Are this present Kerry team done?

I am not writing Kerry off and anyone who reads my post and thinks I am writing them off needs to read it again.
Some people will only see what want to see or read what they want to read!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 17/04/2012 12:24:54    1154011

The majority in this thread are clearly writing off Kerry. Personally I don't have any qualms with it. Dublin are runaway favourites for the All-Ireland, followed by the NFL divisions 1 and 2 finalists. Where's the issue? There is no problem. Tipperary in the Munster Championship is what it's all about for us.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9614 - 17/04/2012 12:30:31    1154018

legendzxix

16/04/2012 21:03:21
dubbydave.

westkerry

1153650 Yes we are done.

Finished

Washed up

Burnt out

The tank is empty

we will be lucky to get 15 lads to tog out for the Tipp game in a few weeks

ARE THEY EVEN GOING TO TURN UP UP FOR THE TIPP GAME ;-)

Ah that's it. We'll be hoping for the best in our Munster opener. All talk really has to be on the NFL finalists of divisions 1 & 2 and Dublin.

its only a matter of time before both these sleeping giants "dublin & kerry" are woking up and feel sorry for the team that does this

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 17/04/2012 12:38:22    1154028

Are this Kerry team done? I have never heard such rubbish because...
1. There are only 2 teams really in Munster so in all effect Kerry are in a Munster Final or semi each year, so could be in all-ireland quarter final each year , or latter stages of the back door regardless of teams they come up against
2. bryan Sheehan missed a 50 with the last kick of the game, if he scored?? If Cluxton had have missed that free with the last kick, would dublin have won the replay????
3. there is a thin line between success and failure - Kerry will be there or there abouts this summer
4. yes kerry have some worrying trends - a lack of underage sucess, but i would say none of the present team have an all-ireland minor medal, while they senior medals
5. there is a 'perception' out there in the media that if kerry or kilkenny don't win they are in decline....... christ they can't win everything - even if they try
6. but there is one or two now in the mid-30's - this year will be an interesting one for kerry
7. i would gladly swap kerry in decline year for armagh's year ahead

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 17/04/2012 12:42:19    1154033

I have been saying this for two years now!!....Kery are done!!

Their league performance has been the death throes of a doomed 'animal'!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/04/2012 13:08:03    1154071

People go on about a weak Munster Championship but isn't the league open game? I know we lost on Sunday and fair play to Mayo, still positions 1 and 2 in the group stage were made up of last years Munster finalists. Hardly the result of provincial advantage. If anything more sympathies should be given to competing counties in the province who might have more success were they in other provincial championships. The back door has been competed in from an early stage as well. Personally I'd like to see a change where there is a round of 16 and where Ulster division 1 teams avoid fellow division 1 teams in rounds 1 & 2 in the qualifiers. It can be easily done but noone is putting forward a plan for change.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9614 - 17/04/2012 13:19:08    1154080

Whilst I'm not sure I buy into the 'only two teams in Munster' thing, it's hard to avoid the conclusion that Kerry have been enormously assisted by the back door.

Their 86-97 famine, allowed them no such luxury. The back door came in soon after, and they've been flying since.

Is that too simplistic? How many times have Kerry availed of the backdoor over the last ten years?

I'm well aware that it's not an unfair advantage. Every other team has it as well. I'm just saying that it might have assisted teams of Kerry's quality more than weaker sides. They might be beaten once, but not twice. While the backdoor exists, Kerry will continue to win AI's regularly even if their standard might decline from time to time. There will be no more famine decades. The trick for the rest of us (Cork anyway) is to use the lifeline as well as Kerry do. And there's no reason why a county with Cork's resources shouldn't be able to do that. The back door suits the stronger counties. And if I recall correctly, the Cork County Board (of whom I'm usually not a fan) opposed it on that basis - and were roundly criticised for not wanting to give weaker counties a second chance.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 17/04/2012 13:25:16    1154097

So the master you don't think Connolly is as good as Darren O Sullivan? I can guarantee you this Darren will never score 7 points from play against Tyrone. Connolly is going to have a big summer and will prove all the doubters wrong. Legenlzsis if you read over the posts the majority don't think Kerry are finished.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/04/2012 13:28:33    1154105

@Snuf...

remember that an animal in it's death throes is at it's most dangerous

M.Stack (Kerry) - Posts: 22 - 17/04/2012 13:34:42    1154115

They have lost an All Ireland Final and a league semi final in the last seven months. Both of these games they seemed to have won, only to squander late leads. Maybe a third or half of this team have been to the races too often. And it appears the younger players coming in are not up to winning the big games quite yet. Only reaching here to see what others may think on this subject

