05/03/2012 14:47:58
Htaem County: Meath Posts: 3394
I'd share a few of your sentiments royaldunne, I might not be quite as confident as yourself but there were signs on saturday that Banty is trying to mold us into a more modern team, now I love the catch and kick style as much as the next man but it won't win you many games these days unfortunetely so it's time to move on. My only real issue is that I don't think we really have the players to challenge for serious honours, ok at a push I'd say Leinster is in reach but Kildare are extremely comfortable playing against us now and Dublin are the champs so it will be very very tough. Ps finally royaldunne I think you shouldn't really bother responding to gammy_knee, he's a nothing poster and no more, it's hardly worth your time reading his posts much less responding
Yes your right htaem he is so ashamed of his home county (louth) he won't even give it in his user name.
Yep agreement with you and I know one swallow doesn't make a summer but if we can get mid field improved I really think we have a great chance of leinster. That will do for this year. Anyway great to see the swagger back and although I was a fan of banty in beginning I think his system will get the rewards it deserves
C'mon the ROYAL
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/03/2012 17:38:07
If midfield is a problem area for Meath, why don't they just try to sign Dermot Earley or Daryl Flynn or someone?
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 05/03/2012 17:48:05
05/03/2012 17:48:05
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 7027
If midfield is a problem area for Meath, why don't they just try to sign Dermot Earley or Daryl Flynn or someone?
Hahahahaha. Very good
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/03/2012 18:07:31
Yeah....well done Breff.Great stuff.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 05/03/2012 18:18:55
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 7027
1123219 If midfield is a problem area for Meath, why don't they just try to sign Dermot Earley or Daryl Flynn or someone?
They could try, but just like Johnston both Earley and Flynn want to play for Kildare.
derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 05/03/2012 18:23:12
If you can't win with men from your own county what's the point? We don't want any mercenaries. We have a tradition of football you see.
Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 05/03/2012 19:16:20
JinxyPoop
Ah not at all Jinxy, nothing taken to heart, sure anyway generally you'll get as good as you give here on HS.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/03/2012 19:34:43
Htaem County: Meath Posts: 3395
1123317 JinxyPoop
Ah not at all Jinxy, nothing taken to heart, sure anyway generally you'll get as good as you give here on HS. ________________
Ha! Good stuff... as I said before I'm well up for the challenge. Breff missed that bit...
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 05/03/2012 19:44:49
Ah well, we came close to actually having a football discussion there but now we are back to this rubbish again. I swear another few weeks listening to this and I'll nearly do a full U-turn on it and drive Seanie Johnston up and down from Cavan myself just to sicken the lot of ye.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 05/03/2012 20:07:17
ounty: Meath
"If you can't win with men from your own county what's the point? We don't want any mercenaries. We have a tradition of football you see."
Really.......
Meath never won anything until the land commission provided the farmers from the west of Ireland with land to farm in Meath. It wasn't until then that Meath started to become some way competitive. FACT.
squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 05/03/2012 20:20:55
Sure half the Meath team were born in Dublin...
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 05/03/2012 20:28:13
squidword
Meath never won anything until the land commission provided the farmers from the west of Ireland with land to farm in Meath. It wasn't until then that Meath started to become some way competitive. FACT.
Well in fairness now you're wrong again squid (although I'm sure that's an all too familiar feeling for you at this stage), Meath made their first All-Ireland senior final in 1895 (played in 1896, as you do and way before Dev moved anybody east) against Tipperary losing by a single point, which it has to be said was a horrendous decision by the official.
The ref later stated that he shouldn't have awarded the point but what did we do? magnanimous Meath decided not to complain or appeal the decision and get on with life, pity a few others couldn't learn from our example!
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/03/2012 20:39:15
Coylers Elbow County: Meath Posts: 879
1123299 If you can't win with men from your own county what's the point? We don't want any mercenaries. We have a tradition of football you see.
Your username is closer to what the Meath tradition is all about:-)
derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 05/03/2012 20:55:22
4 club teams participated, so making the final was some achievement. Meath's first senior All-Ireland came in 1949 thanks to the farmers from the west. FACT
squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 05/03/2012 21:38:54
doublehop County: Kildare Posts: 1645
1123352 Ah well, we came close to actually having a football discussion there but now we are back to this rubbish again. I swear another few weeks listening to this and I'll nearly do a full U-turn on it and drive Seanie Johnston up and down from Cavan myself just to sicken the lot of ye.
Haha, it was cheap shot, I know. I just couldn't help myself!
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 06/03/2012 09:36:30
JinxyPoop County: UK Posts: 1123
1123330 Htaem County: Meath Posts: 3395
1123317 JinxyPoop
Ah not at all Jinxy, nothing taken to heart, sure anyway generally you'll get as good as you give here on HS. ________________
Ha! Good stuff... as I said before I'm well up for the challenge. Breff missed that bit...
I didn't miss a thing jinxy, sure you're still whinging. How many smileys do I need to use for you to realise I'm joking. :) :):) :):) :):) :):) :):) :):) :):) :):) :):) :):) :):) :)
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 06/03/2012 09:38:29
Listen squid I don't normally bother engaging with posters like yourself (the unhealthy obsession type) because it's a pointless exercise but who knows maybe you'll have an epiphany when I educate you........plus I'm bored. Meath did indeed get to the 1895 final beating only one team, but that team was Dublin Young Irelands who'd just won 3 of the last 4 All-Irelands and were a fine little team by all accounts so fairplay to us on that one. Yes we did win our first AI in 1949 but that was largely thanks to Meath for being ahead of Cavan when time was up (this is a very common method of determining a winner in Gaelic Football and indeed Hurling, FACT!) this is in stark contrast to how Louth won their first AI which unless I'm very much mistaken was by "the two sweetest words in the english language de fault! de fault! de fault!"
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/03/2012 10:03:08
Jinxypoop
"Sure half the Meath team were born in Dublin..."
You must be an anthropologist of sorts, which would be why you carry the UK as your County? Dublin Castle is no more than a dining room these times. Let Cromwell go, it'll help you be less bitter and small with your fellow Irish men
rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 06/03/2012 10:26:51
squidword
"Meath's first senior All-Ireland came in 1949 thanks to the farmers from the west. FACT"
What's your problem with people from the west coming to live in Meath? Jealousy I'd say? Did you know that people from the west are Irish too? Far more Irish than the Garrison that makes up some of county Louth. People have migrated in the past and still do today for different reasons today and depend on the broadmindedness and welcoming of people less ignorant than yourself. To ease somewhat your ignorance on this subject let me tell you that Louth themselves would not have won the 1957 All-Ireland without 2 Mayomen at midfield Kevin Behan and Dan O'Neill.
These aren't lads who's parents moved to Louth or who came to Louth as small babies. Both were former Mayo footballers living in Louth who kindly threw their lot in with your county.
Louth have a long history of migrant influx from the 6 counties, border Gardai, teachers, commuters working in Dublin etc but you have nothing to show for it in 55 years but 2 soccer teams and 2 arrests in a Leinster final.
All of your posts Squidword are Meath related, on the Meath and National thread. You rarely post on your Louth page unless it is Meath related. An unhealthy obsession!
rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 06/03/2012 10:58:53
Great rant rath-togh. Louth got a little help and were happy to get it. Kildare get a little help and are happy about it. Meath got a lot of help and have to rant to try to convince themselves and others that its untrue. Chill out.
georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 06/03/2012 13:01:57