Breffni39

1178239 What about WRC/F1 mechanics?
______

Hehe..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 22/05/2012 17:06:44    1178245

What's the difference between 'choking' and losing due to the other team being better?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13845 - 22/05/2012 17:12:35    1178254

Choking is totally dependent upon expectation.
Many dubs like myself predict a difficult year for us but a quarter final is a reasonable minimum expectation. Much will depend on hunger, selection and whether Gilroy takes a chance on the young talent available.
Cork will be quietly expecting to get back to a final. Pressure will be on them to do so.
Kildare need a big season. Some players are in twilight and a Leinster medal will be expected at the very least. Even if many of their fans refuse to admit it. A time comes for every team and that time has come for Kildare.
Meath face the difficulty of not being embarrassed. Pressure is on Banty to beat Wickla and put it up to the flourbags.
Kerry will seek revenge and will relish a shot at the dubs. They will be aiming for september football. Can beat come in under the radar and make the big step in munster. It will happen but not yet I feel.
Mayo could be a surprise package but can they beat a resurgence in the tribe and can they win big in the capital? I expect Mayo to play one of the so-called big three. Their season will be decided there.
Tyrone are on their way back up. Potential quarter/semi final but I think they need another year.

After all that expectations are highest in Cork, Kerry and Kildare. Dublin will enter the championship quietly in terms of expectation as will Tyrone. Mayo will feel confident and could be a dark horse.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 22/05/2012 17:14:11    1178256

Dublin, Tyrone and possibly Kerry!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 22/05/2012 17:17:14    1178261

Mayo always choke when we lose this is always the case according to everyone.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 22/05/2012 17:20:02    1178264

Lilypad can you give your reasons for choosing these?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/05/2012 17:22:40    1178267

For me it has to be mayo or kildare. One will choke in the end.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/05/2012 17:31:23    1178275

MesAmis

What's the difference between 'choking' and losing due to the other team being better?

Here here, at last, a man with "Cop On"!

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 22/05/2012 17:42:20    1178286

Hard to know at this stage. Much is expected of the old reliables; Dublin, Cork and Kerry along with Tyrone possibly.

Dublin got the monkey off their back last year, it's well known how hard it is to retain Sam so if or when they go out of the championship it'd be hard to attribute it to choking, unless they blow a lead or something like that.

Kildare and choking will largely come down to the expectations and the situation. If we make the Leinster final and lose out to the Dubs in it, then I'd hardly put that down to us choking, sure losing to the All Ireland champions wouldn't be choking it would it? A six day turnaround before the qualifier match would then be another tough ask. Again, unless we're leading a match late on and go on to fall apart and blow, then I wouldn't put us, or indeed any other down as choking.

I'd be interested to know what others would consider to be choking? If a team gets beaten by a better team then is that choking?

Blow a lead, fail to show up on the day, lose despite being at odds of 1/10 to win, then yeah I'd say a team choked. Lose to the All Ireland champs, fail to win a provincial, or go out in the last eight, well unless it comes about in disastrous circumstances then not a chance is that choking.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 22/05/2012 17:46:12    1178295

30 counties plus new york and london are potential chokers. There is only one winner, so its very easy to dress up a loser that way.

However, I think that Mayo will fall away after their league final appearance. Cork will flop v kerry in croke park as usual. Kildare will get beaten by the umpires and the referee again, and take your pick in ulster, bar tyrone, they are a team that can go far. ps the Dubs will get a pasting if kerry play them again this summer.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3855 - 22/05/2012 17:49:02    1178298

Sorry to disappoint you Jimbodub but the only place Dublin will beat Meath will be in the qualifiers. There is one thing you can be certain of with regard to this Kildare team and that is they will not choke, they may get beaten but it will not be for want of trying.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 22/05/2012 17:49:55    1178299

MesAmis

The difference would appear to be dependent on which county it actually is.

Mayo, Donegal and Kildare will choke regardless of how they may actually lose.

All the rest then will only lose because the other team was better.

Bit like Shels choking last night :)

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 22/05/2012 17:55:33    1178303

Choking by definition for me is Dublin v Kerry 09, I'm still getting counselling. If this happens to any of the top 6 teams against each other that's choking. So potentially any of the top 6 teams to choke, we all know the top 6!

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 22/05/2012 17:55:42    1178304

I suppose if you follow the logic of the armchair pundits on here, we could say Bayern Munich are "chokers", that's how stupid this thread is. Its just a lazy mans analysis of a game, or more likely its the best he can do.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 22/05/2012 17:55:52    1178305

OntheWhiteSide

Sorry to disappoint you Jimbodub but the only place Dublin will beat Meath will be in the qualifiers. There is one thing you can be certain of with regard to this Kildare team and that is they will not choke, they may get beaten but it will not be for want of trying

So is that the difference then? Trying?

So if a team is trying and loses then they didn't choke but if they're not trying and lose then they've choked!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13845 - 22/05/2012 17:56:22    1178306

Lockjaw

1178149 None taken Liam and I can see where you're coming from. The thing is though that in previous years under different management I would have agreed. For example in 2006 we got to an AI QF and narrowly lost to Cork. Then in 2007 we blitzed everyone in the league and won it. Come championship time Tyrone demolished us in Ulster before we tamely bowed out to Monaghan in the qualifiers.

This year again much is expected of us. I agree that it will be difficult, particularly to retain the Ulster title. Teams will be planning on how to overcome our tactics and judging from comments here on HS a lot of "neutrals" would be delighted to see us fall flat on our faces. But there is a steely determination in this group of players that I've never seen in a Donegal team in my lifetime. They are extremely fit and powerful, each man knows his role to a tee and it is a very hard team to break down.

My prediction for us this year is hopefully another Ulster title and I'll be happy to see what the QF brings us.

I have to agree. This is a very serious and very hungry Donegal outfit, so so focused and they fear nobody.
Most teams would be on a high after winning Ulster, but not these boys. They were out training again and working hard. They fact they are so young is worrying for other teams too, as it is unusual to bleed so many players in successfully in one go.
I think they will retain Ulster, and i think they could take Sam if the Force is with them ;-).

If they address the issues McGuinness spoke of after the Cavan game, then they will be around come August/September.

Dublin would be natural favourites to choke, being reigning champs. But i think Kildare will.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3045 - 22/05/2012 17:59:53    1178312

If people call a team chokers does that mean they've underachieved? Because I've seen posters say here that their teams should have deserved better and all they get is stick for being delusional or overconfident. You either get what you deserve or you don't. Ye can't have it both ways.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 22/05/2012 18:21:32    1178329

MesAmis

I don't know. For example why isnt anybody calling roscommon's hammering to Galway a "chocking"? Then you have my own county Mayo who according to the usual snide remarks from the media and people outside the county never loose to a better team but rather "choke"?

And who is building us up this year?? Nobody in Mayo that is for sure. The Media darling's are Kildare the past 2 years who have not beaten a top team yet. That is not the fualt of kildare gaels but rather the media.....

Actually if you ask me the media often "choke" with their big match predictions

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11998 - 22/05/2012 18:51:55    1178350