Alright my query has gathered a lot of responses.I was just stating the obvious and asking a Monday morning question in the aftermath of Mayo beating Kerry. The bottom line is there are a multitude of counties that wish they had Kerry's football woes. The fact that Kerry can raise this much discussion on a forum reveals the truth that real football people know what Kerry are capable of and that the Kerry team should never be taken for granted. My opinion-they are going away no time soon-they will tweak what needs tweaking and regroup for the summer. However, giving up late leads has been a problem since losing to Tyrone in September 2008. This facet of their game is the weakness that needs the most attention I believe. But many good point shave sprung from your responses, yes the new young players have had few chances in big games to prove themselves to date. But they are groomed by their contemporaries and play as they are taught, both mentally and physically. Center back is a spot that needs attention, Brosnan was good last year but they can not continue to have a different CHB every 12 months or so. A keystone player in that position is vital for a teams leadership and continued success.

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 17/04/2012 13:49:10    1154138

Clondalkin
Darren O'Sullivan is twice the player that D.Connoly is, and he tends to stay on the pitch alot longer too!
Too much has been gauged from Connolly's performance against Tyrone last year, in reality he was given
the run of the park by an ageing defence. Darren O'Sullivan played as a sub against Tyrone in 2008 (remember that summer?)
against one of the best defensive units in the game and was the only forward that really troubled tyrone, if he
had been on from the start that game would have been much closer.

Never write Kerry off!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 17/04/2012 14:04:56    1154162

Clondalkin
Darren O'Sullivan is twice the player that D.Connoly is, and he tends to stay on the pitch alot longer too!
Too much has been gauged from Connolly's performance against Tyrone last year, in reality he was given
the run of the park by an ageing defence. Darren O'Sullivan played as a sub against Tyrone in 2008 (remember that summer?)
against one of the best defensive units in the game and was the only forward that really troubled tyrone, if he
had been on from the start that game would have been much closer.
Players like Connolly cannot be associated with greatness until they have the medals to support those claims!
Never write Kerry off!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 17/04/2012 14:06:04    1154165

Cork, Mayo, Tyrone, Kildare and the over-whelming favourites Dublin are quite rightly dominating headlines and discussions. The rest of us will be hoping for the best in the summer. I don't see how anyone can have any qualms about it.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9614 - 17/04/2012 14:22:54    1154186

Gate Keeper, just for the record....Connolly has 4 Leinster medals and an All Ireland medal..............!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 17/04/2012 14:33:50    1154212

They have lost an All Ireland Final and a league semi final in the last seven months. Both of these games they seemed to have won, only to squander late leads. Maybe a third or half of this team have been to the races too often. And it appears the younger players coming in are not up to winning the big games quite yet. Only reaching here to see what others may think on this subject
My original post was a Monday morning query generated by Kerry's loss to mayo in the league semi final. And from all the respones to the quote most of ye know Kerry are a team not to be written off. It is clear that most of the responses are from people who know football and would never think Kerry should be taken for granted. They will tweak their problems and regroup for the summer. However, there are a few issues to be addressed in the Kerry camp. They have lost a few semi or final games in which they were winning in the closing stages, this is a problem not a once off situation. And it has been a problem since losing to Tyrone in September of 2008. They must continue to play for 70+ minutes, and not play freeze ball to keep possession at the end of a match. This facet takes away from their football abilities and undermines the overall team concept that gave them the lead in a game to begin with! Another issue that needles me is their changing of the CHB on an annual basis of late. I think this has happened due to not having a true #6 at their disposal? The player in the #6 jersey should be a keystone to your team and should command a constant presence of leadership(eg S Moynihan). Kerry have used, Brosnan, and McCarthy over the past couple of Championships, I believe. They both played well in the spot but I think they need to groom a player who will hold that spot for at least 4 years! Having said all this, I think most counties would gladly swap for Kerry's footballing woes. So thank ye, ye answered my query-Kerry are not yet done...

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 17/04/2012 14:37:52    1154218

In fairess Liam Diarmuid is a very skillfull player but 4 Leinster medals is not a great boast although I will allow him a little crow about the Celtic Cross.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 17/04/2012 14:46:36    1154229

its not a bad boast now RKF in fairness!!
You can only win what your in !!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 17/04/2012 14:53:12    1154236

Lets focus on the one all-ireland clondalkin, if he gets another one, re-open the conversation!
Until then......

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 17/04/2012 15:00:02    1154241

Connolly is a great footballer, bit rough around the edges yet but no harm in that. He can win his own ball, and any type of ball at that. He'd walk onto the Kerry team, no doubt.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 17/04/2012 15:01:51    1154245

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

1154245 Connolly is a great footballer, bit rough around the edges yet but no harm in that. He can win his own ball, and any type of ball at that. He'd walk onto the Kerry team, no doubt.
And qualifies through his father.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 17/04/2012 15:07:51    1154253