Kildare's humiliation of Meath continues...

Thats rubbish Jinxie. We've beaten Meath 6 times in a row and come summer that'll be 7 times in a row. I'd go as far as to say you could take the best half of our team and replace them with squad players and we'd still beat Meath. Thats how far Kildare are ahead of Meath. Meath beat Tyrone and Mayo when they were on the way down and Dublin who were so cock sure they'd beat Meath they were in full experimental mode.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 09/03/2012 17:18:52    1126071

derfil1

1126071 Thats rubbish Jinxie. We've beaten Meath 6 times in a row and come summer that'll be 7 times in a row. I'd go as far as to say you could take the best half of our team and replace them with squad players and we'd still beat Meath. Thats how far Kildare are ahead of Meath. Meath beat Tyrone and Mayo when they were on the way down and Dublin who were so cock sure they'd beat Meath they were in full experimental mode.

6 Times? Is it not 5?

Also, its ok for you to discredit Meaths wins over Tyrone Mayo and Dublin by saying they were on the way down, so why not say you are only beating Meath because they are on their way down?
Its just more spin.

We could counter that by saying we beat a serious Tyrone team as the came back and won the All Ireland the following year, and Likewise when we beat dublin they came back and won the AI the following year. hardly teams on the way down are they?

Feel free to celebrate your "humiliation" tho.

As waynoi pointed out, some of ye Kildare people get very wound up if this incredible record ye have of late is questioned at all.

Will ye be having a 25 year celebration of these pointless victories in years to come?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 09/03/2012 17:33:04    1126078

what will we remember in 15 years time? wayno you might want to forget teams that represented dublin because they havent won anything isnt that what you said ? nobody remembers dominance or no of times a team wins another team so you want to forget the teams that were in the blue and navy from 95 - 2011.. ill tell you wayno your not a great gaa fan in the overall scheme of things if thats what your about..teams can give great games and thriller of matches in semi's,qualifiers and quarters and just come up short in the end.it is not all about finals!

this current crop of kildare players might not win anything or might win something but i will remember them in 15 years and any team that has wore the white jersey and gave blood,sweat and tears and made sacrifies like social and family occasions just to represent kildare.did the 98' team win sam in the end no! do i remember them nearly 15 years on course we do!! and i am did well proud of them.
you may say to me see that the difference with kildare and dublin we will settle for just that and not winning but you know what i thank this current panel for allowing me to be standing in croke park in the white proud as can be and i will not forget it!. sometimes winning isnt always everything.
good day sir,
cill dara abu!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 09/03/2012 19:52:12    1126162

Always nice to beat Meath in Navan. Makes it all the better when the six bestest forwards were on the losing side. How the bookies dont have us favs for the Ai is beyond me.

That is all.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 09/03/2012 20:10:16    1126174

Winning is everything lilywhitemagic!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 09/03/2012 20:15:21    1126178

People remember great sides that came close in their own county, people outside the county only remember what was won and when.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 09/03/2012 21:03:20    1126206

nobody remembers dominance or no of times a team wins another team so you want to forget the teams that were in the blue and navy from 95 - 2011 ?.. ill tell you wayno your not a great gaa fan in the overall scheme of things if thats what your about

nobody remembers dominance or no of times a team wins another team so you want to forget the teams that were in the blue and navy from 95 - 2011 - Did i specifically say that i want to forget teams that were in blue and navy from 95-2011 ? - Well ? Did i ? Cause if i said those words, Show me..

Im not saying forget them, I dont forget Dublin teams of the past because i support the Dubs, But i wouldnt remember other teams who went on runs beating other teams between 2000 and 2011 for example and that is exactly my point. Losers dont matter in the grand scheme of things, If we went on a run Winning 4 or 5 games in a row against Meath or Westmeath in Leinster yet didnt win a leinster, Do you really think a neutral would remember that in years to come ? "Oh yeh Kildare won 3 leinsters from 2012-2018 but remember Dublin beat Meath 5 times in a row" ? Nobody cares about losers unless its your own team who are on the recieving end of a beaten in a final or important game.

As a Dub, I remember teams from years when we didnt win an all ireland. I remember defeats against Tyrone , Mayo , Kerry , Tyrone again .. And they are defeats and teams that will live with me forever, But thats because i support that team. If you asked me who Tyrone beat 4 or 5 times in a row between 2006 and 2011 i wouldnt have a clue , However if you then said do you remember how many times Tyrone won Ulster between 2006 and 2011 i would say yes, They won it three times , Oh and they won an All ireland in 08 too .. Would i remember who beat Kildare beat or didnt beat in the championship this year ? No , Again proving my point that unless you are a fan of a county, losers are not remembered and stupid little runs of beaten a team x,y and z times doesnt matter a jot".

Kildare are not bottlers, Im not suggesting they are, Nor am i suggesting the same for Meath, The main argument i am making is that okay, You beat meath 5 times in a row, But people wont remember that in years to come, People will remember teams who won things and in that time of dominance over Meath, Yous have won nothing, And they have.

If your happy with 5 wins against a muck Meath team in a row , Fantastic, Great for you , But to the rest of us in years to come , Unless Kildare win Leinsters and win an all ireland, Nobody will remember or care about this or any run of games you win against a certain opposition. And thats the end of it.

