Cork Boo Boys

I attended the Cork Kerry game last Sunday as a neutral supporter. I must say by the end of the game I was certainly shouting for Kerry which is most unusual I can assure you. The reasons?

(1) For years us Dublin supporters were rightly criticised for a small minority of so called fans (mainly in Hill 16) booing all opposition free kicks. At the match last Sunday, right from the start, every Kerry free kick was booed by quite a sizeable number of Cork fans. I can understand (but not condone) booing of a free kick in a situation where there is a view that it was an incorrect decision or perhaps if there was a feeling that an individual player may be lucky to be on the field but this seemed to be non-discriminatory booing from the start of the game. Also this is not the first time and apparently its par for the course with Cork fans against Kerry. Not exactly a good example to children with us at the match.

(2) Similarly every time a certain Mr. Paul Galvin touched the ball - he was greeted with absolute vile abuse and booing. Nobody claims that Paul is an angel but I have to say that I thought he was very disciplined in view of what seemed to me to be a certain amount of targeting by Cork players to incite a reaction. Again two of his main rivals in a Cork jersey could hardly be described as angelic either and I did not hear booing from Kerry supporters when these individuals were on the ball.

(3) If I can again compare with Dublin, we all remember an unsavoury element a few years ago whereby Dublin players seem to be instructed to get in the faces of their opponents particularly if their marker made a mistake, kicked a wide etc. This was very obvious amongst Cork players last Sunday particularly when Cork clearly had the game won. It was blatant gloating and all I can say is that its not something I want my kids to see. Also it certainly didnt work for Dublin in the long run and I wonder will it come back to haunt Cork later in the year? The biggest culprit in this regard last Sunday to my eyes was Noel O Leary and this was even visible on the Sunday Game later that evening. I sometimes wonder whats going on with "Noely" (as with the episode in the national league when he was urging a Mayo player to stop play acting despite having his head practically taken off!) but he seemed adamant to get in the face of whoever he was marking and even when the ref had a word with him re his antics with Barry John Keane when he came on as a sub he persisted right in front of the ref without censure. He was by no means the only culprit and I was actaully very disappointed by one or two of the Cork forwards whom I would have had big time for prior to this.

In summary, we all know there is a big Cork/Kerry rivarly. It is always a big match but the antics of both the team and supporters left me for one hoping that Cork remain a good league team but big time under-achievers when it comes to winning the only competition that matters.

Views?

billclinton (USA) - Posts: 26 - 13/06/2012 13:11:44    1193418

longford were as bad

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3026 - 13/06/2012 13:21:47    1193431

If you dont want your kids to see it, dont bring them.
Simples
I am sure PG wasnt in the slightest bit bothered so why should you be

Jesus, this whiter than white GAA things stinks to high heaven.
There is more crowd trouble at GAA games than soccer and rugby combined in Ireland, but we love to play the "we are all great friends" malarky!

Look a player who plays on the edge got abuse from fans full of liquor, it happens...get over it!!

Look what happened in Warsaw last night. That is a problem, your scenario, is not a problem.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 13/06/2012 13:28:08    1193441

For years us Dublin supporters were rightly criticised for a small minority of so called fans (mainly in Hill 16) booing all opposition free kicks. At the match last Sunday, right from the start, every Kerry free kick was booed by quite a sizeable number of Cork fans. I can understand (but not condone) booing of a free kick in a situation where there is a view that it was an incorrect decision or perhaps if there was a feeling that an individual player may be lucky to be on the field but this seemed to be non-discriminatory booing from the start of the game. Also this is not the first time and apparently its par for the course with Cork fans against Kerry. Not exactly a good example to children with us at the match.

--------

A small minority, you're having a laugh!!!!..... more like a vast majority.

AthboyGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 13/06/2012 13:31:02    1193443

Unfortunately it is just something that has creeped into Irrish society.
it was thought of just an English trait but then we witnessed the neanderthals in Landsdowne Road booing a Danish player as they had mistaken him for Lovenkrands that played his club football with Rangers.

