Connacht Championship 2012

London now favourites at evens... Leitrim @ 11/10 with PP... Thats a huge shift in the space of a few days... Still fancy Leitrim to win but there must have been a flood of money on the exiles this week

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 31/05/2012 08:28:32    1184160

the one big change I saw with London last year was that they were a much bigger stronger team than previous years and this made them a lot more competitive, if as said previously Leitrim aren't a very big team I would rate London's chances a bit higher, think Geraghty though is a big loss from last year was a great target man.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 31/05/2012 09:13:01    1184176

I agree Rosineri1. Geraghty is a big loss, although Mulvey is a fine replacement. I'm still surprised they're not starting Paul McDermott though, another strong physical player.

Can't believe PP have London as favourites!

scruff (UK) - Posts: 467 - 31/05/2012 12:32:43    1184359

tight game on Sunday, Leitrim just about deserved the win, London will be very disappointed with a number of wasted frees in the first half which would have given them a bigger half time lead.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 05/06/2012 13:06:10    1187233

Agreed.. plus for the second year running they ran out of steam..

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 05/06/2012 18:06:01    1187560

05/06/2012 13:06:10
Rosineri1
County: UK

tight game on Sunday, Leitrim just about deserved the win, London will be very disappointed with a number of wasted frees in the first half which would have given them a bigger half time lead.

-----------
It was 5-2 until London's purple patch 1-3 in 5mins. I think Leitrim kicked 8 wides in row in the second half that made it look like closer game. The key for Leitrim was they never paniced when behind. London seemed to take the wrong options & ran out of ideas.

Saying that a good draw for London in round 1 & they will fancy there chances to cause another upset.

This weekend i'm expecting Galway to reaching the Connacht final.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3993 - 05/06/2012 18:59:32    1187614

Mayo's fairly rockin at the moment lads.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 06/06/2012 12:53:44    1188094

Both teams named for Saturday.

Galway: Adrian Faherty; Kieran Mc Grath, Finian Hanley, Keith Kelly; Gareth Bradhaw, Johhny Duane, Gary O Donnell; Joe Bergin, Greg Higgins; Gary Sice, Damien Burke, Thomas Flynn; Sean Armstrong; Paul Conroy, Mark Hehir.

Sligo: Philip Greene; Neil Ewing, Johnny Martyn, Ross Donovan; Charles Harrison, Mark Quinn, Paul McGovern; Shane McManus, Eugene Mullen; Brendan Egan, Pat Hughes, Alan Costello; Stephen Coen, Adrian Marren, Mark Breheny.

Unchanged team for our lads. Saturday is a big test now. The Rossies did not turn up at all, whereas i fully expect Sligo to throw the kitchen sink at us. I do expect this to be a tight game and hopefully we come through with the win.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 06/06/2012 13:27:11    1188143

Galway, what a let down. They bottled it. Well an easier Connacht final for Mayo.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 09/06/2012 19:36:19    1190462

Galway were friggin useless to put it bluntly. Just give us the nestor cup now.

Galway bay fm before hand " the mood in galway is mighty, there was a legends function and evryone was saying Galway football is back and on the up" ffs hahahahahahahahahah, how do Galway, way with ye back to the small ball

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 09/06/2012 19:49:52    1190485

I will let the Mayo Wums play with fire. Because the Galway ones did and they got burnt... let it be a warning

bitchesandhoes (Sligo) - Posts: 118 - 09/06/2012 20:05:14    1190505

Jaysus bit of Mayo arrogance showing now, I don't expect Sligo to lie down for ye, risky comments to be making

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 09/06/2012 20:08:44    1190510

Jaysus yis are gas!! Which one of you two Paddy or 51 were tipping Galway for the AI this year?! And now you're sticking the boot in? So very fickle. Hard luck Galway but well done Sligo. By all accounts Marren was superb for ye. 2-6 he scored was it?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/06/2012 20:15:13    1190519

Jackeen

I tipped them Jackeen which is why I am very upset, I mentioned they bottled it, because they did. They should of won this match.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 09/06/2012 20:20:48    1190527

bitchesandhoes
County: Sligo

We might bottle it in All Ireland finals, but make no mistake a Connacht final in McHale park we will not. Saying that I hope Sligo fans show up in numbers, it will be good for business in the town.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 09/06/2012 20:23:04    1190530

Paddy, did they bottle it or were Sligo just better?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/06/2012 20:29:49    1190537

bitchesandhoes
County: Sligo
What do you mean by that? Are you not allowed to think your county will win a game they are odds on to win?

Mayo will win nestor at a canter imo and im not changing my opinion just of the fear of looking foolish on an internet forum.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 09/06/2012 20:31:31    1190539

One of the most ironic things ever on Hoganstand has to be someone from mayo calling Galway bottlers. LOL..

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 09/06/2012 20:34:20    1190540

Well paddy i don't know if you took time out of your busy schedule's of spouting S*** to sit down and watch the game but there was some very good football played from both sides, as well as some bad periods of football... especially from a sligo point of veiw passing the ball around the danger area which will need to be looked at. Finally what notion do you have of it being in Mchale park ? I've heard nothing yet and before the Galway game it was to Be played in Pearse. So now paddy , do yourself a favour and sit down.

bitchesandhoes (Sligo) - Posts: 118 - 09/06/2012 20:38:23    1190543

Jaysus who expected that???? Still confident enough Mayo will win Connacht but Sligo have put the cat amongst the pigeons there!

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 09/06/2012 20:44:10    1190550