Connacht Championship 2012

Its in Castlebar, thats how it works in Connacht, home/away basis, we played sligo in championship last in sligo in 2010.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 09/06/2012 20:55:41    1190561

Jackeen

Without doubt, Galway bottled it. Sligo are a raggle taggle outfit including their best player who is from Mayo.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 09/06/2012 21:00:32    1190564

51 maybe Leitrem might have something to say about that, typical mayo counting the chickens

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 09/06/2012 21:00:54    1190565

If Sligo got home advantage then they would have to play it at a neutral venue because their home is too small. Its in McHale park young fella.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 09/06/2012 21:02:43    1190570

Well i tell ya culmore id put my very life on it.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 09/06/2012 21:03:29    1190571

culmore

51 maybe Leitrem might have something to say about that, typical mayo counting the chickens
-------------------------------------------------------------

If it were in Carrick-on-Shannon fair enough, they gave us a fright there in 2006. But do you honestly think Leitrim will beat Mayo in Castlebar. I personally can't see it. Mid table Division 4 just isn't good enough IMO.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 09/06/2012 21:04:32    1190573

Fair enough 51... wasn't quite sure how it worked

bitchesandhoes (Sligo) - Posts: 118 - 09/06/2012 21:05:00    1190576

patronising again O'Gall "youngfella" !!!

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 09/06/2012 21:07:30    1190579

I was wrong & delighted i was wrong. Some display by Sligo & sorry Mayo fans but every neutral will hope Sligo or Leitrim can go on and win Connacht now.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3993 - 09/06/2012 21:24:08    1190592

09/06/2012 21:04:32
killer_88_

culmore

If it were in Carrick-on-Shannon fair enough, they gave us a fright there in 2006. But do you honestly think Leitrim will beat Mayo in Castlebar. I personally can't see it. Mid table Division 4 just isn't good enough IMO

While i think Mayo will beat Leitrim are you not counting your chickens? 2010 Mayo were beaten by a mid table Div 4 Longford that had only beaten Kilkenny,London.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3993 - 09/06/2012 21:29:32    1190604

Fair play to Sligo, they were the better team, i certainly didnt see it comin.

The reason i would be confident of a mayo win in the west this year is because of home advantage, i dont think people realise how much of a fortress it is for mayo, in my lifetime of watching Mayo play in Mchale in connacht i can only remember been beaten 4/5 times, 2008(galway), 2002 (galway),1998(galway),1987(galway),1986(roscommon) we won it in 85 and i cant remember before that.

My point is mchale park is a massive advantage for us.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 09/06/2012 21:39:03    1190613

4 points:-

(1) (I posted this on the Sligo forum). As far as I am aware all Connacht Finals are played in Hyde Park as it is the "provincial ground". The exception is Galway vs Mayo who maintain their home and away arrangement. Can anyone confirm or otherwise? I'm not certain about this, but "pretty sure".

(2) I have maintained that over the last 6-7 years the best team in Connacht when playing at full-tilt is Sligo, but they are dogged by inconsistency and are prone to over-confidence, e.g. well-beaten by my own lovely Leitrim last year. They showed it again yesterday they have a hard-running game and when in full flow no team in Connacht can hold on to them - had out-scored Galway by 11 points in the second-half at one stage! Assuming Mayo are in the final, I'll say this much - the match is all about Sligo, if they turn-up and play at about 90% of their capability, they will win. If it's Leitrim, they will win at 70%.

(3) No over-confidence or 'bottling" on Galway's behalf yestserday. Have Sligo not beaten them the last two time's they played? Galway even levelled after a period of Sligo dominance. Clearly the better team, and by the way Galway are no bad team.

(4) I see someone beat me to it - LONGFORD - Divison 4 mid-table team?!!!!! - did they not dump Mayo out of the championship only 2-3 years ago? Don't think Leitrim will do it, not this year (will be a lot stronger in the next couple of years). But a bit of caution would be appropriate!

Solo Run (None) - Posts: 317 - 10/06/2012 10:20:44    1190684

A 5th point!!!