I get on great with Cork ppl but sadly at the game the last day there was a large minority of neanderthals..mostly in the terrace but a good few in the uncovered stand also.
Hopefully itwill come back to haunt them later on in the year

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 13/06/2012 13:31:39    1193445

I couldn't get over how bad Longford were on Sunday tbh yet every Longford fan I spoke to was genuine and nice... This has crept into the game over last number of years and tbh I think it's a disgrace and when someone says it's not a problem it is small problems not dealt with can lead to bigger problems... The question is what can we do to get rid of it and to be honest I honestly don't think we can and it's here to stay

wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 13/06/2012 13:33:29    1193447

Much ado about nothing.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 13/06/2012 13:35:58    1193452

Very good post. My opinion is that the booing by our fans is fairly embarrassing. I've been attending Cork hurling & football matches for just over a decade now and I can honestly say I've only heard this booing when playing Kerry & when Paul Galvin is in action. It has really been present at Cork/Kerry matches since Galvin stuck his fingers in Cadogan's mouth, which is no excuse for booing by some of our fans. However O' Leary does get similar treatment by a minority of Kerry fans when we play in Killarney so it's not all one-way traffic.

It's a rotten element that has crept into the GAA and we are certainly not the only county who has some idiotic fans who chose to boo players. Paul Galvin is an outstanding footballer but some of his acts over the years have also marked him out as a disgrace at times. Noel O Leary is a player who would die for the Rebel cause & is a good defender, but a lot of his behavior on the pitch is also disgraceful but neither should be booed and I personally have never booed Galvin but sadly I have been sitting near fans at matches who do boo players, its not a soccer match we are at & its embarrassing really. I hope it doesn't continue in the GAA.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 13/06/2012 13:37:17    1193454

Rebel Og, I'm inclined to believe that Leary's reputation is somewhat undeserved. It stems from a couple of incidents with PG, and the subsequent 'Poor Paul' chorus that echoed across the bounds. I've often seen him play club football, and he's not too bad. If PG is taken out of the equation he behaves himself as well as any other inter-county player (ie the odd incident, but nothing major). So I never really understood the rush to berate him, and the absense of a 'Poor Noelie' brigade:)

Now there are others on that Cork team, that I consider much more thuggish. However, I won't name them as I'll try to avoid getting too personal.

The booing crept in the last few years as these teams have a lot of recent 'history.' I have no problem with it. Most of it is good natured. I quite enjoyed it in Killarney last year. PG got booed, then Noelie, and Cadogen. It was pantomime stuff where I was standing. Cork and Kerry people were laughing as they booed, and having the crack with each other. Now if vit's serious, nasty, and hostile, then it's no place for kids. But I've never actually seen that.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 13/06/2012 13:55:13    1193473

This booing lark is mimicking the rugby crowd.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 13/06/2012 13:58:06    1193479

Booing freetakers has been happening for as long as I've been going to matches and I'm no spring chicken. Anyone who says it has only started recently is deluded. The same sort of attitude that sees adults shaking their heads in disbelief at underage drinking when 20 years ago we all know we were out in fields with cans of cider ourselves. None of it is nice but spare us the moral outrage.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 13/06/2012 13:59:01    1193480

It'll always be there and it's growing by the county, only way to deal with them is beat their team and smile at them smugly as you make your exit!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 13/06/2012 14:00:56    1193481

So the question remains though, what were all those Dubs doing in Páirc Uí Chaoimh?

I mean we all know that booing is only done by Dubs so therefore it stands to reason that there was a load of Dubs in Cork last Sunday.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13844 - 13/06/2012 14:01:05    1193482

One way of shutting them up lads stick the ball over the bar, that usually does the trick.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/06/2012 14:10:18    1193490

Who honestly gives a damn about booing?

You are there to support your team and to try and somehow help them get a result.

An opposing free taker being put-off scoring his frees is one way to try and achieve this.

