Care to explain why fredrickwood?

scruff (UK) - Posts: 467 - 17/05/2012 12:38:05    1174291

Come on the Rossies!!

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 17/05/2012 13:58:08    1174374

51longago

1174233 Yawn away fred but you'll catch up on your sleep through the months of july, aug and sept, as it is always quiet round the ross for them months.

We'll beep the horns on the way up to let ye know, green and red flying past year in year out, tis no wonder yer bitter.

Bitter says himself.I never said one derogatory thin about Mayo!

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 17/05/2012 21:32:07    1174842

It's only right scruff that players play with their clubs before they represent their county team.That equally applies to London and New York.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 17/05/2012 21:34:06    1174844

When talking in the context of rivalry between sports fans, can you define " bitter"?

As I must have it all wrong, how can I be bitter towards an inferior county ?

Ye are useless, always were and always will be, its not in ye, even when ye were better ,ye had no class whatsoever, brawn and aggression.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 17/05/2012 21:54:30    1174867

It's only right scruff that players play with their clubs before they represent their county team.That equally applies to London and New York.

It should not apply to overseas counties. Are you aware of the high rate of player turnover in London? Almost half of the team that beat Fermanagh last year have moved on, so when inter-county players like Seamus Hannon arrives in the city, are the management supposed to ignore him? It's a joke, and will mean the beatings they receive in the National League will be even heavier.

This talk of players representing London and then transferring back to their home clubs is a myth. Bar two players, the rest of the panel all played club championship here last year.

scruff (UK) - Posts: 467 - 18/05/2012 09:41:08    1174915

tribeinbrum, Galway did the 'triple crown', beating Ros, Mayo & Sligo as recently as 2002, to win the Connacht title. Also did so in '73, '56 & '33, according to a local publication.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4795 - 18/05/2012 10:31:05    1174954

2002 Pope.....Jaysus i thought it was longer than that!!!!

Anyway here's hoping Sunday is the start of another year to add to that list.......

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 18/05/2012 11:11:31    1174987

I think Roscommon will hold us for the first 40 mins but once Alan starts to empty the subs bench bye bye Rossies! We will finish with a stronger team that what we'll start with. 5 point win for galway. 1-12 to 0-10.

tribetastic (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 18/05/2012 11:28:02    1175003

You'd imagine Mayo would win it, but, Galway could spring a surprise, Mulholland has them re-juvinated this year and they only missed promotion back to D1 by the kick of a ball in the last minute against Kildare. They're U21's from last year have bolstered the squad.

Roscommon as well might have an outside chance. Will they bring in any of the U21's to the starting 15? Donie Smith and Cathal Compton could do a job for the seniors I reckon.

Apart from that, Sligo, Leitrim and London won't have a look in.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 18/05/2012 11:39:32    1175017

I agree with scruff, london and NY should be exempt from the rules, especially with the ireland we are living in these days.
And making up the rules after the league when all preperation for championship is done is a disgrace

ros747 (Roscommon) - Posts: 160 - 18/05/2012 13:32:35    1175141

Cathal Compton is in the middle of exams & won't be part of the panel until the next game. I'm not sure about Donal Smith he may make himself available. In Kevin Higgins,David O'Gara,Cathal Shine,Conor Devaney,Niall Daly we have replacements that have won U-21,Minor & senior Connacht medals our bench isn't as weak as some Galway/neutral fans seem to think.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4397 - 18/05/2012 16:37:36    1175390

Best of luck to the Galway Boys on Sunday.....Won't be easy but i think we can do it. Come on the Tribesmen!!!!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 18/05/2012 16:51:46    1175404

"Apart from that, Sligo, Leitrim and London won't have a look in"

Leitrim,London won't win Connacht that much is certain however writing off Sligo would be foolish. They play the winners of Galway,Roscommon i'm sure they will hope ross win for a home game & if it's Galway they have to travel to salthill where they drew in 2010 then beat them after a replay.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3993 - 18/05/2012 17:09:42    1175427

Thought we would have had a good competitive match. Galway walloping Roscommon...

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 884 - 20/05/2012 16:24:27    1176309

24 minutes gone galway 2-07 ros 0-03. Thought it would of been alot closer. Galway looked up for it right from the off...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 20/05/2012 16:27:35    1176314

roscommon need a few scores in a hurry if there going to make any sort of come back in the 2nd half have to agree honestly tought id would have been tighter,oooohhh unlucky almost a goal by the rossies..

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 20/05/2012 16:35:01    1176319

Very refreshing to see no blanket defense etc. Especially the way Galway have played,kick-passing (long and short),direct ball into 3 forwards working closely together.

Well done Galway!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/05/2012 16:35:11    1176320

Didn't realise Roscommon were playing Kerry today?? Talk about showing Galway to much respect, get into them Roscommon you haven't put one hit in. And where is that kid smith from the 21's? He's way better than half of that Roscommon team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/05/2012 16:42:42    1176327

Roscommon should take off Donie Shine, he is playing very poorly and looks disinterested. Saying that I hope they keep him on because you can never beat Roscommon by enough!

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 20/05/2012 16:44:35    1176328