I have to say over the last 5-6 years the Connacht Championship has been very entertaining with lots of excellent matches, particularly 2010. Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo and Galway have all won it recently (unfortunately Leitrim have not done so or got to a final since 2000, ah well!!). But you have both New York and London giving nearly all of the other 5 plenty to think about at some stage. Leitrim playing their part, beating Sligo, scaring Mayo and having some rough encounters with Ros (first-half in Roscommon in 2010 was great football (even Spillane thought so)). The tougher it is the better for all Connacht teams in the long run, way better than the old Galway/Mayo procession (with Roscommon an odd time).

Solo Run (None) - Posts: 317 - 10/06/2012 10:34:12    1190690

Last nights result proves why we all love Gaelic Football.......anything can happen. In fairness I know a few Galway lads who were worried that Galway were made to look too good after hammering a dreadful roscommon team and so it seemed to be.

Galway have a lot to learn under their new manager and a team will have setbacks. We in Mayo surived our "setback" last year when we nearly got beat by london - would horan still be mayo manager if london had beat us??? Its a fine line between success and failure. I still think Galway will be hard beat in the qualifiers.

Sligo were brilliant yesterday evening and fully deserved their win and they wont fear mayo or leitrim that is for sure.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12122 - 10/06/2012 10:45:45    1190695

I cannot understand the confusion over the venue for the Connacht final.every team in the province play on a home/away basis.since Mayo played Sligo in markevic in 2010 then if mayo beat Leitrim the final will be in Mchale park.then only exception to this is if Sligo or Leitrim are in a final and have home advantage.their grounds are deemed unfit to host a provincial final so they nominate to play in another ground.eg 2010 final where Sligo had home advantage v ros but played in castlebar.should Leitrim beat Mayo then the final will be either in the Hyde or Mchale park.as far as I know it would be sligos call as they played Leitrim in Carrick last year.

jono (Mayo) - Posts: 350 - 10/06/2012 11:03:23    1190703

Ok Jono, I see what your saying.

(yewtree - I copied this from your response on the Sligo forum)

I think you are wrong. Mayo played roscommon at the hyde in 2001 connacht final, mayo played ros in castlebar in 2004 final. The only way this game would have been in a neutral venue is...if sligo were the home team as the sligo venue is not big enough to host a connacht final. Since mayo played last away to sligo, the connacht final will be in castlebar (assuming we get over leitrim that is).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks, so, if its Mayo, its Castlebar. If it's Leitrim, its Leitrim's choice................I suppose Cloone would be a non-runner!!!

Solo Run (None) - Posts: 317 - 10/06/2012 11:17:07    1190707

Hooray at last people realise how the venue system works in connacht.

Castlebar...july 15th.....Mayo v Sligo......Mayo retain nestor at a canter and equal Galway for nestors.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 10/06/2012 11:39:35    1190716

Gaa_lover
While i think Mayo will beat Leitrim are you not counting your chickens? 2010 Mayo were beaten by a mid table Div 4 Longford that had only beaten Kilkenny,London.

Yes they did, but it's 2012 if im not mistaken... Look if you think leitrim are going to beat mayo in castlebar that is ur business. The reality is it is very unlikely. This whole idea of counting chickens is rubbish. Do you think for 1 second that sligo werent preparing for galway before they played NY? The chicken counting fairly paid off there dont you think?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/06/2012 11:57:04    1190728

51 longago,alot of us knew the situation re the system but instead if being a smartass I chose to explain it to those who did not understand.i must add,should Leitrim beat Mayo then it's possible that Connacht council will fix the venue.unsure on this.

Also I am almost certain Mayo are currently 2 behind Galway on the Connacht roll if honour with Galway 44 to Mayo 42.

jono (Mayo) - Posts: 350 - 10/06/2012 12:07:17    1190739

Gaa_lover
County: USA

09/06/2012 21:04:32
killer_88_

culmore

If it were in Carrick-on-Shannon fair enough, they gave us a fright there in 2006. But do you honestly think Leitrim will beat Mayo in Castlebar. I personally can't see it. Mid table Division 4 just isn't good enough IMO

--------------------------------------

Yeah but you cannot compare Mayo in 2010 and Mayo now. 2010 was the lowest ebb in Mayo Football in my memory. Kilkenny would have given us a good rattle that year. We're in a much better place now and I just can't see an average Division 4 side beating Mayo. Sorry if that comes off as arrogance but I can't see any way or series of events that would give Leitrim a good chance in this game. Sligo in the Final though, they're a different proposition.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 10/06/2012 12:44:07    1190764