Kildare's humiliation of Meath continues...

Louths 1957 all Ireland winning captain, the Late Dermot O Brien, learned his football skills playing for a north Meath club.

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 06/03/2012 13:35:27    1123677

Ollie wanted names of Louth people obsessed with Meath in a previous thread. I think this thread provides more than enough.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1466 - 06/03/2012 13:55:09    1123696

Ah lads ease up on the Louth boys, they've been slaughtered at this stage.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/03/2012 13:57:15    1123698

NAIL_BAR

Louths 1957 all Ireland winning captain, the Late Dermot O Brien, learned his football skills playing for a north Meath club.

Joe Sherdian learned his rugby skills with a Mid Louth club.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 06/03/2012 14:07:55    1123717

JinxyPoop
County: UK

1123371 Sure half the Meath team were born in Dublin...

wrong...Louth actually!

the seal (Meath) - Posts: 583 - 06/03/2012 14:20:31    1123736

rath_togh

"squidword

"Meath's first senior All-Ireland came in 1949 thanks to the farmers from the west. FACT"

What's your problem with people from the west coming to live in Meath? Jealousy I'd say? Did you know that people from the west are Irish too? Far more Irish than the Garrison that makes up some of county Louth. People have migrated in the past and still do today for different reasons today and depend on the broadmindedness and welcoming of people less ignorant than yourself. To ease somewhat your ignorance on this subject let me tell you that Louth themselves would not have won the 1957 All-Ireland without 2 Mayomen at midfield Kevin Behan and Dan O'Neill.

These aren't lads who's parents moved to Louth or who came to Louth as small babies. Both were former Mayo footballers living in Louth who kindly threw their lot in with your county.

Louth have a long history of migrant influx from the 6 counties, border Gardai, teachers, commuters working in Dublin etc but you have nothing to show for it in 55 years but 2 soccer teams and 2 arrests in a Leinster final.

All of your posts Squidword are Meath related, on the Meath and National thread. You rarely post on your Louth page unless it is Meath related. An unhealthy obsession!"

rath_togh

You've just made a complete fool of yourself on this forum

Kevin Behan was not a Mayo man, he was an Ardee man through and through.

You'd want to educate yourself a little better before you start spouting any more nonsense about easing other folks ignorance.

I never saw Dan O'Neill play, but from what I'm told he was a a terrific footballer. Dan however never won a senior All-Ireland with his native Mayo, he only realised that when he moved to work in Louth, so for you to say that "Louth themselves would not have won the 1957 All-Ireland without 2 Mayomen at midfield Kevin Behan and Dan O'Neill" is wrong and foolhardy of you.

Regarding the other issues you raised, is it any wonder that Louth have a long history of migrant influx giving whats on offer in the Wee county. You guys have to go elsewhere to get 3 level education or hospital treatment. God damn it you don't even have a rail structure in place. Meath is one county that's stuck in the past and really hasn't moved on a whole lot not even during the Celtic tiger era.

It wont be long before Pairc Tailteann will have a status similar to that of NewGrange.

Ps I don't have any problem with the good people of the West, I merly pointed out that Meath won nothing until the people from the West arrived and brought football with them to your county.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 06/03/2012 14:25:06    1123745

To be honest I was just making it up...

Ha! Half the Meath team was born in Louth...

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 06/03/2012 14:31:37    1123753

the seal

JinxyPoop

1123371 Sure half the Meath team were born in Dublin...

wrong...Louth actually!

It all depends on where you are in Meath. You can throw in Mullingar and Cavan aswel.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 06/03/2012 14:32:00    1123756

Just another thread to have a go at Meath for no reason,If anything Meath are improving.Kildare are a very good side too.This was by far Kildare's best performance of the year.If Meath could sort out their midfield problem,well they are as good as pretty much anyone.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/03/2012 15:26:32    1123800

squidword

Thanks for your concern regarding our hospital, rail services and infrastructure I'll forward the link on to the Meath C.C & local government reps if you like?

You are right I did make a mistake but hardly "just made a complete fool" of myself. Seamie O'Donnell at right half forward was the other former Mayo player and not Behan as earlier stated - My Bad! 2 former Mayo players played in the 1957 All-Ireland winning Louth team. For the record I'm glad they did, driving back and forth to Mayo wasn't what it is now I'm sure.

