Crowd Attendance

because people would prefer to follow hurling and rugby instead.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 10/08/2012 19:23:46    1243083

BettystownRoyal

hillman you have 10 times donegals population and most of you can walk to it. they have to drive approx 4 hours to get there yet they didn't bring too many fewer than the dubs. for now at least they're the best fans in the country (well better than dublin anyway!)

at the top of page 18 of this thread you said YOU KNOW DONEGAL BROUGHT MORE THEN DUBLIN TO CROKER LAST WEEKEND
now you say THEY DIDNT BRING TOO MANY FEWER,for a ticket distirbutor in croke park your certainly getting your numbers confussed.
but they didnt have to travel 4hours to their own home ground when they played derry and their was only 11 thousand that day at the match those that mean they are bandwagon jumpers?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/08/2012 20:20:04    1243130

funny thing is a lot of them still had to travel for nearly an hour to get to that derry game. they weren't to many more dubs at your first game this year either and my point is donegal population 10 times smaller than dublins and huge distance to travel. donegal support nearly as big as the dubs! funny how more donegal fans went to the quarter than the ulster final but more dubs went to the leinster final! typical glory hunting dubs!

and it's ok but you can keep ignoring that in terms of population donegal support is about 10 times better than yours!

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 11/08/2012 18:02:48    1243435

hill why do you keep comparing donegal and dublin..dublin have no excuse for not having way more support than donegal..they live beside the stadium and have a massive population advantage

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 11/08/2012 18:22:47    1243447

BettystownRoyal

and it's ok but you can keep ignoring that in terms of population donegal support is about 10 times better than yours!

If you are gonna make silly statements like that maybe ye should look at leinster attendances with the dubs over the last 3years and then look at ulster attendances by donegal over the same period,

I still think donegal do have a great support and add great atmosphere to the big matches ,this is to betty who wont shut up about it.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 11/08/2012 18:43:41    1243458

dublin attendances over the last 3 years have decreased dramatically from what we were used to for 20 years before. donegal on the other hand have increased theirs.

if donegal were as badly supported as dublin in terms of population ratio they would of had about 3000 fans in croker! maybe leitrim are the best or some other county such as longford but dublin are probably the worst despte claims from lads like hillman that you're the best :)

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 12/08/2012 08:38:41    1243586

BettystownRoyal

1243586 dublin attendances over the last 3 years have decreased dramatically from what we were used to for 20 years before. donegal on the other hand have increased theirs.

if donegal were as badly supported as dublin in terms of population ratio they would of had about 3000 fans in croker! maybe leitrim are the best or some other county such as longford but dublin are probably the worst despte claims from lads like hillman that you're the best :)

Every county in Ireland has issues with support at certain matches and at certain periods of time.Because of population in Dublin,I can understand that people would expect their to be more at certain matches , last weeks double header being used now as the stick to beat Dublin with,and yes i would have liked to see more in the stands, the hill while not jam packed had great support as usual.
The Dubs have had great support and attendances when we were winning nothing (remember it was 1995 the last one), so if the support increased in the last 2 years everyone would say its only cause of allireland sucess. there is no way you can gauge a counties following on population alone,
Truth is northern counties bring great support to Croker generally, i dont know what their league attendances are like, or early ulster championship matches as regards population to fans turning out ratio.
All i know betty is i go to most minor /21 and senior away matches and The Dubs have a good hard core support that go to every match no matter where its played, maybe the amount looks low compared to population but that is to simplistic an arguement.
One thing we are not is one of the worst supported counties in Ireland.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/08/2012 12:00:28    1243619

BettystownRoyal

funny thing is a lot of them still had to travel for nearly an hour to get to that derry game. they weren't to many more dubs at your first game this year either and my point is donegal population 10 times smaller than dublins and huge distance to travel. donegal support nearly as big as the dubs! funny how more donegal fans went to the quarter than the ulster final but more dubs went to the leinster final! typical glory hunting dubs!

its amazing how you assume a lot of donegal people have to travel over an hour to their home ground but all dubs have to do is stroll to croke park
you dont think any dublin supporters live down the country at all?what about going from skerries or balbriggan to croker or from saggart or stillorgan ?
for 1 match yes donegal had support big i agree but what aboutthe rest of the year and their league matches how many bothered to watch them?
glory hunting dubs haha when we were winning nothing we had croker full so how is that glory hunting your off your head pal

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2012 15:07:59    1243772

ffgg
County: Longford

hill why do you keep comparing donegal and dublin..dublin have no excuse for not having way more support than donegal..they live beside the stadium and have a massive population advantage

if you read the posts i am rsponding to bettystown royals sposts and he keeps trying to compare donegal support so what am i supposed to do not mention their name like ,i never said we have an excuse or not all i did was state the fact that their was more dubs donegal supporting their team as betty said their wasnt.
so dont have a go at me over it read back and see for yourself

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2012 15:10:28    1243776

BettystownRoyal

dublin attendances over the last 3 years have decreased dramatically from what we were used to for 20 years before. donegal on the other hand have increased theirs.

your numbers are wrong again you said over the last 3 years support dropped DRAMATICALLY compared to the last 20 years,well clearly that is not true.
during the 90tys their was 40-50 thousand at all matches thats what it has gone back to it was only from 2002-2009 that the numbers swelled massively
they as we all know where the years of the celtic tiger and people had money to go to all the matches.
you seem to also not acknowledge that the dublin league attendaces have increased massivley their was 33 thousand average at the league matches you would have been the first to call dublin sunshine supporters at least acknowledge that the hardcore support for dublin has risen since the move to croker for league matches

