What team will choke in 2012??

They got to the final of the league by default practically, Kerry were the better team in the semi final and a ridiculous error to give away a goal led to extra time. Even how we ended up in semi was a bit of a phluke tbh, Dublin had us rattled in the fog game, then they never showed for the rearranged game, we lost to Down, Cork and got humiliated by Donegal.

Galway will win connacht i think and that will put us back in our place. I thought earlier on , we might sneak past Galway but i thought they looked well on sunday. Tbh im not to sure how the connacht final will go , i could be swayed either way (if its galway v Mayo, i think it will be) but there is one thing im positive of we are in no position to challenge for the big prize and i promise you there is no expectation with Mayo people on that.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 23/05/2012 10:29:53    1178596

Galway Hurlers-because they always do. Galway footballers because they havent won a game outside Connacht since 2001. Amazing statistic. Kildare have some fine athletic players but wont win anything yet until they find a few footballers.

kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts: 393 - 23/05/2012 11:04:54    1178630

Bluedubstar, read my post again and you'll find I wrote, "or did they?". The general ribbing yous got after the AI was that it was handed but I don't think it was actually.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 23/05/2012 12:00:38    1178691

Blah this team, blah that team, all I know is, I cut the grass today, took in the scent, got a butterfly in the ned kelly, Championship days lads, they're here!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 23/05/2012 19:36:22    1179149

The Dubs will choke of course...Kerry threw the All Ireland away last sept-dubs dint win it..Wouldnt surprise me if the Wee County beats them!

oakman (Derry) - Posts: 87 - 23/05/2012 20:27:51    1179184

cacsmckilly

Mayo are the chokers surely, they play great football up unitl they have to travel east to Croke Park then the choking begins. The big City Lights, the fast cars, the multitude of ethnic minority's and the availability of electricity and clean running water causes Mayo people to get nervous. Even the fans all look as green as their Jersey when they are seated in Croke Park, nervously watching their team throw it all away again.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Go do some research on Mayo's record at Croker since the turn of the millenium. You just outed yourself as a wum who knows ZERO about football.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 23/05/2012 20:52:14    1179198

1178166 Meath will beat Kildare.

It'll be another year without a Leinster title fr Kildare. Dublin will beat Meath in the final

Kildare to blow it in Leinster.

put away the crystal ball now will you jimbodub its a bit hazy dont you think.

thing is The DUBS could be the team that will slip up this year some cracks are showing time will tell scary days ahead

lillymadfan (Kildare) - Posts: 1085 - 24/05/2012 12:19:16    1179461

Fair point killer, its a pity that Mayo's terrible Croke Park hoodoo was'nt there in 2006!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 24/05/2012 13:38:37    1179557

MesAmis

What's the difference between 'choking' and losing due to the other team being better?

I don't know. For example why isnt anybody calling roscommon's hammering to Galway a "chocking"? Then you have my own county Mayo who according to the usual snide remarks from the media and people outside the county never loose to a better team but rather "choke"?

And who is building us up this year?? Nobody in Mayo that is for sure. The Media darling's are Kildare the past 2 years who have not beaten a top team yet. That is not the fualt of kildare gaels but rather the media.....

Actually if you ask me the media often "choke" with their big match predictions

No doubt roscommon choked. There not a 15 point worse team than anybody in the country. Roscommon threw a Connacht title away last year and gave Tyrone a good game for an hour. I'm not saying Galway are not a better team they are but not 15 points.

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 24/05/2012 15:16:57    1179681

Only as good as your last game Rosfan. It would be better off if ye went with the theory of being 15 points off the pace, perhaps it might get ye training harder. Complete lack of intensity the last day, either management are clueless on the training ground or the players aren't putting it in. I'd go with the former.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1759 - 24/05/2012 17:07:29    1179806