Meath v Carlow

Seamus Kenny out for the season with cruciate ligament damage to the knee.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 591 - 29/05/2012 21:04:44    1183251

Maestro--are ye serious about king kenny?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1838 - 29/05/2012 21:17:50    1183267

This has to be one of the worst years with injuries for this Meath team. I actualy cant remember a time with so many players injured at once and afew of them out for the whole season. you never know though this could be a blessing in disguise as it gives alot of the younger lads a chance to play now and show that they are good enough and it might also be good against the likes of kildare(if we play them) because the usual meath players have probably gotten used to gettin beaten by kildare recently but the younger players wont have witnessed this so hopefully they wont have any mental block over kildare or have any fear of them at all.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 29/05/2012 21:18:29    1183268

meath all the way ,i never would of said meath had a mental block or fear over any team and especially over the whinge bags oh sorry flour bags that are kildare . asuming we beat carlow , we will beat kildare , with new or seasoned players .

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 29/05/2012 21:41:15    1183306

Yeah heard from someone out in simonstown.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 591 - 29/05/2012 21:47:46    1183314

Ha ha painter, why the confidence? Dreamland my friend, Kildare to beat yous by 5 or 6, thats the best you can hope for, believe me!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 29/05/2012 21:49:48    1183315

I am impressed with alot of the selections, all well meaning. However I am very strongly of the opinion that a fit Stephen Bray should play as a corner forward, by far his best position. Would any of you have played Bernard Flynn on the '40'? Don't think so!! Your best striker should be able to shake hands with the opposing goalkeeper within 5 seconds at any time during a game.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1120 - 29/05/2012 21:52:25    1183318

28/05/2012 18:02:15

ziggy32001

royaldunne

Swap Tobin and Burke and you have it spot on

Yeah ill agree with you there. Swap them then that's team.
Brian farrell did enough to start against carlow. Unfortunately with the players coming back cian looses out but it may be the kick start he needs. Also a few leaving out gilespie? Not sure I would I think he needs game time and did enough to justify starting.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2012 09:31:20    1183381

Thats two of Meaths most experienced players gone.,King and Kenny, a sad day for Meath football

phileasfogg (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 30/05/2012 11:11:50    1183471

I'd agree that Cian Ward has to be the first to go when Bray & Gilsenan come back. In the past though, he has generally saved his best performances for when he has previously been dropped and then felt he had a point to prove. So hopefeully get over Carlow, then unleash him at some point against Kildare when he will be raring to go.
Not sure who else i would drop though. Bray and Gilsenan were our best forwards in the league, so I think that if both are fit then they should start. I suppose Mark Collins would be next in line to be cut. Bit harsh on the lad considering that he did all right against Wicklow. My only worry would be that he would take the hump at being unfairly dropped and decide to walk away. Although maybe it is only the experienced long-standing players who feel it is right to do that

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 30/05/2012 11:19:54    1183484

With both bray and gilsenan looking like they will be fit for carlow and king and kenny gone my team would be.
1d.gallagher
2 d.keogan
3.k reilly(capt)
4.o harrington
5.m burke
6 b menton
7.d tobin
8.c gillespie
9.b meade
10.a forde
11.s.bray
12.g reilly
13.p.gilsenan
14.joe
15 b farrell (free taker)
ps. should meath bring gallagher up to take 45s?

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 30/05/2012 11:53:26    1183526

bobjaffacake

id swap tobin and keogan but id say thats likely what we will see apart from i expect to see cian ward instead of farrell rightly or wrongly

and no on gallagher not great kick outs off the tee never mind the ground

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 30/05/2012 15:30:38    1183776

The joeshow
you could be right re tobin/keogan but i cant see how even banty could pick ward ahead of brian farrell after last sunday but it wouldnt surprise me if he did

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 30/05/2012 15:48:43    1183791

I think Joe should start at 11 with Bray in the full forward line, anyone else think that that Eoin Reilly could make a good wing back with Kenny gone?

bupsy (Meath) - Posts: 23 - 30/05/2012 16:04:46    1183809

yeh id say its much the same they are both similar style just liked the balance on sunday. bupsy just no.
if its on the basis of sudnay no cian shouldn't be in but over last 2 years and goal threat id say we will see cian, like i said rightly or wrongly we won't know till wardy has bust the net or come off

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 30/05/2012 16:24:48    1183836

Mo Fhoireann as 10u Meitheamh vs Ceatharlach........
1. Gallagher
2. Burke (He did well here on Sunday)
3. Reilly
4. Keoghan
5. McAnarney
6. Menton
7. Tobin
8. Gillespie
9. Reilly
10. Meade ( Playing him here worked well on Sunday)
11. Collins ( We need a passer and play-maker in this position)
12. Bray ( He has a free roll to get the ball and run at defenders)
13. Farrell
14. Joe
15. Gilsenan

Forde is unlucky to loose out but he has a similar style to Bray so....

seamusmac (Meath) - Posts: 379 - 30/05/2012 17:56:16    1183937

Cian Ward will be on the GAA's new mid week show tomorrow night.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 30/05/2012 18:26:21    1183964

bettystown , the topic is what ?

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 30/05/2012 19:08:43    1183997

sad to hear that seamus kenny is out for the rest of the season

1ROYALman (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 30/05/2012 19:25:15    1184009

bobjaffacake

With both bray and gilsenan looking like they will be fit for carlow and king and kenny gone my team would be.
1d.gallagher
2 d.keogan
3.k reilly(capt)
4.o harrington
5.m burke
6 b menton
7.d tobin
8.c gillespie
9.b meade
10.a forde
11.s.bray
12.g reilly
13.p.gilsenan
14.joe
15 b farrell (free taker)
ps. should meath bring gallagher up to take 45s?

Good team! Would be my choice too Bray at 11 and Harrington in! Think he is more than capable

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 30/05/2012 21:08:45    1184097