Meath v Carlow

What changes if any would you like to see?
I can say one thing with absolute certainty, we will not dominate midfield in fact we'll be lucky to break even as Brendan Murphy is one of the top midfielders in the country.
Our forwards will have to be very clinical so hopefully Brayer and Paddy are back.
Lets be honest here, we should beat Carlow but we need to start developing our style of play and improve our efficiency in front of goal.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 28/05/2012 11:56:55    1181738

Something like ...

D. Gallagher
C.King ... K.Reilly ... D.Keoghan
M.Burke ... B.Menton ... D.Tobin
B.Meade ... C.Gillespie
G.Reilly ... S.Bray ... A.Forde
B. Farrell ... J.Sheridan ... P.Gilsenan

Although I also wouldn't mind seeing something along the lines of

G.Reilly ... T. Walsh ... A.Forde
S.Bray
J.Sheridan ... P.Gilsenan

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 28/05/2012 12:42:04    1181802

We Play Carlow in Tullamore in 13 days and the team I would pick is
1.D.Gallagher
2.E.Harrington
3.K.Reilly
4.D.Keoghan
5.D.Tobin
6.B.Menton
7.M.Burke
8.C.Gillispie
9.B.Meade
10.A.Forde
11.M.Collins/S.Bray
12.G.Reilly
13.P.Gilesan
14.J.Sheridan
15.B.Farrell

ThickandTin (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 28/05/2012 13:03:45    1181825

I notice cian ward is not in anyones line up , has everyone gave up on him ?

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 28/05/2012 13:23:06    1181844

Surely you pick a team based on recent form. Even his freetaking isn't as consistent or reliable as before and for some time. While he is playing much deeper at times, I also saw him v Westmeath (second half sub) in Boardsmill and he looked like a stroller. Little interest in getting involved, just do the bare minimum to give the impression he was trying. We picked the same established players too often in previous years and it got us nowhere. New faces, up and coming players with real hunger and enthusiasm bring a new dynamic to the team. Of course Cian will have a big game at some point in the future, but he needs a wake up call all too often. Dropped v Kildare at Croke Park, he responded v Louth in Cavan. But an IC player shouldn't constantly need a carrot and stick approach to get the best out of him.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 28/05/2012 13:47:55    1181879

id have

1. Gallagher
2. Tobin (was outstanding here, why move him?)
3. Reilly
4. King
5. Keogan
6. Menton
7. Burke
8. G. Reilly
9. Gillespie
10. Meade
11. Collins
12. Forde
13. Bray
14. Sheridan
15. Gilsenan

as pointed out on sunday game the reason meade and graham reilly excelled was that graham was being marked by by a big midfielder he could burn and meade was out jumping a half back, keep this the same!!!1 first decent midfield game we've had all year!!

I think after good debuts may swell build for the future and keep collins and forde and keogan and tobin in there and let them grow into inter county

gives you Walsh, Ward, Farrell, Brian Sheridan, Queeney, carroll, mcanarney, lenihan and harrington if needed

players like Brian Sheridan, Tom Walsh and Ciaran Lenihan are all good young players who should make an impact

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 28/05/2012 14:28:01    1181935

To be honest lads, I dont envisage a whole lot of changes for the nest day. Think Keoghan will start for the injured Kenny, I also imagine Collins to be dropped for either Bray or Paddy Gilsenan. Be surprised if Banty makes many more changes to the team. The wicklow management were somewhat naive to allow Graham Reilly to be marked by a midfielder and leave Meade on a smaller half back, I cannot see another team falling for this trick as it was the deciding factor of the game, with both our guys having close to their best performances in the green and gold.
Good stroke to pull by management all the same, wicklow didnt see it coming at all, and was so refreshing to see a midfielder running with the ball for a change.

tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 28/05/2012 14:43:25    1181957

TJS, that may have been the case yesterday (with Brian Meade and Graham Reilly) and who was in effect playing where, despite the numbers on their backs and marked by whom; so more a once off freak scenario as surely against better teams they will have the personel to make switches and nullify any advantage early on. But having Meade and Gillespie spread out towards different wings gives options at kickouts, rather than all bunching up together and it been very predictable.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 28/05/2012 14:46:34    1181960

1 gallagher
2 burke
3 k reilly
4 keoghan
5 tobin
6 menton
7 mcanarney
8 gillespie
9 mead
10 forde
11 bray
12 g reilly
13 farrell
14 j sherridan
15 gilsennan

Just team I'd put out based mostly on yesterday and assuming players injuries clear up

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2012 17:36:31    1182155

royaldunne

Swap Tobin and Burke and you have it spot on

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/05/2012 18:02:15    1182182

Poor oul Carlow, they havnt a hope!

sashman (Kildare) - Posts: 465 - 28/05/2012 18:04:26    1182190

Yeah Tobin in the corner and Burke at wing-back makes way more sense.
Burke will motor up and down the wing all day but you have to be quick to play corner back.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 28/05/2012 18:12:08    1182206

not disrespect to carlow but i don't think they have a hope.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 28/05/2012 21:07:29    1182376

bettystown , i do hope its a decent fight from carlow ,we need every second of match time ,lots of kinks to be worked out

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 28/05/2012 21:14:31    1182386

It is very clear to me that Mcanarney and Burke aren't man markers. Mcanarney was our best player last year from a central position but when he played corner back against kildare in croker he was destroyed, burke is the same, run all day but not a man marker

ki ki musampa (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 28/05/2012 21:56:15    1182459

1. Gallagher
2. Burke
3. K.Reilly
4. McAnarney
5. Tobin
6. Menton
7. Keoghan
8. Walsh (if fit, if not then Gillespie)
9. G.Reilly
10. Forde
11. Bray (if fit, if not then Collins
12. Meade (use the same tactic with Biggy and him for kick-outs)
13. Gilsenan
14. Joe
15. C.Ward

meathforsam09 (Meath) - Posts: 116 - 29/05/2012 08:19:01    1182478

meathforsam09
How do you swap Farrell he was one of our better forwards??

tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 29/05/2012 09:43:05    1182516

Surprised at a so many people dropping Brian Farrell.

He was very good in the first half, and himself and Joe had very limited supply of ball at times in the second half but he still showed well and scored another nice point in the second half aswell.

4 points from play in a decent return, and for me, he done more than Joe and Ward put together, yet lads are still dropping Farrell over them. Doesnt make sense to me.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 29/05/2012 09:53:45    1182528

I hope the game isnt in Carlow again, great support behind the goal on Sunday against Wicklow, all the South Meath crew

bupsy (Meath) - Posts: 23 - 29/05/2012 10:13:48    1182547

change the team up. start lads who didnt start last match. Realisticly we should have more than enough for carlow, no disrespect to them but if were going to contend we have to have everybody with some valuable game time behind them going into Kildare match. Cian ward should start in full forward line and get his scoring boots on.
On Wicklow match. B farrells best game in years. fair play to him. Graham Reilly was fantastic at mid field. Gillespie was lucky he didnt have a better team to contend with, Found out pretty soon. Kev reilly v good.

aces (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 29/05/2012 10:56:54    1182597