Gum-shields to be made Compulsory

Probably should be left to personal choice but anything that contributes to the safety of players without interfering with their ability to play the game should be encouraged

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 16/04/2012 21:35:35    1153713

Jock straps and shoulder pads next, American Hurling!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8760 - 16/04/2012 21:37:22    1153716

mylovelyhorse
County: UK

1153577 There would be no need for gumshields if the GAA had a consistent way of punishing lads throwing punches

How would any form of punishment have any healing effect on an injury?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/04/2012 21:37:48    1153717

This is a great idea. It will/should reduce bad mouth injuries, and should reduce the cost of insurance for the GAA.
All kids going out to train for rugby are forced to wear them and they are not an issue.
Go down to your local sports shop, €3, kettle of boiling water and sorted. Start now getting used to them during training and they wont be an issue come the white heat of battle in 2014.
Never heard such a shower of moaners in my life. You wont think ye were talking about water meters or household charges!

Nonsense (Offaly) - Posts: 3 - 17/04/2012 10:26:05    1153832

Art McRory always said to us at school that he had no sympathy for anyone who lost teeth playing football with a gum shield

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 17/04/2012 14:38:57    1154221

wise_guy

1154221 Art McRory always said to us at school that he had no sympathy for anyone who lost teeth playing football with a gum shield.

when we were chaps we used to play hurling with a bean tin

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 17/04/2012 17:31:42    1154483

i seen in yesterdays irish sun that this is coming in from start of 2013 all players up to and including minor will have to wear gum shield and from 2014 all players under 21 and senior will be made wear them too.
i dont agree with this at all i had gum shield specialy made to fit my mouth and i still couldnt wear it as i could not breath right with it on at all i dont know how you can force players to do this as they effect peoples breathing it be very dangerous to make some one have to wear it.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/11/2012 12:41:22    1291581

02/11/2012 12:41:22
hill16no1man
i seen in yesterdays irish sun that this is coming in from start of 2013 all players up to and including minor will have to wear gum shield and from 2014 all players under 21 and senior will be made wear them too.
i dont agree with this at all i had gum shield specialy made to fit my mouth and i still couldnt wear it as i could not breath right with it on at all i dont know how you can force players to do this as they effect peoples breathing it be very dangerous to make some one have to wear it.

To compare it to a sport where most already where a gum shield - rugby
In rugby it is highly recommended to wear one but its only at the younger age groups like u6-u13 that a coach will nearly enforce a policy of wear a gumshield or not play.
Ive had gumshield in and its been uncomfortable but ive never seen anyone not being able to breath while wearing one. (from 15 years of playing a sport where 90% of people wear a gumshield)
They are thieir for the protection of your teeth and if you are foolish enough not to wear one and you do lose teeth/damage your jaw from not wearing one nobody will feel sorry for you and many will call you a fool and a gobsh*te for not wearing a gumshield

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/11/2012 13:00:34    1291592

Awful idea. Impossible to shout at a referee while wearing a gumshield. Total lack of research into this idea

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 02/11/2012 13:15:00    1291603

Think this is great idea and should have been brought in years ago. Not only do they protect your teeth but also offer some concussion protection when you take a big hit.

hound (Meath) - Posts: 234 - 02/11/2012 13:52:19    1291628

ormond

are you trying to call me a liar or something just becuase in rugby they wear them those not mean they should be compulsary ,i am serious i got one moulded by proper dentist who puts blue mould in your mouth to set and when it drys forms the gum shield from that size,i kept finding it impossible to breathe right with it in i just could not get the gum shield to stay in as true reactions i would have to keep spitting it out,i am obviously not the only person as in the same report yesterday it said that despite many inter county and club players having concerns about not beeing bale to breathe properly while wearing gum shields that the gaa have decided to enforce the rule anyway.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/11/2012 13:57:06    1291634

02/11/2012 13:57:06
hill16no1man
ormond, are you trying to call me a liar or something just becuase in rugby they wear them those not mean they should be compulsary ,i am serious i got one moulded by proper dentist who puts blue mould in your mouth to set and when it drys forms the gum shield from that size,i kept finding it impossible to breathe right with it in i just could not get the gum shield to stay in as true reactions i would have to keep spitting it out,i am obviously not the only person as in the same report yesterday it said that despite many inter county and club players having concerns about not beeing bale to breathe properly while wearing gum shields that the gaa have decided to enforce the rule anyway.

