Tyrone Obsession

Tyrone are now an established football force and should reach the last 8 of the All-Ireland series every year, if they dont it is to be considered a bad season. This year they may win Ulster and will in all likelihood make the quarter-finals regardless of whether they win Ulster or not. On their day Tyrone can beat any of the big 3 (Dublin, Kerry, Cork). However Tyrone are unlikely to be able to beat all three of these teams over the course of a championship season, which they may have to do in order to win an All-Ireland.

My prediction for Tyrone this year - Semi-final exit.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 08/05/2012 09:38:04    1167550

Hello! Tyrone played 7 won 7 beating Kildare by 5 points. Kildare could only manage to win 4 out of 7 and stumbled into the final with an injury time penalty against Galway. They also barely beat a poor Meath side. Only in Ireland would a team with such a poor record in the League be given a chance to be called "League Champions" in a cup game!

You better not watch the play-offs in the soccer next weekend so. It will blow your mind!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 08/05/2012 09:45:41    1167557

cavanman47

1167299 for the last decade, dublin were touted as challengers for the all ireland and they couldn't even make a final - but then in 2011 the GAA gave in to the constant hype. . . .so you can see why tryone would use the same tactics
You need to start watching football cavanman, for the past decade Dublin WERE challengers for the AI, the fact that they fell short at the QF/SF stage does not detract from that. Secondly, tell me about the GAA giving into the hype and deciding its time to hand Dublin Sam, did anyone tell Kerry about this little arrangement, that they were to actually lie down in the final rather than come within a cats whisker of winning it, welcome to the real world lad! And so in accordance with your conspiracy theory, Tyrone should crank up the hype machine so that the GAA will eventually crack and give us a handy Sam too, mmmm, interesting!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/05/2012 09:47:22    1167558

Yea, its a totally stupid system. Division 1 is even worse, a team could lose 6 of its 7 league games and still become "league Champions". Lunacy.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/05/2012 09:50:54    1167562

Fair play Brend, fair play. I had you all wrong!!! :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 08/05/2012 10:15:21    1167567

cheers for that brend, was a bit of a WUM post on my part to be fair, though the fact that they fell short at QF/SF stage does detract from them being considered real challengers, up until 2010 when it looked like they had cork beaten IMO.

on tyrone, you wont be a million miles away, most peoples favourites for ulster and capable of beating anyone on your day. .semi finalists maybe, and could reach a final if draw suits ya. .i wouldnt bet against ye in an all ireland final, thats for sure! a lot would need to fall into place but its not impossible.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5331 - 08/05/2012 11:02:31    1167601

stekhli

completely agree with this post id rate dublin , cork , kerry , kildare , mayo all ahead of them , they were exposed badly in the league final 1 for playing a horrible brand of football and 2 for not being good enough , ronan mcnabb the tyrone wingforward didnt kick the ball once in that game , in my opinion the likes mcnabb , mckenna , cavanagh , cassidy , mark donnelly , mccarron , johnathan curran and damie mccaul arent good enough players to win an all ireland

I presume that in the cases of Cavanagh, McCarron, Curran and McCaul you mean they are not good enough to win another one?

As for horrible football, top or second top scorers in the league if you remove the results teams in Div4 scored against Kilkenny. An average of 18 points per game. Imagine if we played the fast open attacking football the Dubs do sure it would be like a hurling score.

In answer to the main post, I don't know why people obsess about Tyrone. Our dearly departed friend Patrique was one of those most guilty of this affliction. Tyrone will not win an All Ireland this year nor will they challenge for 3-4 years. No-one in Tyrone expects otherwise. The house is being rebuilt block by block and that takes time

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 08/05/2012 13:01:52    1167722

Its like the saying goes omaghredhand, theres only one thing worse than people talking about you and thats people not talking about you. Always happy to fill up the sports columns and message boards with whatever drivel people are willing to regurgitate about my county, be it justified or not.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/05/2012 13:24:28    1167747

AfricanGael
County: UK

moomoo

nor did Tyrone....

Hello! Tyrone played 7 won 7 beating Kildare by 5 points. Kildare could only manage to win 4 out of 7 and stumbled into the final with an injury time penalty against Galway. They also barely beat a poor Meath side. Only in Ireland would a team with such a poor record in the League be given a chance to be called "League Champions" in a cup game!

Tyrone played 8 games and won 7. Only in Ireland would a team try to clame a game they lost didnt matter just to make them look good

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 08/05/2012 13:50:39    1167781

Take_em_off Thank you so much for bringing this up! Everyone seems to be talking about Tyrone constantly, fair enough they won all their league games bar the final but did Down not do the same in 2010? and there wasn't half the hype! No matter what is going
on in Ireland about Football it's all Tyrone Tyrone Tyrone constantly. All this Craic about Kerry, Cork, Dublin and Tyrone what about Down and Mayo? They never ever get a look in when they are both rightly in Division One and Tyrone just recently climbed out
of Division two.