It doesn't seem to make any difference but it happens anyway.

If anything it may actually help the free taker focus.

Get over it!!!

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 13/06/2012 14:10:37    1193491

Any whistling ?

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/06/2012 14:13:12    1193495

I reckon the rugby silence must be much more intimidating. Imagine a whole stadium going completely quiet. You could feel all of them glaring at you!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 13/06/2012 14:31:05    1193509

i think the real topic hear is, why was bill clinton at the match?

meath v carlow there was a large majority of meath fans at the game and there was silence for every free kick taken, and the same when meath were taking them. there wasn't really a crowd behind any of the goals and there usually the ones that do it but it's still nice to see. same with the wicklow game as far as i remember and there was a big crowd behind the goal for that one.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 13/06/2012 14:37:53    1193517

Bill Clinton

In Response to point 1: Is it really that big a deal ? Its a bit of noise that fans make to put off free takers. Yes it probably is unsportsmanlike, I'm a Dublin fan, I didnt boo but i have done at times in the past and i will at times in the future .Once that ball is thrown in, the only thing i worry about or care about is Dublin winning that game. I dont care about the opposition, Same way opposition fans and players dont care about Dublin. So if fans boo and the free taker misses and we win by a point, I know id think ive done my job. Fact is boo-ing will always happen wether people like it or not. No point in moaning about something that cant be changed. Its always going to happen. Instead of maybe looking at the negativity of GAA fans and the boo-ing that goes on, Maybe try look at the positive things. Dublin and Meath dont like each other, But in the lead up to the game, before the game, during the game and after the game the two sets of fans can drink in the same pubs, Sing the same songs, have a laugh and a joke and sit/stand amongst each other without segregation and 99.99% of the time fans can come together and enjoy the spectacle without any disturbance of any kind. Surely this is something we should be praising as oppose to people making noise to put off a player ? ? Do you want 80,000 people on All Ireland final day to sit/stand like they are at the crucible watching the snooker ? It just adds to the atmosphere. And anyway Im sure Free takers love nothing more than being booed and hearing the boos drown out to silence when he sticks a point over froom a free. It might be morally wrong but so what , Even the GAA and GAA people cant be perfect and this snobbery of butter wouldnt melt in Gaa fans mouths is ridiculous.. Gaelic football/Hurling is sport and there will always be rivalries, And where there are rivalries and competitiveness , there will be fans doing what they can to help their side And if boo-ing helps put off players against dublin on their way to success, then i'd keep boo-ing

In Response to point 2: Again, Morally wrong, But is it really a big deal ? Unless Cork fans physically attacked Paul Galvin then i dont see the big deal. These fellas are men, They are thick skinned, They only thing that booing does is spur them on. I'm sure Cork fans have nothing but the utmost respect for what Paul Galvin has achieved and the quality of the player and man as a whole. But for 70 minutes Gaelic football/Hurling fans are like fans of every other sport, they want to see their team win, And any respect they have for opposing players goes out the window. And their job of doing anything within reason to help their team begins. Again as pointed out above, What better than a player like Paul Galvin shutting those fans up by taunting them with his obvious class and sticking a few points over the bar to silence the boo-boys

In Response to point 3: This i do agree with!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13656 - 13/06/2012 14:38:26    1193518

Culchie

1193509 I reckon the rugby silence must be much more intimidating. Imagine a whole stadium going completely quiet. You could feel all of them glaring at you!

Thats spot on.

I don't agree with this booing and soccer behaviour but as a previous poster said, how do we stop it?

Alot of people have had a few drinks and loose the run of themselves, remember GAA is tribal to an extent and for those 60/70 min allthat matters is your team/area.

What I don't like is alot of sunshine fans at games. Was at the All Ireland in 2010 Cork Down.
Was in Quinns beforehand and A man U match on, Lots of tanked up Cork lad screeching and roaring, got chatting to a few and not one could name the starting 15.
"Supporters" like these is what I don't like

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 752 - 13/06/2012 14:55:29    1193538