Meath v Carlow

Brutal,

Only for Farrell doing welland getting a bit of luck for the goal we where well bet. No place for Joe Sherdian or Burke, how about getting an attacking wing back.

As for our Keeper always likely to do tha and kick outs so predictable.

Fair play to Brian Meade did well again today along with the Reilly's and Tobin.

Why no fresh legs on this site Banty says he used 19 players I only seen two subs Collins and Queeny

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 10/06/2012 19:14:32    1191147

Fair bad display by meath and against a 13 man carlow team thats fair bad

visa (Limerick) - Posts: 84 - 10/06/2012 19:18:09    1191153

Bettystown royal
I cannot understand how any meath player/supporter could take anything for granted as things stand.
As the manager said himself it is up to him to get the best from the players, it is clearly evident this is not happening.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 710 - 10/06/2012 19:19:19    1191156

hard to believe that we beat this team by 20 points 4 years ago , how have we backtracked that far ? I mean i know carlow have gotten better but lads come on ! its clear we dont have a free taker , something that carlow actually did have . unless we do something quick we wont beat these and certainly wont get past kildare . Meath struggle against any team that runs at them , something carlow coped onto in the second half

M.Simoncelli (Meath) - Posts: 126 - 10/06/2012 20:06:45    1191199

i dont know what the problem is between caoimhin king and banty is or whose to blame but for the sake of meath football they shouid both swallow there pride cos that meath defence needs him.also there has to be a midfielder somewhere in the county we can bring onto the panal.plus we need to look at the sub goalkeeping situation again.we have some great keepers in the county that should be on the panal to push gallagher for his place like david lyons,paddy orouke,coakley from oldcastle just to think of a few

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 10/06/2012 20:32:35    1191216

This must be lowest, against a D4 side playing with 13 men. Heard Carlow threw it away. Cant always be blaming banty

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3187 - 10/06/2012 21:27:07    1191267

was tom walsh togged out today?someone said he was in dugout but i didnt see him.does anyone know when hes back or how long hes out for?hes badly missed in midfield

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 10/06/2012 21:52:14    1191302

The questions that today raised? Anyone got the answers?

- Why did Banty not use his bench when we played the last quarter one man down and certain players were not performing, Graham Reilly was dead on his feet and we had Peadar Byrne as a direct replacement.

- Joe is a full forward. Why was he being deployed further out in the second half. Does not have the pace to track back in my opinion.

- Gallagher- one save to make (didn;t make it) and his kickouts showed lack of imagination.

- McAnarney as half back ahead of Menton?

- Not sure if Ward and Farrell can play on the same team. Lack of tracking back and we cannot accomodate both.

I know there are numerous other question but these are the key ones to sort by next weeked.

DowdtoFoleyGoal (Meath) - Posts: 292 - 10/06/2012 21:54:59    1191307

Agree with your post glenny. Joe not looking very fit, quite slow and not sharp enough. Backs wern't great today, Tobin and Keoghan not too bad. McEnarney and Burke quite weak, sloppy play. Carlow possibly figured out that K Reilly is good with high ball coming in as they sent low balls which didn't suit him.
In the middle of the field Meade, steady performance. The only thing

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 10/06/2012 21:57:33    1191310

BettystownRoyal

I'm glad admin have since edited and made milder your comments on Cian Ward from earlier. I think its time to calm down now and remember that this is not life and death. Citicism is fine and yes, its disappointing but attacks on a player with a hand in probably 10 of Meath's scores is a bit over the top because of poor freetaking. Likewise King. We (myself included) criticised him on here and he duly came out and answered those criticisms honestly. Case closed Betty, no need to call him childish or Cian what you did.

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 10/06/2012 21:58:04    1191311

Sorry hit wrong button. The only thing gillespie done was get sent off. Farrell was hungry and focused 100% and carried the team.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 10/06/2012 22:02:06    1191313

People have to stop deluding themselves Meath simply are not good enough. When you see then lucky to get a draw against Carlow you really see the how far the standard of football have gone down in Meath.

kildalkeyman (Meath) - Posts: 129 - 11/06/2012 08:37:32    1191323

On Gillespies sending off.

Is there any chance that they might appeall his 2 yellows and get them upgraded to a straight red.
He pulled out of absolutly ever tackle and gave no support to midfield. Even Brian Sheridan would have been an option around the middle and half forward line and also offered something going forward.

McAnarney was also very loose and slow to come back down the field after going forward. He's also too quick to go for a score when he gets up there but always takes the wrong option, getting blocked down or kicking it wide rather than give it to the forward in support.