"You guys have to go elsewhere to get 3 level education" So do you if you get more than 2 honours in the L.C

"Meath is one county that's stuck in the past and really hasn't moved on a whole lot not even during the Celtic tiger era." You're right we haven't much to thank Bill Clinton or the Good Friday agreement for. We might become part of a project yet. I mean that not to begrudge but to remind you that much of what was pumped into Louth wasn't by way of any Louth genius but geographically where she lies.

is it any wonder that Louth have a long history of migrant influx giving whats on offer in the Wee county What's that?

Meath won nothing until the people from the West arrived and brought football with them to your county. Your problem is you're not getting any reaction to your little jibes. 3/5 of this generation are the blood related in some way to the people who came to Meath from the Galway, Mayo, Sligo (myself), Donegal, Clare and Kerry with the Land Commission and rather than be hurt by it are obviously proud of whom their father's and forefather's are and where our people came from.

If you were as 'educated' as you let on to be on the matter you would know that both Westmeath and Kildare estates were divided up to the same extent by the Land Commission yet nobody says much because they don't have 7 All-Irelands to show.

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 06/03/2012 15:30:27    1123804

06/03/2012 14:31:37
JinxyPoop

1123753 To be honest I was just making it up...

Ha! Half the Meath team was born in Louth...

im sure we'd all rather that than to be born in londan....uk.ha!

the seal (Meath) - Posts: 583 - 06/03/2012 15:30:53    1123805

doublehop

You are right,because of Meath's poor midfield,our forwards can go 10-15 minutes without seeing a ball!! still I believe O'Rourke and Tom Walsh could be a good combo..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/03/2012 15:34:50    1123812

Squid, people from the west may or may not have helped us to win our first All-Irelands, I don't really know or mind to be honest, we're a welcoming bunch us Royals, just look at the amount of Dubs we took in over the last decade or so and all they brought with them was dutch gold and this grass that makes you feel happy and relaxed (much obliged by the way). But anyway I have to say that if you read your posts about Meath (which curiously is probably what the vast majority of your posts are about) out loud, they sound a lot like a Nurembreg rally, I just don't think your hatred of Meath is healthy squid that's all. I mean I don't mind wums who are funny but your posts make you look like someone who's obsessed squid, kinda like a really unfunny version of Wile Coyote.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/03/2012 15:44:19    1123823

ah kildare. our bogey team since 98. every time they field a half decent team they seem to beat us. i used to hate them around the 98 period but i dont mind them anymore, even after all the frustrating defeats recently. if meath dont win the all-ireland, hopefully they do

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4211 - 06/03/2012 15:56:50    1123835

I think the thread on the Galway page (Galway v Meath) started by the Louth man says it all.

They have an unhealthy obsession with us alright. Quite a sad bunch.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 06/03/2012 15:58:03    1123837

and its actually baffling how many people took the title of the thread up wrong, thinking he was refering to just the league match on saturday as a humiliation, instead of our 5 or 6 defeats in a row to kildare. it is getting humiliating at this stage, being continually battered by the traditional 3rd/4th team of leinster (you could argue offaly as being traditionally the 3rd best but i reckon kildare shade them to that honour)

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4211 - 06/03/2012 16:06:07    1123846

32_4_1

1123846 and its actually baffling how many people took the title of the thread up wrong, thinking he was refering to just the league match on saturday as a humiliation, instead of our 5 or 6 defeats in a row to kildare. it is getting humiliating at this stage, being continually battered by the traditional 3rd/4th team of leinster (you could argue offaly as being traditionally the 3rd best but i reckon kildare shade them to that honour)

THANK GOD THERES ONE FELLA WITH A BIT OF SENSE...

Right you're from Meath so well it doesnt count.... ;)

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 06/03/2012 16:36:30    1123890

Seems thread is going a little wayward, but I'll just say that the humiliation reference is stupid, as many posters have already alluded to

It seems this was an absolute cracker of a game from what I saw in the highlights or read in columns etc

Assuming these 2 meet in the Leinster Semi, man that could be one of the best games Leinster has seen in years

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/03/2012 10:47:42    1125044

32_4_1

Ah well theres another one... fair play to you for being so honest.

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 08/03/2012 11:18:58    1125058

I wouldn't get too caught up in the latest statistics of how many times kildare have beaten us on the trot. It's a swings and roundabouts thing. The statistics show that the head to head in wins in the league is Meath 17 Kildare 13 so the still have a few to go before the start dominating that statistic. I don't have championship statistics but in my time of watching Meath over the past 35 years I would say Meath are probably slightly ahead in the head to head. If anyone has some statistics pls let me know.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1210 - 08/03/2012 13:39:24    1125180