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2012 15:18:13    1243785

you are acting like a child..of course dublin are going to have more support than donegal but it should not even be close..dublin has a massive population and due to public transport and various other things croke park is very accessible and dublin supporters never have to travel in the championship so it is unacceptable for any county to come close to their attendence numbers....compared to other counties dublin has quite poor support..even my own county has pretty good support considering we have a very small population

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 12/08/2012 17:13:06    1243865

Lads there is no point trying to talk logically to hill on this topic. Everyone knows that Dublin have the biggest population hence they will have the biggest attendances, plus all they have to do is get up, have the breakfast their mother made for them and jump on the luas to croker. They are ok to travel out of the metropolitan area for one or two games a year but after that forget about it as shown in Ennis this year.

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 12/08/2012 17:28:34    1243883

tipptothetop
County: Tipperary

Lads there is no point trying to talk logically to hill on this topic. Everyone knows that Dublin have the biggest population hence they will have the biggest attendances, plus all they have to do is get up, have the breakfast their mother made for them and jump on the luas to croker. They are ok to travel out of the metropolitan area for one or two games a year but after that forget about it as shown in Ennis this year.

The intercity train even, or the bus ;) The Luas doesn't go to Croke Park, closest stop by my reckoning is Jervis?? Point taken.

As regards to the best support, yes Donegal do have a fantastic support, but if they had been in the latter stages of the AI's consistently would their support be as good? I think not. Look at the Kerry support, only a foolish man would call their support poor. I saw elsewhere the costs of following Kerry in all their league champo games and it was upwards of €1,000 (ticket costs, travelling costs and cost of food during the day, which is disgracefully high at Croker). Durnig the recession, even during the Tiger, it's unfair to ask Kerry bring 30,000+ fans to each game. Same with Dublin, but obviously on a bigger scale. When they're playing in Croker 7/8 times a year you can't expect upwards of 50,000 at each game, especially not against the likes of Laois (no disrespect intended).

Just as a matter of interest what was the Donegal support like pre-McGuinness era? Have the attendances rapidly shot up in the last year? Should Donegal be as consistent in Croke Park appearances in the next 3/4 years I would be simply astounded if their support remained as good.

Finally, a word to Betty and Hill16 man. Betty, your constant snipes at Dublin are embarassing, please stop, at this stage most people don't even consider your opinion anymore, likewise with Hill16 man, by far and away the most disillusioned Dub I've ever interacted with. Grow up lads.

throw_it_over (Galway) - Posts: 769 - 12/08/2012 18:44:41    1243945

throw_it_over

The intercity train even, or the bus ;) The Luas doesn't go to Croke Park, closest stop by my reckoning is Jervis?? Point taken.

Connolly/Busaras the closest stops to Croker.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 12/08/2012 19:00:23    1243963

W'ere always told all the dubs playing now are culchies, their parents are culchies , well where do all these culchies live.
when it comes to population and attendances ,and giving out about our support dublin all of a sudden is full of dubs.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/08/2012 20:29:02    1244053

ffgg

you are acting like a child..of course dublin are going to have more support than donegal but it should not even be close..dublin has a massive population and due to public transport and various other things croke park is very accessible and dublin supporters never have to travel in the championship so it is unacceptable for any county to come close to their attendence numbers....compared to other counties dublin has quite poor support..even my own county has pretty good support considering we have a very small population

are you serious how am i acting like a child when the meath guy who proclaims himself to be THE TICKET DISTRIBUToR FOR CROKE PARK comes on here after 1 match trying to proclaim dublin are the worst supported team in ireland and donegal are the best supported team in ireland and you call me a child haha,so im not allowed respond to his post and give the facts is that it?
well its very strange to me that of all the sports teams in ireland dublin have the largest crowds over the last decade and that includes the national teams of other sports in this country but everybody from outside dublin says we have terrible support

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2012 20:59:32    1244086

AthCliath

exactly no dub lives outside dublin and has not to travel to a match either and exactly tey clearly wont except that as a capitla city you have half of your popuation is not actualy from here you only have to walk down o connell street or any street in town and see how many nationalites are living here or go to any school or garda station and see how many country people work in these places,

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2012 21:03:26    1244096

of course dublin have the largest support as its the capital city and the most populated place in ireland by a country mile how could they possibly not have more support than anybody else??.the point is per head of population dublin have very poor support a lot of the time and especially considering how all their championship games are at home

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 12/08/2012 21:10:09    1244107

one study reported there are 220,000 non nationals leaving in Dublin, god knows how many culchies are living in dublin,all of a sudden the pick gets smaller and smaller , ha ha.
Down and antrim have a population over a million people between them, but they have the same problem in that over half the population wont be declaring for them anytime soon.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/08/2012 21:17:48    1244113

ffgg

of course dublin have the largest support as its the capital city and the most populated place in ireland by a country mile how could they possibly not have more support than anybody else??.the point is per head of population dublin have very poor support a lot of the time and especially considering how all their championship games are at home

so your point is because there is x amount of people live in dublin that (A) they all are from dublin (B) they all should support dublin gaa teams
thats what you base it on ok then with that an alogy the irish soccer and rugby teams and leinster and munster rugby teams must have terrible support is that what you think?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2012 21:19:15    1244115