Farrell was very good, and could have had more scores. He hit the post with a lovely shot over his shoulder from a very tight angle in the opening stages. He looks to have gotten the bit of confidence back and fully deserves his place on the team. Delighted to see the persistance paying off. After being taken off after 10 mins v louth and a few similar situations in the past few years (brought on and off again v Laois 2010), shows great attitude and leadership.

Joe was very much off the pace, but hopefully wont be as bad the next day. Our entire half forward only fired in short burst and never gor a grip on the game, so fingers crossed the can hit the ground running next sat.

Overall Im not near as downbeat as some people. there a lot of knee jerk pessimism and doom and gloom, but I personally expect Meath to win the replay with a bit to spare and in hind sight, I can see us going into a semi final with 3 decent, tough championship games under our belt.
For me that is much better than a deceptive high scoring win over Carlow and long gap to the next game.

the biggest downside is the upset to the club fixtures.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 11/06/2012 09:10:58    1191336

kildalkeyman

1191323 People have to stop deluding themselves Meath simply are not good enough. When you see then lucky to get a draw against Carlow you really see the how far the standard of football have gone down in Meath.

I think your being over dramatic in relation to the actual game itself. Meath led right throughout the game. Had pulled 3 points clear and it was Carlow who got the very lucky goal from a huge error deep in injury time.
By all accounts it was very much Carlow who were lucky to get the draw.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 11/06/2012 09:13:46    1191339

Kildalkeyman, I don't fully agree with your damning verdict of the talent available to Meath. Apart from midfield, there is plenty of ability everywhere, just as much as we have in Kildare, and not far off what Dublin have. Its Meath's failure to modernise that is the downfall. No structure, no game plan, and lack of fitness are the problem. Catch and kick football, as much as we love it, is not effective anymore. If Meath get a manager/ guru like Kildare and Dublin have, I'd be confident they would be right up there

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 11/06/2012 09:16:57    1191343

My synopsis of the debacle yesterday.

Cian Ward he blows so hot and cold throughout a match, he should have scored that free to go 4 points up and that was game over, I remember another run he had and he was clean through and elected to pass and another simple pass missed to put a guy in for a goal.

Brian Farell - yes he scored a few but how many 2 on 1's did he not exploit by electing to put the ball over the bar - goals win games but maybe that is a managment decision to stick it over the bar.

Joe Sheridan - Very poor and failed to stop the full back on numerous runs out of defence

Kevin and Graham Reilly - again no fault with these boys

Midfield - destroyed - oh to have a Brendan Murphy - this has been a problem area since John Mc retired

half back and Half forwards - very poor and coughed off posesssion repeatedly in the 2nd half coming out with those stupid short passes

Goalie - the less said the better an U10 would have done better with that shot.

Overall for the number of meath fans that attended - they would have doubled the combination from the other 3 counties it was a painful performance, serious changes need to be made but I reckon it will be more of the same crap next Saturday - can't see too many going to a qualifier match if we can't beat Carlow.

AthboyGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 11/06/2012 09:20:51    1191345

For the next game mark Collins must be placed on the team, he offers far more than the likes of Meade, bray and Farrell- each there because of rep- new players need to be introduced and stop playin players out of tryin to not hurt feelings.... You play the best and not play footballers for there names.... Kerry play this way and I don't under stand the Meath way of playin footballers who don't hav the ability and the skill that others hav to offer,

gaz772 (Meath) - Posts: 42 - 11/06/2012 09:21:00    1191346

I will try to say a few things that have not been said..

First of all though I don't know how Meath were lucky to get a draw,I don't think Carlow were in front at any stage during the game,Meath where 3 points up and Carlow got a jammy goal at the end thanks to a major balls up by the keeper.
Once again this game came down to attitude by the players,but most of all I do not see any effect of Evans and Giles on this team.Over the two games can anybody say what the game plan is??? Finally Meath are not as good as they were,but look at the bench yesterday,5 or 6 of those lads would walk on the Carlow team.
Look the Banty thing has not improved the quicker it ends the better

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 11/06/2012 09:36:09    1191355

Realistic result I think. In fairness there a div 4 team as are we now. Maybe banty is getting the best out of them and maybe we have gone soft. Louth hammered us, lucky to get a result over wicklow and carlow stretched us to the end. Mid field is awful, have to bring a wing forward in to try and carry them, goalkeeping errors not just gally but the last few espically O Rourke. Backs are lost without a Darren Fay. Forwards are selfish and not that good. Bar the two Reillys we could have any club player in there. I would hate if I had kids and had to bring them to this.... Its a grass root problem.

aces (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 11/06/2012 09:39:12    1191356

i thought Bray was in contention to start yesterday

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 11/06/2012 09:41:10    1191358