Gum-shields to be made Compulsory

From 2014 all players will be required to wear gum-shields. We all know the benefits of such a rule but I have to say I think alot of kids will be turned off playing Gaelic Football if they have to wear these things if they are uncomfortable. I never wore them myself but I'm sure someone here has. Are they comfortable or not?

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 15/04/2012 12:15:13    1152172

Who was pushing this rule?
gum shield makers?

How did players survive until now?
its health and safety gone mad

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1903 - 15/04/2012 13:03:44    1152204

my young lad wears them. he went to the dentist and the dentist has a way to make it fit perfectly in your mouth..my lad has no problem with it and its comfortable on him however its a lot of hassle and will turn off young lads..ridiculous rule in my opinion..! sure you never see that many injuries to the teeth..!! they will have them wearing skull caps next..!!head injuries are a lot more common also..!!

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 320 - 15/04/2012 13:05:40    1152208

Terrible idea IMO. Impossible to shout/talk with them in. In 2014 you'll see a lot of gum shields in hands and not in mouths.

HowManyStepsRef (Donegal) - Posts: 302 - 15/04/2012 13:11:51    1152212

was thinking for a while about getting one anyway. any advice if getting one made by the dentist is any more comfortable than just buying one?

tyroneled (Tyrone) - Posts: 69 - 15/04/2012 13:16:47    1152213

tyrone led..

yea the one made buy the dentist is a lot more comfortable than the one you buy.. it fits perfectly in your mouth and you dont feel it.. however the costs are a lot higher..!

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 320 - 15/04/2012 13:29:08    1152221

If you go to your dentist you can get one fitted perfectly in your club/county colours as well as your name printed on it. Can talk and breathe perfectly with one in.
The reason this rule was brought in though was because the GAA were paying out a fortune for lads getting their teeth fixed. Good rule imo.

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 15/04/2012 13:41:14    1152230

Down to the sports shop, €3 and a bit of boiling water.. away ya go.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 15/04/2012 13:45:20    1152235

HowManyStepsRef

Terrible idea IMO. Impossible to shout/talk with them in. In 2014 you'll see a lot of gum shields in hands and not in mouths.

Yeah will be a big issue for the Donegal squad anyways. How are they supposed to verbally abuse and intimidate opponents and referees with it stuck in their mouth? Not since free taking from the hands came in will a rule change have such an effect on a team's tactics...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/04/2012 13:45:42    1152236

In fairness to the gaa I was just reading that alot of it has to do with insurance costs.If a player loses a tooth the Gaa foots the bill and a single tooth could cost as much as 2500 quid.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 15/04/2012 13:50:31    1152241

Most stupid rule ever. How players will be forced to wear these yoke is beyond me. I wont wear one anyway.

bigman2 (Tipperary) - Posts: 1202 - 15/04/2012 16:00:49    1152335

^They said that about helmets in Hurling too.

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 15/04/2012 16:34:09    1152369

You cant force someone to wear one but every footballer should wear one.
You are crazy to go onto a pitch without one as the potential cost to you if you get a slap in the mouth is way too big
Road, you are crazy if you think kids will be turned off playing gaelic or hurling because they have to wear a gumshield. Some wont like it but they will just get used to wearing one and just carry on playing

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 15/04/2012 16:42:46    1152377

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

1152377 You cant force someone to wear one but every footballer should wear one.

Indeed not, but you can refuse to let them play without one.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 15/04/2012 17:53:47    1152453

bigman2
County: Tipperary

Most stupid rule ever. How players will be forced to wear these yoke is beyond me. I wont wear one anyway.

Living up to your name anyway big man.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13803 - 15/04/2012 18:15:31    1152480

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

Are they compulsory in rugby

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 15/04/2012 18:20:32    1152486

bigman2
County: Tipperary

Thats grand until you loose a tooth and then your out on your own!

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 15/04/2012 18:46:17    1152521

i think there is no call for this rule, health and safety is going too far now, in the hurling i agree with helmets but a gumshield should not be made compulsary, i have a condition were i cannot breathe through my nose and back at school we wer suplied gumsheilds by dental surgeons and even though fitted by them i still had trouble breathing with it in, i personall for health reasons could not wear one.

crazyhorse01 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 2 - 15/04/2012 19:24:56    1152560

They are a pain to wear, but a good idea IMO..they aint expense and a mate of mine got 5 of his teeth knocked out in a club game few years ago...cost alot of money and missed a lot of college getting them sorted by dentist etc also...not sure if club paid for it but i know he wears the shield anymore!!!

pridengalway (Galway) - Posts: 327 - 15/04/2012 20:24:02    1152626

/04/2012 19:24:56
crazyhorse01
County: Fermanagh

1152560 i think there is no call for this rule, health and safety is going too far now, in the hurling i agree with helmets but a gumshield should not be made compulsary, i have a condition were i cannot breathe through my nose and back at school we wer suplied gumsheilds by dental surgeons and even though fitted by them i still had trouble breathing with it in, i personall for health reasons could not wear one.

You cant say its "health and safety is going too far". Its not.
The risk of losing teeth playing football without one is high and IMO somebody is stupid(not suggesting/implying you are crazyhorse) going out onto a pitch not wearing one.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 15/04/2012 20:35:55    1152644