So you think there was more Donegal supporters in HQ on Sunday than there was dubs on sat night Betty?!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/08/2012 19:08:12
i don't think i know.
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 07/08/2012 20:11:22
BettystownRoyal County: Meath Posts: 2859
1241214 i don't think i know.
What were the figures?
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 07/08/2012 20:16:04
Hill16 were u at croke park Sunday? seemed to be alot more than 3000 cork fans from where i was on the hill. how many Kerry fans there? Donegal had huge numbers a great crowd. Looking forward to the 26th already!
rebelfi (Cork) - Posts: 76 - 07/08/2012 20:39:33
BettystownRoyal County: Meath Posts: 2863
as i said above i was not complaining i was just stating the GAA made a lot more money off Donegal being in the quarter than Dublin. And if a team is playing Dublin why would the fans go to the hill. The abuse you get is just not worth it.
but back to my point, ok maybe there were very few there from laois. but there were even less from cork the next day. and kerry were just as bad. then there was kildare who weren't much better supported than mayo. but in total there was still more at the donegal game. my point is donegal shouldn't be able to come with 15,000 supporters of dublin yet alone beat them. they have a 4 hour drive on average compared to a 20 min walk/drive/train on average for the dubs.
i realize meath's support isn't great although it is better than most counties but you have to face the facts that Donegal are the best supported team in Ireland!
Imagine if they all lived within 30 mins of croke park. they would nearly fill the place.
but people always complain dublin get the cheaper option by having the hill tickets and other countys should get canal end tickets for the same price well its no wonder the gaa dont open the hill when dublin are not playing when the four countys opt to pay ten euro more into the stands. we have heard so much talk of ticket prices being too expensive well when the option to pay ten euro less was there only 500 hundred of the 56 thousand choose to use it.there was more cork then laois there i can guarantee you as there was only around 500 laois .and the main page says that cork sold 3 thousand tickets for sunday. ah now come off it kildare had around 15 thousand do you seriously believe mayo had that on saturday.down were the next best supported on saturday and they had 5 thousand so where your getting mayo had big support is beyond me,your not making any sense by saying donegal shouldnt be able to beat dublin if you mean in supporters i cannot see where your saying that they did as dublin had 45 thousand on saturday and i agree donegal had big crowd but not 45 thousand.its amazing when dublin played league games in parnell park and only had 10 thousand at them games then when the championship came and we were filling croker people were calling dubs fair weather supporters yet donegal do something simliar for 1 big championship match and you call them the best supported team,this was one match betty what about the rest of the year does that not count,remember the national league dublin had 33 thousand as an average for the spring series what was donegals average at home matches? dublin had 31 thousand,49 thousand and 70 thousand for their leinster games wat had donegal? they had more at croke park on sunday then to home match against derry in ulster so does that not show they get the crowds for big games only
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/08/2012 21:36:43
Hillman, are you still at it....have you an inferiority complex or something.....get a life lad...!
Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 07/08/2012 21:40:37
rebelfi County: Cork Posts: 39
1241248 Hill16 were u at croke park Sunday? seemed to be alot more than 3000 cork fans from where i was on the hill. how many Kerry fans there? Donegal had huge numbers a great crowd. Looking forward to the 26th already!
no wasnt there sunday,on the cork crowd i saw it on the main page they have a report on cork getting a discount for supporters to go to both semi finals and said they brought 3 thousand to the football only.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/08/2012 21:41:55
1241152 ok hill i'll put it a different way.
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 2213
1240844 BettystownRoyal County: Meath Posts: 2855
i realize meath's support isn't great although it is better than most counties but you have to face the facts that Donegal are the best supported team in Ireland!
Imagine if they all lived within 30 mins of croke park. they would nearly fill the place.
Think donegal had a great crowd and support like last years semi and great atmosphere ,fair play to them ,your last line betty is just a stupid statement.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 07/08/2012 21:51:01
I see that now hill16. An estimate of 3000 fans in other words there guessing. of course they didnt mention the cork v kerry game attendance of 23,000 mainly cork supporters or cork v tipp 32,500. Their obsession with cork support is getting boring!
rebelfi (Cork) - Posts: 76 - 07/08/2012 21:59:42
Lifford Gael County: Donegal Posts: 1440
1241307 Hillman, are you still at it....have you an inferiority complex or something.....get a life lad...!
how have i an inferiority complex,i have nothing against your county i agreed it was a great crowd ye had on sunday im not trying to say anything against ye im just defending my own county against a meath man who is trying to say our support is bad when it clearly is not im just giving him the facts to prove my point thats all
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/08/2012 22:00:56
1241214 i don't think i know.
How do you know?
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/08/2012 09:02:24
jackeen because i'm head of tickets distribution for croke park!
Hill16 but people always complain dublin get the cheaper option by having the hill tickets and other countys should get canal end tickets for the same price well its no wonder the gaa dont open the hill when dublin are not playing when the four countys opt to pay ten euro more into the stands.
Hill I don't care what other people say i don't say that so why are you bringing that up. the hill was 60% full when kildare played down in 2010. other counties do in fact use it just not as much as dublin do.
we have heard so much talk of ticket prices being too expensive well when the option to pay ten euro less was there only 500 hundred of the 56 thousand choose to use it.there was more cork then laois there i can guarantee you as there was only around 500 laois .and the main page says that cork sold 3 thousand tickets for sunday.
