westkerry

1153650 Yes we are done.

Finished

Washed up

Burnt out

The tank is empty

we will be lucky to get 15 lads to tog out for the Tipp game in a few weeks

ARE THEY EVEN GOING TO TURN UP UP FOR THE TIPP GAME ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 16/04/2012 21:03:21    1153656

16/04/2012 19:58:19
corkcelt

I've been following GAA for approx 58 years and I've been waiting year after year for "The Kerry Team" to be done. It hasn't happened yet but one can always hope.

It did during the 11 year famine but thankfully that came to an end eventually. Even then there were always congrats for all teams doing well. Where's a thread dedicated to Mayo. Sure we'll start one...

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9615 - 16/04/2012 21:06:13    1153665

Finished ????????

Some chance !!

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 16/04/2012 21:08:42    1153671

1153656 westkerry

It's ok Westkerry, I got the boots down from the top shelf, ah lads threads like these make me laugh, ok we threw away a game twice in one afternoon, this is a team not at full stretch yet, Ad in Tomas, Declan and a cooper with game time no mention a fully fit Donnachadh off the bench, Jack is prob a bit pieved in the manor in which we let the lead slip, but done for I'd hardly say 31 county managers would love to met us in the early rounds of the qualifiers or in the quarter finals, what was kerry's goal at the start of the league, get to the semi's get a game in croker, unearth new talant and setting the players that are new ish to the set up, he's established a fairly solid midfield partnership, two big strong lads who know where the posts are, developed a plan B with Donaghy out the wing, found and blooded Crowley/McGuire and has found talent in Curtin/O'Donoghue and also gave game time to Buckley, allthis done while Cooper was resting the bones... I don;t know about ye at all, I'd be mopre worried about Dublin's blip, the internal fighting in Meath, the Joke of Galway football and the lack of a serious treat from the north apart from Tyrone..... I'd say we are in for a interesting year yet!

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 16/04/2012 21:17:25    1153682

16/04/2012 21:03:21
dubbydave.

westkerry

1153650 Yes we are done.

Finished

Washed up

Burnt out

The tank is empty

we will be lucky to get 15 lads to tog out for the Tipp game in a few weeks

ARE THEY EVEN GOING TO TURN UP UP FOR THE TIPP GAME ;-)

Ah that's it. We'll be hoping for the best in our Munster opener. All talk really has to be on the NFL finalists of divisions 1 & 2 and Dublin.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9615 - 16/04/2012 21:21:28    1153691

they are getting old it has to be said , aidan omahony , eoin bronan , tomas ose , seamus scanlon , paul galvin are all edging towards the end of their careers ,and the new players coming through like bj keane , maguire , enright , lynn and crowley while all decent arent nearly as good as the players on the way out , the lack of underge success in kerry driven by lots of complacency will eventually catch up on them , bound to happen eventually , gooch , donaghy , marc ose , bryan sheehan arent spring chickens anymore it has to be said

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 16/04/2012 21:35:35    1153712

Yeah, whats the story with Kerry's underage these days..? Haven't seen them contesting minor for a good few years or u.21 for that matter. Is it just complacency on the county board's part or just that the talent is not there?

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 16/04/2012 21:42:12    1153724

stekhli

I agree and disagree with your post...

Its very unfair to single lads that have played a few league games and are breaking into county football and compare them with established lads that have 3/4 all-irelands. give them a chance they didint do to bad they finished top of divison beating Dublin-Cork away.

Football comes in cycles and yes some of our lads are getting on, they owe us nothing but the still give 100% every day.

You know how long it took Dublin to win Sam .. How long it took Cork ? This team have been there since the early 2000's. nobody with the exception
of Tyrone can match that.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 16/04/2012 21:52:29    1153732

if kerry are finished, dublin dont have a team, meath, galway, armagh dont even know what a football look likes anymore

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 16/04/2012 21:52:38    1153733

kerry will be fired up for this years championship, after losing to dublin and mayo with similar leads they will be on a mission, without donaghys mad pass yesterday everyone would be saying they are the team on form. going by league results.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 16/04/2012 21:55:37    1153735

Ok i am gonna look at this genuinely and not play the "cute kerry hoor" or the "never write of the kingdom" etc etc
The Kerry team of the last 10 years is up there with the Kerry team of 75-86. I think we all agree with that?
The O'Se's, Donaghy, Cooper, The O'Sullivans, O'Mahony & Sheehan were all integral parts of that team in their day and still are.
So long as the previously mentioned players remain, Kerry will remain a top 3 team to be respected and feared. Much like Tyrone of the last few years in that some of the biggest names retired but some remained. O'Neill, Mulligan, The McMahons, Jordan, Gormley, Cavanagh etc. So long as those lads were on the field, you still feared them.

