Are this present Kerry team done?

Connolly would walk on every team in this country lads 100% not just Kerry!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 17/04/2012 15:16:03    1154271

Liamwalkinstown

1154271 Connolly would walk on every team in this country lads 100% not just Kerry!

Funny, he doesn't always walk onto the Dublin team Liam.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 17/04/2012 15:22:10    1154281

Darren O Sullivan is twice the player Connolly is, really? Fair enough the gooch or Declan o sull but no way is Darren twice the player Connolly is. Darren O Sullivan is a joy to watch and can score some great goals and has great pace but he does go missing in nearly every big game. Don't forget Connolly only came back last year to the panel and once he gets his consistency right he will be one of the greats.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/04/2012 15:32:32    1154299

Maybe he would walk on every team in Ireland, but not the dublin team Breifne,
seeing since they have such a strong panel! Sure a few weeks ago they were
saying that dublins second team are just as good as their first! By the sounds
of things, the gaa might as well give them the title for the foreseeable future!
They are that good! Them dubs are some craic! :> Hahahahahaha

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 17/04/2012 15:38:24    1154310

EVERYONE THINK BACK TO 2009!

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 17/04/2012 16:00:06    1154350

Breff - why did u not take up the kerry lads assertion that he would walk on the Kerry team, why just mine...again? And name me a team he wouldnt get in in Ireland? Genuinely? u seem to imply that he is not a starter for Dublin? When fit DC always plays.

Gate Kipper- we are the All Ireland Champs and we have a great shot at it again this year. We gave ye a hiding last year and are 3 wins from 3 against ye in recent times.
Deal with it my poor little kipper, deal with it!

CHAMPIONS!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 17/04/2012 16:08:50    1154360

Liamwalkinstown

1154360 Breff - why did u not take up the kerry lads assertion that he would walk on the Kerry team, why just mine...again? And name me a team he wouldnt get in in Ireland? Genuinely? u seem to imply that he is not a starter for Dublin? When fit DC always plays.

It's nothing personal Liam. You have made that assertion about Connolly before and I simply don't agree he is in the class that you put him in. Not that big a deal, certainly not worth making into anything its not. You say he has 4 Leinsters and 1 AI. Did he start every game in all those championships?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 17/04/2012 16:22:48    1154386

Breff, didnt take it as personal atall. Internet forums are not the best way to have a discussion at times! Misinterpretation is easy!!! Regarding Connolly, Breff....name me a team he wouldnt get in. There isnt one I dont think.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 17/04/2012 16:26:28    1154391

Connolly also won a club All Ireland medal with St Vincent's and was man of the match that day

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/04/2012 16:26:52    1154392

Dublin are a good team alright liam, but they are not a great team.
Enjoy it while it lasts son!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 17/04/2012 16:36:38    1154408

There are no great teams anymore!

To be a great team you have to put All Irelands 'back to back'!!.....like Dublin (3 x '3-in -a-row' and a '2-in-a-row')!!!!
Kerry were the last to do it.....well, on paper at least, cos we all know that if you dont win your province along the way then you are not the champions of anything really!!

Tyrone, certainly didnt achieve this and never will either!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/04/2012 17:00:41    1154445

Liam, name me a team darran o'sullivan wouldnt get into, becuase that is the argument, not 'would diarmuid connolly get into every team?' He might well get into most teams, not kerry though but anyway, he isnt better than dar o'sullivan, which was the point in the first place. As for going missing, connolly is arguably the worst 'top player' for disappearing in games, and that is before his obligatory red card.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 17/04/2012 17:02:55    1154452

2 things for sure this summer. Mayo will build up and kack the pants again. Tyrone owe Dublin and Mickey Harte is going to work them out.

Peace_On (Kerry) - Posts: 53 - 17/04/2012 18:11:25    1154549

Yup we are done.....done losing......roll on the championship!

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 17/04/2012 21:11:45    1154727

every year the same question is asked and every year the answer is no. they will keep going. they ''only'' get to an all-ireland final. sorry but for some counties including mine this would be the holy grail. you dont get to the all-ireland final by being a team in decline

john.no1 (Sligo) - Posts: 471 - 17/04/2012 21:28:36    1154750

Kerry Done !! = makes it sound like it will take them 10 or 20 years to rebuild.

I dont think last seasons Kerry team could improve this year, or push themselves any further. I actually thought Dublin were showing them too much respect in the final last september, which kept the score so close. However thats understandable in the AI final against the legendary Kerry, who were very impressive.

Its too early to say how the new blood will work for Kerry, but i dont see them winning Sam this year. I think a semi final or final is possible, depending on the draw they get. But they are not done by any means, purely a short term transition.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3045 - 17/04/2012 21:33:58    1154754

Its very hard to give an accurate opinion on how good or bad a county is when every year you only get to see that county play their full hand for maybe 3 or 4 matches,some others for 5 or 6 at best , before mayo match kerry were the most consistant team with one of the best midfielders in country in brian sheehan, after a match that could of went either way sheehan is now starting to look tired and kerry are weary , stupid talk. IF mayo win sam people will point to beating dub and kerry as the belief they needed. if they lose a semi we will be told dub and kerry didnt give it their all for those matches and mayo believed the hype. bottom line no one knows how really good or bad their team is till the heat is on in the CHAMPIONSHIP.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 17/04/2012 21:53:25    1154778

AthCliath

Spot on.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 18/04/2012 08:31:57    1154788

It all started in the sixties I believe, when the Down captain signalled the death of football in the Kingdom..........

DanBreen (Kerry) - Posts: 73 - 18/04/2012 08:32:28    1154790

1154452 Liam, name me a team darran o'sullivan wouldnt get into, becuase that is the argument, not 'would diarmuid connolly get into every team?' He might well get into most teams, not kerry though but anyway, he isnt better than dar o'sullivan, which was the point in the first place. As for going missing, connolly is arguably the worst 'top player' for disappearing in games, and that is before his obligatory red card.

Really..funny that, cos in the previous page the 2 Kerry lads both said he would Master.......:)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 18/04/2012 09:03:09    1154801