Not overly dramatic Real Kerry Fan, Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 17/02/2012 14:27:04 1113656 Link 0 |
So lads being left with broken jaws etc with thousands in medical bills isn't dramatic enough. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 17/02/2012 14:33:18 1113668 Link 0 |
Pavel got a raw deal. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 17/02/2012 14:38:03 1113676 Link 0 |
The ugly side of the GAA, feel very sorry for the OP and the situation he has got himself into. You where well within your rights to go to An Gardai but the reaction from your club in regards to that is a lot to be desired. ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1660 - 17/02/2012 14:47:30 1113684 Link 0 |
While I sympathise with you about your injuries I'd tend to agree with the fellow members of your club. What happens on the pitch should stay on the pitch. It's a contact sport, there's a few slaps handed out, shake hands at the end of the match and forget about it. Going to the Police about every single thing that happens on a GAA pitch is a dangerous road to go down pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 17/02/2012 15:58:45 1113738 Link 0 |
17/02/2012 15:58:45 ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 17/02/2012 16:11:57 1113754 Link 0 |
as i said in aprevious sport, we all say its a mans game, which it is, and we all criticise other sports for the unmanly nature/sportsmanship, yet when it comes to discipline in our own game and sanctions, we try every trick in the book to get off- wrong spelling of name, ref report not in on time etc. we can be 2 faced at times.. you are dead right to take it further. the culprit deserves whats coming to him. old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 17/02/2012 16:18:49 1113758 Link 0 |
pplocal, should that carry through to what happens in the stands of a gaa ground too? like say for biting a lads ear? sur they re all men after all, and it is the gaa...... old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 17/02/2012 16:21:02 1113759 Link 0 |
pplocal, daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 17/02/2012 16:23:19 1113760 Link 0 |
"Striking or attempting to strike". daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 17/02/2012 16:25:55 1113762 Link 0 |
Was this out of the blue Daytona? Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 17/02/2012 16:30:59 1113766 Link 0 |
I don't think you can compare what happens on the street to what happen in the passion of a GAA match. I, like the vast majority of people on here I'd imagine, have given and taken punches, kicks etc. during a match. Should I face prosecution? pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 17/02/2012 16:31:23 1113767 Link 0 |
PPlocal, daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 17/02/2012 16:39:05 1113771 Link 0 |
we all have! but putting on a jersey doesnt mean you can do so and always get away with it. professional soccer players can sue for loss of earnings if its shown their was deliberate intent to injure. why does being in a jersey cover you from something so malicous? this man played gaa as much or maybe more than you or me, so i m sure he doesnt take this case lighty. theres a differnce between the run of the mill physical encounter, and an assualt. so what do you make of what happened in the stand in your own county? should that have been left and nothing done about it? old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 17/02/2012 16:45:05 1113776 Link 0 |
I never taught that I'd bring geographical location into an argument but we've had 2 posters on here from Tyrone pretty much condoning assaults on the field and at gaa matchs. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 17/02/2012 16:52:22 1113779 Link 0 |
You have raised 2 issues in my eyes- bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 17/02/2012 17:08:34 1113789 Link 0 |
I think it's probably just that in Tyrone we're told it's a man's sport and these things happen, running to the Police isn't really an option. Players from certain other counties do seem to be a lot softer indeed pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 17/02/2012 17:11:18 1113792 Link 0 |
daytona11 Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 17/02/2012 17:13:50 1113793 Link 0 |
pplocal, ya wonder why a lot of people outside your county didnt have much support for derrytresk? being men, cost them an all ireland.. plenty of men have played the game at higher levels than us, playe dfair and were men. old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 17/02/2012 17:27:31 1113804 Link 0 |
Daytona11 TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 17/02/2012 17:47:58 1113822 Link 0 |