shattered. It was the worst kept secret in hurling that Dublin had targeted this match foregoing the league and everything else and then to capitulate like that....

There will be a big reaction from the Dubs though and all it'll take is a win against Clare and then Croker is in sight again. I'd fancy Dublin to exit Ennis with a win. Those lads haven't become bad hurlers overnight and Clare will be a perfect team to get right back on track against.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 25/06/2012 10:27:56    1201432

derfil1

Surely Dublin wont be as meek again to this time humiliate Daly on his old stomping ground?

its daly who is humiliating us the weekend,talking about if he rounded up 20 guys at the red cow roundabout they would hardly have done worse
well hes the manager its up to him to have these players in the right frame of my mind to have them at the pace of the game and clearly he is not doing it.
i was delighted to hear eddie breenan at last somebody critising him as daly is quick to take the plaudits after a good performance but seems happy to remove himself from the situation after days like saturday,his calls on the line were terrible a blind man could see liam rushe was getting destroyed and tomas brady was not able for it but yet left the two of them on yes they have done great in the past but on the day they were getting destroyed and he used corcoran and mccormack as scape goats.i think its probably the best draw we could have got as going down to clare daly wont want to lose surely and will now have to work on hurling skills and another gameplan as clearly the long ball to liam rushe was exposed against kilkenny

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/06/2012 10:36:34    1201447

We're a long time waiting for this 'big reaction' from the Dubs. Could it be that because all teams are now giving Dublin full respect and understand their gameplans better, that their shortcomings are being exposed more regularly?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4149 - 25/06/2012 10:45:04    1201459

Snufalufagus

Dublin by 2!

The backlash is on!

I would have taught you would have no interest in the hurling anymore, remember the old saying goes: "An All Ireland 'won' without your Province, is not an All Ireland 'won' at all" Or is that just when it suits you??

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 25/06/2012 10:52:36    1201465

Pope_Benedict

or that the manager has been exposed for only having one gameplan

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/06/2012 10:58:00    1201474

Ideal draw for Dublin, I think they will bounce back and beat Clare.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 25/06/2012 13:54:10    1201705

I reckon we will see a hugh backlash from dublin and I hope on from clare as well, everyone was saying that clare could beat galway last year because they were well beaten in leinster and galways backlash stung hard I can tell you and I would fear something similar from dublin. I just hope clare can bring their own intensity to the game with it being on in ennis (with a crowd I hope over 15000) we could see a real classic!

clareman1991 (Clare) - Posts: 23 - 25/06/2012 13:57:31    1201711

hill do ye think ye will be able to bounce back against Clare? You seem to have lost all faith in Daly which I think is what is happening with the players at the moment.

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 25/06/2012 14:09:43    1201737

I would have very grave doubts we can beat Clare. We were so sluggish against KK. Are we too bulked up and over trained and hence the first touch has gone to pot?

No speed or Plan B seems to exist.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 25/06/2012 14:30:52    1201758

tipptothetop
County: Tipperary

i think we can beat them but this malraky of sprouting rubbish in the papers all week before the match is whats wrong with some of the players lately
you have liam rushe and conal keeney telling all the supporters they have no excuses not to go to portlaoise trying to be cheerleaders instead of focusing solely on the match why on earth would you want to heap pressure on yourselves the week of a big match like that surely they should have been keeping quiet and going into that game under the radar.i think we are a better side then clare but it depends on what attitude they have on the day if we dont play at our best we wont win but if we do play to our best we will.as for daly i have never liked the praise he has got as he has yet to get dublin to deliver in the championship,two wins is all he has realy achieved and this year we have only won one league match between walsh cup,league and championship any other managers job would be under serious pressure,the facts dont lie 3 years running we have been hammered by kilkenny by 19,11 and 18 points so i dont see how he has realy done much for dublin

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/06/2012 16:04:45    1201871

Will Dvy Fitz use Tony Kelly ? Will Darach Honan be given more game time , changes need to be made in the Clare half back line as well , as for Dublin I don't really know where to start at least its not Cork down in the Pairc where we'd have next to no chance of getting a result , a win against Clare would be massive and then if we were to draw say Wexford in the next round and beat them our season would be back up and running and we'd be in a quarter final place , but its a big ask for us to go and beat Clare in their back yard , they are a much improved side and they'll be so determined to end their losing streak in front of their own fans , good news for Dublin is that Conal Keaney injured his hamstring rather than the other dreaded injury which we shall not speak of on this forum

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 25/06/2012 16:14:54    1201880

Its hard it hard to believe the criticism of Daly! When he took over nobody could have anticipated what he has achieved..

A national title, provincial finalists, generally being competitive with the big guns (last years semi final)

The Dubs are being unrealistic! Last Saturday evening was setup perfectly for Kilkenny as they were written off by many to a Dublin side who had just been relegated to division 1b. Why I could never understand...

Kilkenny are dishing out hammerings consistently over the last few years. Daly will leave at the end of this season and it will be interesting to see where this team go then! Maybe to the people who think so little of Daly they will win 5 in a row.

I didn't hear too many Cork lads whining about JBM after the league final debacle! Then again they might know a little more about hurling...

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1468 - 27/06/2012 14:41:27    1203545