Mayo Diving

What was that all about lads?

If ye werent assaulting Cadogan trying to get a reaction out of him ye were rolling around on the ground like ye had been shot.#

Are ye gonna start this nonsense now too?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/04/2012 09:23:48    1162813

I dont know what they were at to be honest, it was cringe-worthy! That contributed to why we lost - concentration needs to be 100% on football for the whole game, not just one half. In fairness too tho I thought cork got away with a lot...............

Spuddy (Mayo) - Posts: 345 - 30/04/2012 10:00:34    1162846

Mayo were mighty in the first half
why did they start all this crack in the second?
The game was there for them!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/04/2012 10:17:48    1162868

Yeah it reminded me of how Karl Lacey was assaulted a few times in the AI last year.....

vice99 (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 30/04/2012 10:19:51    1162869

First of all our boys were no angels yesterday either & I think we got away with a few bad challenges but our lads were certainly not diving. It was clear that Vaughan had suffered a bad head injury in the first half & Noel O Leary's reaction was absolutely appalling. However I soon had no pity for Vaughan, his play acting in the 2nd half was just embarrassing.

If I was a Mayo supporter, id be ashamed of Vaughan's diving on the pitch yesterday. I hope its not a trend that continues this summer.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 30/04/2012 10:21:40    1162871

Any of the coverage that I seen of Mayo this year seemed to have them diving in it.
In both the abandoned game v Dublin and in the replay they hit the ground very easily clutching their faces.

Vaughan yesterday was another example of that again and was really shamefull stuff.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 30/04/2012 10:26:57    1162875

No need for some over reactions but all things being equal, Cork should have had a minimum of 3 red cards. There was an incident where a Cork player punched a Mayo man with both fists! Best team won, Ref was very poor. From the very first whistle he had no control over the game. It was a horrible spectacle.

ExiledUk (UK) - Posts: 27 - 30/04/2012 10:29:39    1162880

Jinxie, the mayo man that went down in the abandoned dublin game was hit full in the face with an elbow.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 30/04/2012 10:39:45    1162895

Lads i missed the match yesterday but to be fair Mayo Aren't the only team at it! It seems to be creeping into the game which is disappointing. I've even seen it at club matches now, so its harsh singling out this up and coming mayo side for it

Deck_Him17 (Carlow) - Posts: 44 - 30/04/2012 10:59:18    1162926

The mayo players can give the physicality but they cant take it, O Connnor was pushing his marker a lot yesterday he has no fear for a 20 year old but should clam down a bit

thegreatone (Mayo) - Posts: 63 - 30/04/2012 11:04:05    1162932

While I agree that Vaughan went down theatrically, I disagree that the thread should be labelled 'mayo diving'. cork were at it aswell. There was an instance in the first half where vaughan left his arm in on cadogan after the ball was gone, but missed him and cadogan went down holding his head. Is that any different to what vaughan himself later done when the roles were reversed? Cadogan thrust his arm forward but connected with vaughan's neck and vaughan went down holding his face. In truth they are both wrong, but that isnt looking at the bigger picture. In reality, if a team isnt doing this these days they are at a disadvantage, because everyone else it doing it. If vaughan was struck and stayed on his feet, and mayo lost by a point people would be saying 'same old mayo, too honest too nice'.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 30/04/2012 11:18:31    1162958

saddam

1162895 Jinxie, the mayo man that went down in the abandoned dublin game was hit full in the face with an elbow.

There was much more than just that incident. Maybe you couldnt see it with the fog, but there was plenty of it going on.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 30/04/2012 11:19:51    1162961

If the ref had actually blown up for every foul we'd still be waiting for the halftime whistle. Practically every player that pased the ball was illegally tackled after the pass.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 30/04/2012 11:30:23    1162973

What Vaughan did was embarrassing and he should be ashamed of himself. I did feel the ref let an awful lot of fouling go unpunished, pushing seemed to be allowed throughout the whole game which led to a very scrappy affair. Jinxie you are talking rubbish about this going on all year. If you dislike Mayo fair enough but don't start telling fibs good lad.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 30/04/2012 11:33:32    1162978

I was thinking about starting a thread called "cork are very dirty" but i thought i would sound equally as stupid as the person who started this thread. Cork should have had their midfielder sent off for the (rugby) tackle on Vaughan. And don't get me started on Noel O'Leary. Pity Aiden O'Shea wasn't there to flatten him again!!

hon_mayo (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 30/04/2012 11:36:34    1162981

Noel O'Leary is not a nice man,it must be terrifying to have him breathing down your neck in a match not knowing if you're going to live to see another day

thegreatone (Mayo) - Posts: 63 - 30/04/2012 11:37:55    1162984

Way to much off the ball incidents yesterday from both sides. If the game continues like it is, the soccer players will soon be laughing at us for our over dramatic diving. O leary behaviour after Vaughan had his head nearly taking off was a disgrace and deserved to be highlighted by League Sunday in their highlights last night.Thought the ref was very poor and was giving yellow cards for a a tug on the jersey while also giving a yellow card for nearly killing someone.

winjustonce1 (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 30/04/2012 11:41:02    1162987

jonny1951

Nothing got to do with wether or not anyone likes or dislikes mayo.

Between League sunday and tg4's coverage I think all of Mayos games have been covered and it HAS been going on.
It was even highlighted after both Dublin games aswell.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 30/04/2012 11:48:53    1162996

If this diving and play-acting nonsense continues (along with the throwing of the ball) unchecked it is the end of gaelic football - it will become a farce and some games are so damn close to that description.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 30/04/2012 11:57:41    1163010

This is a pointless and vindictive thread and I can only assume it was started from base motives- to get reactions from Mayo supporters and drag Cork supporters into a squabble with them. Players from all counties dive on occasions; it probably comes from watching too many Premiership matches, although one would have assumed that those disgusting sights would have put them off it.

Hopefully the newer generation is moving away from this as evidenced in the reaction of Cork's 19-year-old Conor Lehane to a shoulder in the chest from Michael Fennelly in the first minute of their league game. He simply got up again, passed the ball to Pat Horgan for the free and trotted back to his position.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 646 - 30/04/2012 12:18:08    1163033