Connacht Championship 2012

thanks marooned had galway tipped for connacht..will be a interesting final if its mayo and galway.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 20/05/2012 18:33:44    1176457

Looks like Galway mean business this year. How many here think they could beat Mayo? They'd have no reason to fear them that's for sure.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 20/05/2012 18:42:36    1176467

i think this year could be like championship 2010 where there was shocks and upsets and the underdog seemed to win thank god for that 2011 very bad year for gaa boring if you like.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 20/05/2012 18:50:23    1176472

The underdog won last year too lily!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/05/2012 18:56:51    1176477

Galway would never fear Mayo, i doubt it anyway but neither will Mayo fear Galway.

It should be a great final, i would still be confident enough of sneaking a win in Salthill. Roscommon were so terrible today, its hard to know exactly how good they are but they were clinical and played some decent football.

Our defence would never lie down like ross did today, it was embarrassing to even watch as a neutral.

Before i get lambasted for disrespecting leitrim and Sligo, i really cant see them troubling Mayo and Galway.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 20/05/2012 18:57:46    1176479

From a Roscommon point of view (well my view really), Yes Roscommon were terrible today. Worst performance since Mayo in 09, I thought those days were behind us but It was every bit as bad. Lateral fistpassing and aimless ball into our forwards. Shine missed 2 easy frees as well and he was just not at the races. Roscommon were absolutely clueless it was embarassing. Balls dropped, at times unable to even put their foot under the ball, poor defensively, Conroy had acres of space. All that said Galway were very good today. Nobody knew what to expect but they were direct, fast and relentless in tackling. Also they gave quality ball into their forwards. I dont think they hit that many wides today either. Sligo will be primed for this now they have seen that performance but I think if Galway play as well as that, they will win the connacht championship. As for Roscommon, its back to the drawing board.

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 20/05/2012 19:24:34    1176512

Galway were slick today in everything they did , highlight of the day was Meehan's point when himself and Joyce linked up and he slotted it over with his right peg , CLASS , I can see those two lads in the starting lineup for Galway in the not too distant future , thought Galway's midfield was unusually strong plus they've young O'Curran to come back in there , Bergin was rolling back the years today , the defence was very tight McGrath , Kelly , Hanley , Bradshaw and Duane who is a quality distributor of the ball were all class , Duane struggled in two instances with the pace of Cregg but he wont come up against many faster in the championship , the only other players who could do what Cregg did to Duane are Darran O'Sullivan and Paul Kerrigan , the caveat is though , that the Rossies just didn't play and thats all that can be said abouth their performance

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 20/05/2012 19:33:23    1176521

All, anyone feel Sligo could give Galway a game?

500notout (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 20/05/2012 19:37:46    1176529

From a Roscommon point of view (well my view really), Yes Roscommon were terrible today. Worst performance since Mayo in 09, I thought those days were behind us but It was every bit as bad. Lateral fistpassing and aimless ball into our forwards. Shine missed 2 easy frees as well and he was just not at the races. Roscommon were absolutely clueless it was embarassing. Balls dropped, at times unable to even put their foot under the ball, poor defensively, Conroy had acres of space. All that said Galway were very good today. Nobody knew what to expect but they were direct, fast and relentless in tackling. Also they gave quality ball into their forwards. I dont think they hit that many wides today either. Sligo will be primed for this now they have seen that performance but I think if Galway play as well as that, they will win the connacht championship. As for Roscommon, its back to the drawing board.

Very quick to dismiss Mayos chances in that analysis. Fair enough though, we'll have to wait and see.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 20/05/2012 19:48:11    1176538

First time in a long time I have been impressed with Joe Bergin, he was flawless today..

As regards to Meehan, he can't play 60 minutes due to the condition of his ankle. Joyce and himself are good impact subs. I see Fintan O'Curraoin coming in for Greg Higgins if and when he gets fit.

We can't rest on this today, Roscommon where very poor.. Sligo will be dangerous, we seen that in 2010 in Pearse Stadium when they came away with a draw and in all honesty should have won. Time to get the head down, get back training and keep building.

The aim is still the same, a day out in Croke Park and to win our first game outside Connacht for 8 years.. yes, 8 years.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1779 - 20/05/2012 19:49:09    1176540

I do think if Galway beat sligo and play like they did today, few teams would live with them. They were fired up today no question. Make no mistake, Galway want a crack at Mayo. If they do play like that I think they would beat Mayo.

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 20/05/2012 20:15:19    1176583

Congrats to galway today. Were worthy winners they looked sharpe fit and hungry today and played some very enjoyable football. As for the poster saying wont beat mayo, if galway can keep the that form up they will give mayo a good run for there money...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 20/05/2012 20:49:14    1176629

Well done to Galway today and for playing the game the way it should be played, if only Donegal would take note.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/05/2012 21:43:34    1176710

They have taken note clondalkindub.They will have a long Summer.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 20/05/2012 21:47:52    1176715

Great win for the tribesmen yesterday.. Roscommon were as bad as they were in Castlebar a few years back and werent helped by losing Finneran early on. They made a lot of unforced errors and looked well off the pace of the game in all departments.. Particularly in defense... The amount of space they were conceding was unbelieveble... But credit to Galway.. U can only beat whats in front of you and they done that very well...Conroy done well at 14... McGrath at corner back impressed as well as did Hanley... That defeat will set the Rossies back big time... Its onwards and upwards for Galway but they will get a much sterner test v Sligo and K Walsh... They need to push on from this now... there are still question marks over Galways midfield for me but they will be full of confidence going into the remainder of the championship

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 21/05/2012 08:53:25    1176758

Well i was not expecting that yesterday. I was fairly confident that we would get a narrow win but i was suprised at the display by the sheep stealers. They just did not seem interested at all. Very disappointed from that point of view, however very very pleased with our display. Conroy was superb up front, Higgins and Bergin had a good day. The backs did well, but to be fair they were hardly tested. And to see Joyce and Meehan on at the end and the way they combined for Meehans point and then Sice's goal was a joy to behold.

But we have to take it one game at a time. That result will mean nothing if Sligo beat us and i'm sure Kevin Walsh will have his homework done....Roll on June the 9th...

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 21/05/2012 09:54:00    1176818

Galway have turned the corner. The Rossies were woeful but Galway I thought gave there best performance in years.
Gaillimh Abú.

Maroon13 (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 21/05/2012 12:47:34    1177047

very disappointed with our guys yesterday, never expected we would get that big a hiding, seemed to start ok but then missed a few very easy scores. We were overrun in midfield won very kew kickouts, and our half backs and forwards were just not hungry enough for the breaking ball. At times it looked like the guys have been doing very little ball work in training. Only bright spot I took from the game was Cathal Creggs direct running, showed a big of fight at least. Think we are carry a few passengers who are just not county standard. Was impressed with Galway, played a nice brand of football, will be interesting to see if it is as effective when they take on a team playing blanket defence.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 21/05/2012 12:48:07    1177049

Might be premature to say Galway have turned a corner as footballers and hurlers have sruggled with consistency this past few years. There is definitely grounds for optimism though, two more good ones and a q/f win in Croker and they will around that bend.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 21/05/2012 13:59:50    1177156

Roseniri, i agree that we are carrying some passengers on that team, name some names though!

ros747 (Roscommon) - Posts: 160 - 21/05/2012 14:03:56    1177163