No im really calling you a fool not a liar.
Gumshields can sometimes be uncomfortable but the positives of wearing one totally outweigh a slight bit of discomfort.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/11/2012 14:20:05    1291657

its not a fashion statement i am making i am telling you i cannot breathe with one,should i rather my mouth be protected ahead of being able to breathe? you are so blinkered its unreal if rugby players wear this or do that it has to be correct and anybody who objects to it has to be wrong even though they have a real concern in this case.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/11/2012 14:27:06    1291663

02/11/2012 14:27:06
hill16no1man
its not a fashion statement i am making i am telling you i cannot breathe with one,should i rather my mouth be protected ahead of being able to breathe? you are so blinkered its unreal if rugby players wear this or do that it has to be correct and anybody who objects to it has to be wrong even though they have a real concern in this case.

Ive coached kids at 7/8 who say they cant breathe while wearing one but they get used to it and its never as bad as they say. they just imagine its bad.
Dont be arrogant and keep insulting me.
Im not saying people should wear a gumshield because rugby players do im saying people should wear a gumshield as it protects peoples teeth, can potentially save players thousands in dental fee's and is something intelligent people will do

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/11/2012 14:37:45    1291679

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

02/11/2012 14:27:06
hill16no1man

Ive coached kids at 7/8 who say they cant breathe while wearing one but they get used to it and its never as bad as they say. they just imagine its bad.
Dont be arrogant and keep insulting me.
Im not saying people should wear a gumshield because rugby players do im saying people should wear a gumshield as it protects peoples teeth, can potentially save players thousands in dental fee's and is something intelligent people will do

so not only did you call me a fool now you are referring to me as a child like behaviour and you then turn around and say im arrogant and i keep insulting you!!!
yes may protect your dental wallet but its not going to work if you cannot breathe properly with one in there are some people who have a problem wearing them and they arent all kids

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/11/2012 16:49:44    1291753

i know its a bit off topic, but i taught getting rid of astro turf around the goal mouth was supposed to made compulsory this year, havent seen one pitch dig theres up yet?

shotgunwilly (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 02/11/2012 16:56:38    1291758

hill16no1man
so not only did you call me a fool now you are referring to me as a child like behaviour and you then turn around and say im arrogant and i keep insulting you!!!
yes may protect your dental wallet but its not going to work if you cannot breathe properly with one in there are some people who have a problem wearing them and they arent all kids

You can breath properly with a gumshield in your mouth. They cover your top teeth and sit on your teeth and protect your teeth and help reduce the risk of people having to spend thousands and thousands of euro on dental fee's to repair damaged teeth.
They do work and your an idiot if you dont wear one and if the GAA bring in a policy that they are to be compulsory and you remain bull headed and dont wear one get a slap to the face and require dental work im fairly sure you wouldnt be covered by insurance so would face the full costs of getting your face/teeth fixed. Are you really going to be foolish enough to let that happen?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/11/2012 17:17:57    1291769

I'm not sure those €3 gumshields work very well. I've seen lads take one out of their mouth and teeth were stuck into the gumshield - they didn't really protect from damage. You need to get a proper one fitted for your teeth by a dentist and they are not cheap. Most will charge you a consultation fee and then to make one up. You'll prob have to go back then to pick one up. I got one made up and wore it before helmets were compulsory, so in fairness its a while since I got it done. You also risk the chance that some fellas don't do up the €3 ones properly and risk more damage with an improper fitting gumshield.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2480 - 02/11/2012 17:39:43    1291777

Gumshields are a pain in the backside. I've had a few from dentists from the past and they always rub on your gum and hurt! No matter how many times I had them adjusted!

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 02/11/2012 17:53:49    1291784

ormondbannerman
County: Clare
-------------------------------

Whoa, if the guy says he can't breath with a gum shield, then he can't breath with a gumshield, no need to start hurling abuse. What works for most people doesn't necessarily work for everyone. Of course a gumshield should be worn, but it is possible that some people could have a combination of issues (sinus, jaw alignment, etc) that could be made even more problematic by a gumshield, especially if they weren't brought up using one. That doesn't make them a liar or a fool. I know myself, before I started using a facegaurd, I hated using a gumshield due to brutal sinus issues and a wisdom teeth issue.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 02/11/2012 18:06:00    1291793