There were not more cork than Laois at the match if anything about the same. There were over 1000 of them at the meath laois game you really saying half that went to croker??
You're saying there was only 7,000 between neutrals, Down, Mayo and Laois. There were over 15,000 so at most you had 35,000 dubs. The leinster final just under 50,000 dubs. Not great for a county with 1.5 million living in it.
dublin had 31 thousand,49 thousand and 70 thousand for their leinster games wat had donegal? they had more at croke park on sunday then to home match against derry in ulster so does that not show they get the crowds for big games only
I'll correct that. Dublin had about 20,000 at Louth double header, 25,000 at meath, kildare, wexford double header and under 50,000 at leinster final. over 30,000 for laois. i don't care what you say that's terrible for a county the size of you say.
at the very worst donegal were 5,000 short of that so my point is a county so much smaller than yours almost equalling your attendance is the better supported. oh and your the all-ireland champions no excuse.
leinster rugby was getting 40 plus thousand of their own fans out for big league games and heineken cup games! you're not even the biggest team in dublin anymore :D
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 08/08/2012 18:34:54
BettystownRoyal
haha you just get better betty you are now the ticket distrubutor for croke park haha your priceless. there was 3 thousand cork it says on main page and anybody in croker saturday will tell you laois hadnt got anywhere near that crowd. if their was only as you put it 50 thousand for dublin v meath does that mean meath are bandwagon supporters as they had very small crowds for all their other matches this year and then you say 20 thousand came out to play us.at its amazing you say we only had half the crowd at them double headers but yet if you look at the stadium during the first match of them double headers why is the stadium empty did the other countys supporters only come in for the dublin match ? no donegal had great support but for one game this year we have turned out for all games and especially league matches we had 33 thousand average attendance for them support goes by all year not just 1 match. now the last comment is just priceless leinster rugby plays in the rds haha so how were they getting 40 thousand in a stadium that holds 18 thousand 500 people. they had one league match in the aviva against munster and two heinken cup matches in the aviva so how can they be getting 40 thousand for their matches. remember we had 33 thousand average attendances for our league matches and more at our championship matches since so leinster rugby is behind dublin in attendances
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2012 09:51:33
Hillman.... I said I wasn't goin to get involved in this ridiculous debate but I can't let one of your last remarks go unchallenged - that Donegal only had big support for one match...the game against Kerry....we had 18000-20000 at Ulster Final in Clones, 12000 for Ulster semi final against Tyrone in Clones, the majority of the crowd for prelim game in Cavan....all games where supporters had to travel 2.5 - 4 hours depending on what part of the county one was travelling from.
I reckon it's time to drop the subject once and for all....personally I don't give a toss what county has the best supporters, as far as I know there's no medals being given out for it.... I just don't get your obsession of having to have the final word about why Dublin have the best supporters....who cares...!
Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 09/08/2012 11:12:05
A slightly silly debate. My tuppence worth is that Dublin support has fallen off since last year because people were waiting so long for us to win it! Also - and no offence to Laois - I know a fair few who decided not to go last week, who did go to Leinster final and will go to the semi-final.
As for Donegal, people know they have a good team and are coming out for them. Lifford is right, as proporton of population Donegal support is massive. And sure half of Leitrim was in Carrick for their games.
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 09/08/2012 11:34:32
Every county could argue they have the best supporters. I think the supporters who deserve the most credit are the ones who turn out at club and county level even when they know there is little chance of them winning. I'd like to see support increase in all counties , it would be better for the games . Still money is tight and people have to make choices I understand that.
I have my tickets booked to Dublin VS Mayo for me and my two girls .Adult ticket 40 Euro which is a bit steep but 5 Euro for the Under 16 tickets is still reasonable. Have to say the family area is well thought out in Croke park is plenty of toilets nearby, baby changing facilities (never too young to bring them) and of course snacks/food. The Dubs are blessed to have Croker on their doorstep its just a pity we don't have more going to the earlier games in the season. They are often more entertaining than the finals. I am so looking forward to this game against Mayo.
spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 09/08/2012 12:46:03
Lifford Gael
lifford i didnt bring up donegal or the arguement in general bettystownroyal did and decided to have a go at dublin supporters by using donegal as a means to his frustration,i only responded to his points on donegal support base.i have no problem with donegal supporters and i am not trying to have a go at them i am simply just stating facts in response to bettystown royals arguement and as regards my remarks to donegal supporters it is true that donegal played derry at home in the ulster championship and there was only 11 thousand at the match so what i was saying was that bettys point about donegal having to travel to croker and would have filled it if they didnt live so far away is not a real fact as they didnt turn out at home for matches in that kind of numbers and playing kerry is a bigger match which draws bigger crowds thats what i was pointing out.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2012 13:38:45
spmccann
i agree but we had massive crowds for league matches when other countys dont bother so you have to agree the harcore support of dublin gaa has increased over the last few years
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2012 13:41:17
hillman you have 10 times donegals population and most of you can walk to it. they have to drive approx 4 hours to get there yet they didn't bring too many fewer than the dubs. for now at least they're the best fans in the country (well better than dublin anyway!)
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 10/08/2012 18:41:38
Why do Cork Footballer have such a bad following?
portavogielad (Down) - Posts: 446 - 10/08/2012 18:52:16