Connacht Championship 2012

Mayo are favourites and they generally don't do well when they are.If Galway get past Roscommon they have every chance.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 15/05/2012 11:51:31    1172561

Very impressed by Galway in the game v Kildare in the league. Big pitch in Croke Park would really suit their strong running game. Mayo a top quality side as well. Roscommon on their day can put it up to anyone as well. Have a feeling Galway will have a good championship so will give them the nod to capture Connaught.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 15/05/2012 12:08:52    1172576

derfil1 - we had a very mixed league and while the effort against Kildare and Tyrone were heartening, lets not forget that we were beaten by a ragged Westmeath, and nearly beaten by Louth at home. Truthfully I don't think anyone has a clear idea of how Galway will perform this summer and personally, while I hope for the best, I'm preparing for the worst. But they're a young team and I think in a year or two could be real contentors.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3154 - 15/05/2012 15:51:58    1172792

Mayo all the way for me.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 15/05/2012 16:08:22    1172810

CONNACHT is how you spell. Why is it so hard for people especially those from the Pale to spell it correctly.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 15/05/2012 16:10:50    1172815

Will agree with you there Festinog. Whilst blind faith will lead me to believe we'll win Sam, in reality a decent run in Connacht and maybe a win in the qualifiers would be a real improvement from recent years.

Getting over the Rossies will be a decent start, but Roscommon will be thinking exactly the same. They are in a similar position to us in that youth is being given a fling. Sunday could come down to hunger and who is up for the fight. Hopefully it will be our lads.......

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 15/05/2012 16:13:49    1172818

tribeinbrum

1172430 Greengrass, i'm not going to get into the ins and outs of who would have a harder task, or which province is harder/easier....All i was saying was that if it did come off, i can't remember the last time a Galway team beat Roscommon, Sligo and Mayo in Connacht. If Cavan got to an Ulster final beating all those teams, fair play to them.

And if Galway did beat all those teams they would be well prepared for what is to come at them in a 1/4 final.

Anyway, that can only be thought of if we get out of the Hyde with a win on Sunday.

Apologies and point taken brum. No offence was intended.I can't remember Galway beating those three teams to win Connacht either. Did Leitrim do something like it in Connacht in 1994 ? My main point brum, was that Mayos the date on which Mayo start their championship campaign is scandalous. I'm not sure but I think they start after the first round of qualifiers is played and eight teams are finished with championship football. Should that be true then it is plain wrong.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6199 - 15/05/2012 16:20:03    1172825

15/05/2012 11:07:08
51longago

It feels like it's going to be good, there seems to be a bit more interest too. Maybe it's stronger than other years, I'm not convinced of that though, it seems a lot of people are making out Ross are a serious team because of underage success.
Again im not convinced that's the case, senior football is a different animal, of course good underage success does no harm but it does in no way guarantee senior success ahead.

Roscommon have failed to deliver at senior for a long time, they have failed time and time again to beat Mayo.

If they fail to beat an understrength Galway in their own hay barn, they will have failed again as a senior outfit.

Mayo/Galway final for me, too close to call with it been in salthill .

You go on about Roscommon's underage a success then dismiss when we you say they failed to deliver at senior level. Have you ever asked yourself why? maybe because they had no underage success before the last 6 or so years that clearly followed through to senior.

Roscommon a few years from becoming a force at senior level the much is clear. In the meantime I expect a Galway v Mayo final & i expect Galway to win their first Connacht title since 2008.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3993 - 15/05/2012 16:27:48    1172834

No probs Greengrass. I get what you're saying in terms of the championship being lopsided. Unfortunately all you can do is play with the hand you're dealt. Who knows, it could be to Mayo's advantage or disadvantage coming in at that late stage. I know from my point of view i'd rather competitive games under my belt. Then again the players would indeed be much fresher and come 1/4 final time, if Mayo do retain the Connacht title they could be in better shape than the team that will come up against them.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 15/05/2012 17:02:16    1172871

I take your valid point there GAA lover but is a matter of opinion as regards senior untill they do it.

