Mayo Diving

Shocking by Canavan all right and not befitting his status as one of the greatest of all time.
In Tyrone though we'll condemn our sportsmen who cheat instead of making excuses for them
Pplocal

Well said Pplocal, I second that! Shocking behaviour!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 30/04/2012 15:09:06    1163276

TheGateKeeper

1163276 Shocking by Canavan all right and not befitting his status as one of the greatest of all time.
In Tyrone though we'll condemn our sportsmen who cheat instead of making excuses for them
Pplocal

It's not Official 'til we hear it from Dellboy

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 30/04/2012 15:14:01    1163282

TheGateKeeper

1163276 Shocking by Canavan all right and not befitting his status as one of the greatest of all time.
Pplocal

Pfffhhh what a load of toss.
What else could you say in fairness lads... your feckin medals are in the post.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/04/2012 15:17:11    1163290

Someone please stick up the youtube clip of Canavan touching the ball on the ground and trying to hide a blatant free from the ref the in the 1995 AI final...

It's soooo funny! Fair play to the ref for not being fooled back in 95 unlike the ref in Paddy's clip... to think he actually booked the Kerry player for that!

A similar injustice was avoided in 1995.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/04/2012 15:25:29    1163302

Breffni39
So now we have some circumstantial evidence of Mayos tactical diving, can we use that against them for the next 10 years or so? Maybe give it a label of some description, chunder football? Perhaps it can be used to undermine any success they may have in the future, not for begrudging reasons of course, but for the sake of genuine analysis. We could even say they invented it and it was the begininng the end of Gaelic Football. We could even tag it on to their province as well. Seems a bit far-fetched but...

One big issue here, it wasnt mayo's tactical diving, it was vaughan's. That is the difference

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 30/04/2012 17:07:01    1163415

One big issue here, it wasnt mayo's tactical diving, it was vaughan's. That is the difference

Ah right, and I thought Vaughan played for Mayo!

Facts and realities are not required for begrudging trite cliches like I'm planning.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 30/04/2012 17:11:46    1163420

Yes vaughan plays for mayo, but vaughan is one person in the team. It is slightly different when every person in the team does it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 30/04/2012 17:17:01    1163431

Cillian O'Connor is 20 years old, and already he is targeted for rough treatment from defenders. I have no problem with him giving it back as he is big enough to stick up for himself. Cillian is a young man who refuses to be pushed around without resorting to dirty strikes, and I applaud him for that.

mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 30/04/2012 18:03:27    1163471

dunno what ye're talkin about. The cork lad pushed vaughan & knocked him over. Vaughan jumped straight up again, he wasnt rolling around like ronaldo or anythin. The cork man shouldve got a red card for raising his hands

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 30/04/2012 18:42:17    1163511

Midleton

The motives for posting here is not as you describe, if that was the purpose of the thread who'd bother?

Most commits here start with "everyone dives...." And maybe in Cork they are real men, but at all levels of the game this is the norm now. To deny it without dealing with it is another nail the coffin of football which lets face it if it keeps going the way it is it will be unmarketable.

The antics in the match yesterday was outragiously over-the-top and embarressing to their team mates it will make great veiwing on youtube!!

Give me hurling any day.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 30/04/2012 18:53:17    1163523

paddyogall

1163144 Diving is a blight all right, this is the worst one I have ever seen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwmErywscOc

I had never seen this paddy. Brilliant spot. As bad as it gets. Anyone remember Diarmuid Marsdens sending off in the '03 final ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6199 - 30/04/2012 19:12:20    1163538

Diarmuid Marsdens sending off i remember some of it,philip jordan himself said there was no harm meant in it,but when it went before the powers to be the card still stood if memory serves me right even with the evidence breought before them.

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 30/04/2012 21:07:40    1163621

can see the refs been a bit more aware of all the false diving going into the championship,sad to see it in the game takes the atmosphere away and slows the natural flow of the game.

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 30/04/2012 21:30:12    1163643

It's soooo funny! Fair play to the ref for not being fooled back in 95 unlike the ref in Paddy's clip... to think he actually booked the Kerry player for that!

A similar injustice was avoided in 1995.
Jimbodub

A ridiculous statement if ever there was one! The video of 1995 clearly shows that the ball was not touched on the ground.
This denyed Tyrone a replay and handed the dubs the title! Honest dub supporters
agree with me, Dublin needed to win the title that year, to keep interest in the capital
high, the GAA unfortunately needs the dublin crowd to pay the fat-cats salaries!

History repeated itself last year
The dubs were rewarded an easy free (it was never a free jimbo) last year to win the
all-ireland. Dublin will always be favoured in a contentious decision, and it needs to be
addressed!
Enjoy it while it lasts jimbo, another few months of being champions, and then nothing
for 10-15 years until the gaa determine it is best for the game if dublin win the AI!
I like many will enjoy the fall of the dubs this year. Do all your mouthing now, it will
make the fall even sweeter! Lol
Tir Eoghain abu. ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 01/05/2012 11:56:25    1163788

Rough day for diving today, anyone for tay?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 01/05/2012 12:11:23    1163800

Never mind the Tay how about a spot of fishing!!;)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/05/2012 12:27:50    1163816

Gatekeeper

Enjoy it while it lasts jimbo, another few months of being champions, and then nothing
for 10-15 years until the gaa determine it is best for the game if dublin win the AI!

That'll be this year so!!! :)) Hon the Dubs!!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/05/2012 12:32:54    1163819

Jackeen

1163816 Never mind the Tay how about a spot of fishing!!;)

There's feckall in the Dodder

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 01/05/2012 12:38:17    1163830

Still good

omahant (USA) - Posts: 3442 - 01/05/2012 12:43:21    1163833

True! There's loads in the Tolka tho!! You bring the tay i'll make the sambos!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/05/2012 12:46:31    1163836