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 08/05/2012 16:33:58    1167973

Take_em_off Thank you so much for bringing this up! Everyone seems to be talking about Tyrone constantly, fair enough they won all their league games bar the final but did Down not do the same in 2010? and there wasn't half the hype! No matter what is going
on in Ireland about Football it's all Tyrone Tyrone Tyrone constantly. All this Craic about Kerry, Cork, Dublin and Tyrone what about Down and Mayo? They never ever get a look in when they are both rightly in Division One and Tyrone just recently climbed out
of Division two.

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 08/05/2012 16:34:10    1167974

As far as i'm concerned its pretty simple. Tyrone are 5th in ireland after the big 3 and kildare and have a very outside chance of an all-ireland but it is very unlikely

galballygael23 (Tyrone) - Posts: 235 - 08/05/2012 18:14:22    1168064

This season with promotion its so far so good. I dont think Tyrone would be too concerned with meeting anyone outside Cork, Kerry or Dublin. In saying that it will be 50/50 getting out of Armagh still in the championship and thats why you can look too far ahead. If Tyrone dont win the Ulster Championship then I would expect them to continue their good record in the back door.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1800 - 08/05/2012 19:22:03    1168133

Yeah what is it about this tyrone obsession....the vast majority never emanates from Tyrone posters. If this continues we'll all ned of with superiority complexes like the Dubs or Kerry.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 08/05/2012 19:38:52    1168149

Surely someone from Mayo must have more important things to worry about than how people rate Tyrone. There really is an obsession with Tyrone and trying to belittle them.

MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 08/05/2012 21:27:50    1168243

Take_em_off

1167231 I cant help but wonder why so many people I have spoken to and expressed on this that Tyrone can win the all ireland. I dont think Tyrone are anywhere near winning an all ireland. Tyrone were a great team for a number of years but they are simply not good enough now and I would rank them about 7th or 8th in the country. Does anyone else agree that they dont stand a chance?

Tyrone's strong consistant run in Division 2 is why people were talking Tyrone up as contenders this year, beating the likes of Kildare and Galway enroute.
Then they lose to Kildare in a dismal final, and its all doom & gloom again. I do think they are genuine contenders, but contenders based on merit this season and not because of their legend.
My main concern this year for Tyrone is whether Mickey Harte has addressed why they lost to Dublin last year.
SPEED, SPEED, SPEED, something Tyrone lacked badly. Dublin beat them to almost every single ball in that game, and showed that Tyrone just didnt have the legs anymore. We wont really know that until the Quarter final stages of the AI, maybe a bit worrying that Tyrone started their fitness programme earlier than most.

They have a tough start at Armagh. I

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 10/05/2012 09:10:13    1169081

Tyrone's strong consistant run in Division 2 is why people were talking Tyrone up as contenders this year, beating the likes of Kildare and Galway enroute.
Then they lose to Kildare in a dismal final, and its all doom & gloom again. I do think they are genuine contenders, but contenders based on merit this season and not because of their legend.
My main concern this year for Tyrone is whether Mickey Harte has addressed why they lost to Dublin last year.
SPEED, SPEED, SPEED, something Tyrone lacked badly. Dublin beat them to almost every single ball in that game, and showed that Tyrone just didnt have the legs anymore. We wont really know that until the Quarter final stages of the AI, maybe a bit worrying that Tyrone started their fitness programme earlier than most.

They have a tough start at Armagh. I

Well said Gary Mc. There are alot of fickle people about, while Tyrone were winning all the league games it was Tyrone This and Tyrone That. They loose one game and its like overnight they have become a poor outfit. Lol - Any team can be beaten by any team on any given day - Tyrone are in the top 5 teams in the country, end of! They have consistently reached at least the quater finals year in, year out.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 10/05/2012 10:40:16    1169128

MissDownFanatic
County: Down

1167974 Take_em_off Thank you so much for bringing this up! Everyone seems to be talking about Tyrone constantly, fair enough they won all their league games bar the final but did Down not do the same in 2010? and there wasn't half the hype! No matter what is going
of Division two.

People dont talk about Down or Mayo because they are not interesting to talk about, Down are the most inconsistent outfit in Ulster and only hit the headlines when another or their players sells their soul to play down under. Mayo are Mayo, there's not alot to say after that

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 10/05/2012 10:50:02    1169135

MissDownFanatic
County: Down

1167974 Take_em_off Thank you so much for bringing this up! Everyone seems to be talking about Tyrone constantly, fair enough they won all their league games bar the final but did Down not do the same in 2010? and there wasn't half the hype! No matter what is going
of Division two.

Everyone talks about them because Tyrone's current squad has players who have won multiple senior All Ireland football titles, A distinction they share only with players from Kerry. People have Cork and Dublin in the mix, as they won the All Irelands in 2010 and 2011 respectively.

So thats why you have "all this craic about Kerry, Cork, Dublin and Tyrone".

While you may consider Down a better team for whatever reasons. Most people know that Tyrone have the mental steel to win an All Ireland final should they get there, even if they are coming from Division 2 this season. Remember Donegal came from Division 2 last year, and the top 2 or 3 in Div 2 are generally on par with Div 1 teams anyways.

Down and Mayo have only lost All Ireland finals in the last 8-9 years, which is why they are currently overlooked by most people.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 11/05/2012 09:07:53    1169876