Down v Monaghan

Monaghan won the first half 0-11 to 1-2. Down won the second half 0-12 to 1-2. Talk about a game of two halves!

Delighted with the win, I honestly thought it was game over at half time. It turns out our penalty was the most crucial score of the game.

No pressure on Down in the Ulster Final as EVERYONE will expect Donegal or Tyrone to beat Down easy. Just how Down like it :)

AN DÚN ABÚ!

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 25/06/2012 15:02:27    1201808

MourneArmy
County: Down

Monaghan won the first half 0-11 to 1-2. Down won the second half 0-12 to 1-2. Talk about a game of two halves!

Delighted with the win, I honestly thought it was game over at half time. It turns out our penalty was the most crucial score of the game.

No pressure on Down in the Ulster Final as EVERYONE will expect Donegal or Tyrone to beat Down easy. Just how Down like it :)

AN DÚN ABÚ!

The same can be said about TYRONE no pressure DONEGAL expecting to beat Us , not often the underdog just as wee like it! Tir Eoghain abú!

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 25/06/2012 15:08:14    1201814

Duffy is a poor ref and that has been shown before but he didn't give EVERY decision to Monaghan, to say that is just hyperbole. Down got plenty of soft frees also. A few things really stood out yesterday. In the first half Monaghan were absolutely brilliant. Their tackling, in particular, was marvelous. Down were stuck to the ground and were clueless. In the second half we were clueless. Or should I say the management were clueless. I was as gutted yesterday as I've ever been leaving a match but I wasn't a bit surprised and no one who follows Monaghan should be. I think our strongest 15 is a very good team and we would never have got relegated to Div 3 had we had our best 15 available to us. We might have a decent run in the qualifiers. If were playing next week we wouldn't have a hope but with a few weeks off I think we'll have it out of our system. Great venue for the game, the MAG is top class, easy to get to and easy to get out of. On a final note, the mark has to be brought in for kick-outs. Many wonderful catches in the midfield area yesterday which resulted in the player coming down with the ball, being surrounded by opposing players and then getting a free against them. It continuously happens in many games and has to be changed.

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 25/06/2012 15:18:59    1201826

fortyfive

Very true. I'm happy that whoever we play in the final we will be underdogs. Looking forward to the match next weekend even more now. I'm sure it won't be pretty, but hopefully football will be the winner and Tyrone make it through.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 25/06/2012 15:56:35    1201864

I thought Michael Duffy had a good game yesterday and I believe that Down should not have got that penalty as Laverty took too many steps and I believe Monaghan should have go a free at the end because Clerkin was fouled.

Hardasnails (Monaghan) - Posts: 288 - 25/06/2012 16:23:22    1201894

The referee was atrocious, agree about Laverty's penalty though, far too many steps!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 25/06/2012 16:31:03    1201907

Adler
County: Monaghan
I agree with you Adler on two points
The Armagh venue has continually thrown up great games. There is always a great atmosphere about the place. It is handy to access and get away from
I also agree that anyone winning a great catch should be afforded some form of protection. This is one of the great skills of the game. As far the Mark, I'm not sure as it may slow things down. Id rather see refs give more protection to the man winning the ball. What do they expect anyone to do when they win a great catch to be physically overwhelmed with bodies? Why bother attempting to jump when it is easier to stay grounded and win a soft free?

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 25/06/2012 16:36:09    1201919

This is the reason Ulster people are protective of it - where would you get it.
Tyronetim , 24/06/2012 at 18:40
-----------------------------------------
Oh, dear Lord!! He speaks about Ulster football like as if its something special to be protected!!
Ye are as alien to the rest of us up there as the ones which occupy ye if ye think ye have a good brand of football!!

May the ground open up and swallow me whole if Leinster football ever became the aul slobbering pullin and draggin ye get up to up there!!!

They have a 'close game' up there with some last minute dramatice and they think its the best thing the GAA has ever seen!!.....Jaysus wept!!

The whole country? Who elected you spokesperson for the whole country. You have one cheerleader in Dublin hardly a mandate.

Those that occupy you - that's the problem with you Mexicanoes keep bringing politics into a GAA website

Pulling and dragging? Match statistic Tyrone versus Dublin championship 2011 fouls perpetrated by Dublin 36 Tyrone 15;
In 1995 a much bigger and physically stronger Dublin team pulled and dragged for 70 minutes so much so that the much respected Art McRory interviewed immediately afterwards said "I knew Dublin needed an AI just don't know they needed it that bad".
Dublin's renaissance - Many would suggest Caffrey and Gilroy modeled their game entirely on Tyrone - would that be the oul pulling and dragging?
Last year Tyrone were blamed for being naïve against Dublin marking man for man and Dublin well…
The Dublin teams of the 70's 80's and 90's were known for their rugged ruthlessness - Whelan, Barr, Heary, Duff, Mullins, Heffo and on and on……..

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/06/2012 13:37:43    1202524

Lads just looked at the game and the referee had such an amazing impact on that game. In my opinion he was very, very biased to Monaghan for 80% of the game. Down got nothing, they nearly had to die to get a free. That Monaghan goal should have been brought back for God Sake. But the really ironic thing is that he actually gave Down everything in the last 5 minutes after hammering them for the whole game. I reckon he realised how bias his refereeing was and then decided he would even the score but didn't it go horribly wrong for him. On the balance of the second half Down definitely deserved the win.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 26/06/2012 14:00:44    1202577

He was very poor but believe martin carney at the time thought he got the goal right?????
I read today though that he admitted he was wrong which is very rare.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/06/2012 18:03:49    1202962