But the facts are the facts. Tomas is another year older. Kerry still have no convincing centre back. Their MF whilst improving, and yes it did do well against Dublin and Cork last year, its still there to be got at. Their defence looks vulnerable and the old heads that marshalled it in rocky days are falling away. You still have the 2 O'Se's of course and you can only respect and admire them.

Gooch is not the player he was. He wasnt last year or the year before that or the year before that. I know people are saying "what is he talking about" etc etc but he just isnt. He is still capable of winning games on his own and he is still when on form THE best forward in Ireland, but he is missing frees, points nowadays that Colm Cooper of the mid 00's never missed and lads have begun to mark him a lot more effectively.
Brian Sheehan for me is still flaky. Yes he kicks a great dead ball, but contrary to what some will tell you, he misses them too, a lot of them! But it seems we are not allowed mention that.
Donaghy had a great final last year, well, a great final ten minutes. But again his form in the last 2 years has also been flaky.
Declan is one of the best footballers i have ever seen. He is my pick of the Kerry forwards, even incl Gooch.
Darran is a bit like Diarmuid Connolly in that he is capable of moments of magic, genius. But he is also more than capable of disappearing out of a game for 20 minutes at a time.

All in all, Kerry still have a stunning panel of talented footballers. They are team you have to respect even if you dont love them.
And on their day, if they play to their maximum they will beat everyone. On their day, Kerry are still the best team in Ireland.

But, They dont have too many of those days anymore. And you cant keep going back to the well and finding these magic performances willy nilly. Time does take its toll and like Tyrone, Kerry are a team of promising young lads with wise classy experienced lads who maybe in the last ten minutes against a younger team can be found out a little bit. Kerrys age profile is not that old but the years take theri toll. A 28 year old in his 10th season is as likely to struggle as a 32 year old in his 6th season.

Kerry could well win Sam this year. Its very very possible. But I dont think they will.
I am not saying this in an arrogant or blue tinted manner, I am only saying what my head says and I honestly believe the next few years are going to see Football dominated by Dublin, Cork and Kildare in the way we had Kerry Armagh and Tyrone in recent years.
Kerry still have the best footballers in Ireland as a whole, but these days, with football gone the way it is, thats almost secondary.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 17/04/2012 09:19:24    1153764

AthCliath

1153735 kerry will be fired up for this years championship, after losing to dublin and mayo with similar leads they will be on a mission, without donaghys mad pass yesterday everyone would be saying they are the team on form. going by league results.

Agreed,

Kerry might lose to Cork in Munster and plod their way through a few qualifier matches. But come quarter final weekend in August I have a feeling some team will be on the end of an unmericful walloping and we'll see then how "done" Kerry are...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10282 - 17/04/2012 09:21:57    1153766

Like other posters have said, the longest period of Kerry's absense from the top table was 87-97. A few things wetre different then.

Coming off the back of the reign of footballs greatest ever team Kerry were in decline, they were opposed in Munster by the greatest Cork team ever, and there was no back door.

Had there been a back door, Kerry would probably have been in the latter stages of all those championships, and may even have snuck an AI. Thus, even if Kerry are poor, they're still better than most others and the back door will ALWAYS see them through to the latter stages.

No Kerry team will ever be done again. This is one of the best teams ever. They probably only have to have two all out performances to win an AI.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 17/04/2012 10:30:37    1153841

The Dubs have convinced me, we are goosed for the next 50 years!! Only Cork can stop Dublin's inevitable domination of Gaelic Football!!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 17/04/2012 10:39:40    1153858

stekhli

they are getting old it has to be said , aidan omahony , eoin bronan , tomas ose , seamus scanlon , paul galvin are all edging towards the end of their careers ,and the new players coming through like bj keane , maguire , enright , lynn and crowley while all decent arent nearly as good as the players on the way out , the lack of underge success in kerry driven by lots of complacency will eventually catch up on them , bound to happen eventually , gooch , donaghy , marc ose , bryan sheehan arent spring chickens anymore it has to be said

if this is the case, dublin must be gonners, tyrone, armagh, galway, killdare, down, derry, donegal dont know what a football look like

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 17/04/2012 10:42:44    1153865

Hoor can I not say what I said without it being taken as a "Dublin Rule, Kerry are useless" mantra when you know well thats not what I said. Why are Dubs not allowed think we just might have a few years in us without being more or less accused of arrogance?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 17/04/2012 11:07:20    1153904