The 06 minors should be near primed now, the three 21 teams that they are really getting the knickers in a twist over, were good sides but nothing special, Mayo have had several good underage teams the last decade. I don't believe were going to see any shift in power in the west, like the rossies think.

Time will tell but like I have said put up or shut up for senior championship.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 15/05/2012 17:25:19    1172888

Yea there are ifs and buts brum. I would rather have had a few serious tests under my belt at that stage. You would know more about yourself. Any team with a soft underbelly would be found out in the quarters.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6199 - 15/05/2012 17:31:54    1172895

tribeinbrum

No probs Greengrass. I get what you're saying in terms of the championship being lopsided. Unfortunately all you can do is play with the hand you're dealt. Who knows, it could be to Mayo's advantage or disadvantage coming in at that late stage. I know from my point of view i'd rather competitive games under my belt. Then again the players would indeed be much fresher and come 1/4 final time, if Mayo do retain the Connacht title they could be in better shape than the team that will come up against them.
--------------------------------------------------------

I see Mayo's date of entry to the championship as a disadvantage. Our first test will be the Connacht Final, that's not a good thing in my book.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 15/05/2012 17:34:27    1172898

15/05/2012 17:34:27
killer_88_

tribeinbrum

--------------------------------------------------------

I see Mayo's date of entry to the championship as a disadvantage. Our first test will be the Connacht Final, that's not a good thing in my book.

-------------------------------------------------------------
One of the prime reasons why i think the winner of Roscommon v Galway will win Connacht.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 15/05/2012 18:05:09    1172919

Galway team named then.

Galway (SFC v Roscommon) - Adrian Faherty; Kieran McGrath, Finian Hanley (Capt), Keith Kelly; Garreth Bradshaw, Johnny Duane, Gary O'Donnell; Joe Bergin, Greg Higgins; Gary Sice, Damien Burke, Thomas Flynn; Sean Armstrong, Paul Conroy, Mark Hehir.

Bit worried about this team as to where the scores will come from, but if this is who Mulholland thinks will do the job, who am i to doubt. Come on the Tribesmen!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 16/05/2012 12:05:39    1173358

Don't see Ros team is a developing team, plenty of experience in there, no U21's in the starting 15. Have concerns about our half back line. A win on Sunday would give us a great boost but will be tough. Success of U21's should give us a bit more strength in depth this year though, something we have lacked in the past couple of years. London preperations for the Leitrim game have been slightly disrupted by having to play first round of the club championship next weekend so that players are illegible to play against Leitrim. London always raise their game when there is a good crowd in Ruislip and I know that lads are keen to following on from last years improvements.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 16/05/2012 12:25:27    1173378

Half our team are 24 or younger & our bench is made of of mainly U-21 players plus a new manager with new ideas for me we are still in a developing stage & a huge test on Sunday.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4397 - 16/05/2012 17:05:28    1173723

scruff
County: UK

1172463 Looking forward to Leitrim coming over in June. Don't think we'll have a better chance of getting a Connacht Championship win, despite Croke Park sticking their oar in.

And they were right to do so.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 16/05/2012 21:05:08    1173993

51longago

1172517 It feels like it's going to be good, there seems to be a bit more interest too. Maybe it's stronger than other years, I'm not convinced of that though, it seems a lot of people are making out Ross are a serious team because of underage success.
Again im not convinced that's the case, senior football is a different animal, of course good underage success does no harm but it does in no way guarantee senior success ahead.

Yawn.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 16/05/2012 21:05:43    1173997

Cant wait for Sunday.

Ros v Galway-It just does'nt get any bigger than that!

Kudos to RTE who start the Championship with a bang this year instead of that manure we had to watch last year on the 1st day.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 16/05/2012 21:09:56    1174002

Yawn away fred but you'll catch up on your sleep through the months of july, aug and sept, as it is always quiet round the ross for them months.

We'll beep the horns on the way up to let ye know, green and red flying past year in year out, tis no wonder yer bitter.

Mayo mayo mayo mayo mayo mayo mayo, girfuy.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 17/05/2012 11:38:09    1174233