Your personal remarks about me not being a great fan are also pathetic

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/03/2012 21:15:11    1126214

The only common denominator for both, is that neither would trouble Dublin, Kerry, Cork and possibly Tyrone right at this moment

_________

I think both teams would trouble the four teams you mentioned, It would never be an easy game as such. But id be more worried about Meath, A team with a tradition of winning Leinster titles and All Irelands , Than someone like Kildare who despite having their best side in manys a year , Havnt managed to win a thing nor even gain promotion to division 1. And this is not a anti Kildare post, Its a fact. Kildare are a fantastic side and have hugely talented players, But they havent won anything and although McGeeney has certainly done an awful lot for this side , He and his players have not delivered the succes their fans deserve.......yet.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/03/2012 21:22:39    1126219

the Gatekeeper sometimes tis the journey that gets you there thats everything!.not just the winning. your right ath claith
it is only kildare folk that can say what will be edged in their memories of the kildare panel that under mc geeneys reign..my little nephew picked up a gaelic footbal because in his own words ''wanted to be like emmet bolton'' will he remember this panel if they dont win!? when he's older, i think he will as it is because of them he wanted to start playing gaelic football in the first place.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 09/03/2012 21:32:10    1126227

09/03/2012 20:10:16

sedico

Always nice to beat Meath in Navan. Makes it all the better when the six bestest forwards were on the losing side. How the bookies dont have us favs for the Ai is beyond me.

That is all.

Meath beat teams rated above them in tyrone, dublin, mayo, kildare highest rated wins are meath 5 times yes but still best they beat was meath. In the past 5 years we have won leinster and reached 2 ai semis. Kildare have won 0 lein and reached 1 semi. There is no doubt kildare have the ability but just can't seem to follow it through. I doubt very much that kildare will make it 6 if we do meet in leinster this year. I just think the tide is turning again. As these things do. Meath are by no means a top team but on there day they will fight tooth and nail to beat a top team its a kind of in there dna like dublin kerry,cork. Tradition something kildare do not have at there disposal so are meath better than kildare ? No. But who would have better chance of a shock victory over the likes of kerry cork dublin mayo or tyrone yes that's right meath.
But this is a pointless argument. The remainder of league will tell us what we can expect in summer

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/03/2012 22:05:19    1126592

Royal we're unbeaten 6 in a row against Meath and a couple of good championship trimmings in there as well. For Kildare playing Meath is like Christmas. You just know it'll end well. You'd do well to recognise Dublin beat us by a point last year after a shocking ref decision. It's with a few tweaks, possible to turn that around. Meath to beat Dublin would be a major shock. Every other match we've lost in the last few years have all been tight matches. Like I said earlier you can't say because we beat xyz in the past we're better than them. Football doesn't work like that. The facts are we beat you we're better than you. I've no doubt when you beat Dublin its because Dublin had an experimental full back line in place and were playing with a new shape whereby they allowed teams come on to them before hitting them on the break. Grand Meath had a lucky day, actually had a lucky Leinster that year as Louth were the better team in the Leinster final as well. I think for a while now a lot in Meath were looking to the past and have been caught on the hop and passed out by Kildare. Banty was a good appiontment because he was an outsider and would have no loyalties. His problem is the players at his disposal. We know they'll work hard and give their all but from 1-9 Kildare are a country mile ahead of Meath in terms of quality of player. If we match your work rate your in trouble as you'll be looking for breaks to catch us, aka last Sat night. I've no doubt with the sun on our backs in Croker we will hand Meaths ass to them on a plate.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 11/03/2012 10:50:11    1126635

Ok derfill. Yet again you show either a lack of basic knowledge about football or you can't count. Cause it is 5 wins and hear is proof

Navan 2012 league
Navan 2011 ai qualifier
Croke park 2011 leinster
Newbridge 2011 league
Croke park 2011 all ire q f
Ok got that ? That's 5
Navan 2010 league. MEATH WON.

So that makes 5. Not 6. And it will not be 6. Kildare make a lot about winning against dublin only for ref (a continuous excuse when you loose). But you completely ignore when refs are on your side, look at last saturday we should have had 3 frees in last 5 minutes and got none. But we have tradition of winning so we don't complain. Kildare have won nothing and will continue to win nothing. And yous are happy with the tag also rans because in kildare world that means something as counties with tradition it means nothing. Win something then we may listen but until then. Well I won't finish that

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/03/2012 11:44:07    1126652

Croke park 2010 not 11

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/03/2012 11:55:00    1126656

Someone please put an end to this God awful, pointless and s**t stirring thread.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 11/03/2012 12:39:38    1126674

I'll second that Richieq

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3070 - 11/03/2012 13:36:33    1126701

Yeah great title to have up on the main page for so long

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/03/2012 18:49:32    1126971

I always like shouting for the underdog...

C'mon Meath regroup and try your best to stay in Div 2...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/03/2012 19:06:23    1126983

11/03/2012 12:39:38
Richieq

Someone please put an end to this God awful, pointless and s**t stirring thread.

----------------------------------

Hell no, it keeps Royaldunne off the Kildare board

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 11/03/2012 19:19:25    1127000