Liam
Gooch is not the player he was. He wasnt last year or the year before that or the year before that. I know people are saying "what is he talking about" etc etc but he just isnt. He is still capable of winning games on his own and he is still when on form THE best forward in Ireland, but he is missing frees, points nowadays that Colm Cooper of the mid 00's never missed and lads have begun to mark him a lot more effectively.
Brian Sheehan for me is still flaky. Yes he kicks a great dead ball, but contrary to what some will tell you, he misses them too, a lot of them! But it seems we are not allowed mention that.
Donaghy had a great final last year, well, a great final ten minutes. But again his form in the last 2 years has also been flaky.
Declan is one of the best footballers i have ever seen. He is my pick of the Kerry forwards, even incl Gooch.
Darran is a bit like Diarmuid Connolly in that he is capable of moments of magic, genius. But he is also more than capable of disappearing out of a game for 20 minutes at a time.

I disagree with the majority of this. The gooch is returning from injury this year. He put on the performance of the championship against mayo last year, and missing frees? Id say you could count them on one hand. He is still very much the player he was
Sheehan is a quality player. he missed a grand total of 1 dead ball in the league semi final, where are all these misses? His form of the lat 2 years has had him in the running for player of the year, what is flaky about that?
I agree donaghy need to up his game, but he is still very capable.
Dec o's is not as good as the gooch. Class maybe, but not in that class.
Darr o's and diarmuid connolly? Please...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 17/04/2012 11:10:22    1153906

Liamwalkinstown

Hoor can I not say what I said without it being taken as a "Dublin Rule, Kerry are useless" mantra when you know well thats not what I said. Why are Dubs not allowed think we just might have a few years in us without being more or less accused of arrogance?

I'm only playing Devils Advocate Liam. Of course Dublin will be around for a while, as will Cork and Kerry. No arrogance on your part lad.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 17/04/2012 11:34:42    1153936

Liamwalkinstown

Ok i am gonna look at this genuinely and not play the "cute kerry hoor" or the "never write of the kingdom" etc etc
The Kerry team of the last 10 years is up there with the Kerry team of 75-86. I think we all agree with that?
The O'Se's, Donaghy, Cooper, The O'Sullivans, O'Mahony & Sheehan were all integral parts of that team in their day and still are.
So long as the previously mentioned players remain, Kerry will remain a top 3 team to be respected and feared. Much like Tyrone of the last few years in that some of the biggest names retired but some remained. O'Neill, Mulligan, The McMahons, Jordan, Gormley, Cavanagh etc. So long as those lads were on the field, you still feared them.

But the facts are the facts. Tomas is another year older. Kerry still have no convincing centre back. Their MF whilst improving, and yes it did do well against Dublin and Cork last year, its still there to be got at. Their defence looks vulnerable and the old heads that marshalled it in rocky days are falling away. You still have the 2 O'Se's of course and you can only respect and admire them.

All in all, Kerry still have a stunning panel of talented footballers. They are team you have to respect even if you dont love them.
And on their day, if they play to their maximum they will beat everyone. On their day, Kerry are still the best team in Ireland.

But, They dont have too many of those days anymore. And you cant keep going back to the well and finding these magic performances willy nilly. Time does take its toll and like Tyrone, Kerry are a team of promising young lads with wise classy experienced lads who maybe in the last ten minutes against a younger team can be found out a little bit. Kerrys age profile is not that old but the years take theri toll. A 28 year old in his 10th season is as likely to struggle as a 32 year old in his 6th season.

Kerry could well win Sam this year. Its very very possible. But I dont think they will.
I am not saying this in an arrogant or blue tinted manner, I am only saying what my head says and I honestly believe the next few years are going to see Football dominated by Dublin, Cork and Kildare in the way we had Kerry Armagh and Tyrone in recent years.
Kerry still have the best footballers in Ireland as a whole, but these days, with football gone the way it is, thats almost secondary.

how are
dublin going to dominating football, what are you basing it on

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 17/04/2012 11:45:19    1153953

We all known there is a fine line between winning and losing, Kerry should have closed out the game on Sunday last, but let Mayo in twice to claim a victory, We have been the most consistent team in the League, and apart from one player error on Sunday last we would be in the final, to write off Kerry is premature, as with every single team in the county there are flaws that need to be rectified, I'd rather discover those flaws in March/April as opposed to finding out in July/August. Cork, Mayo, Dublin, Tyrone and Kildare, Donegal etc all have there weak spots the key for Managers and teams is how to expose those flaws. I wouldn't write us off yet though, the last time that happened in 2009 look what happened.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 17/04/2012 12:07:58    1153989