NFL Division One: Discussion on a very competitive group

gaelantrim - what have you got against Kerry? Did they beat yous in the hurling?

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 12/02/2012 16:21:24    1109948

Div 1 is wide open now boys, won't be much between relegation and semi-finals!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 12/02/2012 18:00:32    1110062

The Road I would be delighted if Galway could beat Kerry but as ive said they showed a serious lack of guts. I want to see Galway win actually.They would be a county i admire ,but just seem to fold , in recent meetings with the kingdom. I aways like counties who stand up to the Kerry dark side. Armagh do it , as do Tyrone. Galway sadly dont.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 12/02/2012 18:41:36    1110114

Great to see the dubs show what they are capable of, roc is pure class and one strong lad. connolly was getting in front of his man and scoring like against tyrone when he plays well it really makes somedifference just need more consistancy from him. sending of changed the game.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/02/2012 18:54:03    1110133

Neither do Antrim.Galway did quite well against kerry in 2008,but even if they didnt,theres no shame in losing to Kerry.Im not denying that galways record against the Kingdom isnt great.In fact i have no problem in admittting that galway are currently no where near all ireland contenders.And whats with this "dark side" business?just because they are by a mile the most successful county in gaelic football dosent mean they are bad people.
When Antrim beat kerry (not that that is going to happen,ever) then you can boast.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 12/02/2012 19:01:44    1110147

breakingball22
County: Louth

kerry being booed?

I was listening / watching TG4 and the commentators were clear on who was being booed !!!! The Referee

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 12/02/2012 19:37:23    1110205

Athclaith 'the roc' is my favourite player he is brilliant and hard as nails, what a find he has been for the dubs at full back.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/02/2012 19:45:55    1110221

Hes some man alright, and not even near his prime, full-backs get better with age!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 12/02/2012 19:56:15    1110243

He can give it and take it , took one hell of a hard tackle yesterday ,got up and got on with it ,has a great sense of positioning too.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/02/2012 20:13:21    1110272

Some Kerry players seem to have "stayed on too long",Jack O`Connor seems to be running out of ideas and many of the old guard are having serious problems with their discipline when opponnets have the temerity to contest their space. Cork wont be shaking in their shoes about this years Munster championship.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 12/02/2012 20:41:12    1110304

gaelantrim

Jealous at all are ya?? hanging onto others success... go way back to what ever you boys support up there...

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 12/02/2012 21:21:47    1110362

breakingball22
County: Louth

kerry being booed?

I was listening / watching TG4 and the commentators were clear on who was being booed !!!! The Referee

Thanks good news.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 13/02/2012 09:36:38    1110478

gaelantrim & ulsterman ,

Lads i meant no offence with my previous posts i just wish we could get back to football matters and gaa matters and stop all the anti this and that discussions.

im sure we can all get along :)

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 13/02/2012 09:49:41    1110488

What a weekend of football in Division 1! Armagh with a great performance in Tralee, Laois upsetting Donegal. This is proving to be a very competitive and open Division, great preparation for the Championship.

Congrats to Armagh for a fine win. I said a few weeks ago on here that Armagh would be dark horses in the league and they have proven me correct. Not many sides will collect 3 out of 4 points from Cork and Kerry. They were quick out of the blocks and blew us out of it physically on the night, they seemed to adapt better tot the heavy pitch better than our lads. They dominated all over really, great point-taking and a lovely first goal. We made a fist of it but the second goal killed us. It was disappointing to see that act of petulance from Tomás, red card thoroughly deserved. Maybe some of our lads were complacent but I have to give full credit to Armagh on the night, I was really impressed with them.

I'm sure the Armagh lads on here such as Tom and CuChulainn enjoyed it no end.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 13/02/2012 10:48:30    1110520

Cork/Down match report:

http://corkgaa.wordpress.com/2012/02/13/cork-4-11-down-0-10-national-football-league/

Turenne (Cork) - Posts: 28 - 13/02/2012 11:47:58    1110573

I noticed that no one is talking about Corks big win over Down. We played Armagh for over half the game with 14 men and got a point. We beat Down easy
so I think where going along nicely. People are forgetting that where missing key forwards in Sheehan, Goulding and Colm o Neill. Im quiet happy with 3 points from 2 games. We have 3 more home games so I quiet fancy our chances of reaching a final. 3 in a row would not suprise me.

Tyrone look quiet impressive so far but its early days and its also division 2 football. Kildare are progressing the way they normally do. Dublin are the team to beat for me. They have some big players to come back in and i think the league wont be their biggest worry. They need to find another few forwards to help the Brogans, If they do that then I think they could win Sam again. Its not a easy thing to do but they will have the belief now and to be fair there aint many teams out their who can beat Dublin/Kerry/Cork in championship...

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 13/02/2012 13:46:59    1110698

I'd have thought that ye'd prefer it that way RebelTrev, heads down, and all that craic! Cork looked impressive but Down must be in complete disarray at the moment.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 13/02/2012 14:38:52    1110739

We had great win over a strong kildare side in div 2 yesterday which was very pleasing but in div 1 armagh seem to be the stand out team considering the amount of big players they have to come back. They are shaping up well panel wise and paul grimley has boosted them. They wont win the league but i wouldnt bet against them taking out tyrone in the champ!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 13/02/2012 15:23:02    1110781

westkerry

Jinxie

Lads , whatever about the veracity of a posters point, surely the fact that he happens to come from Carlow, Kerry or any other county has no real significance.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 13/02/2012 15:56:27    1110834

No real mention of the Laois Donegal game either. Wasn't expecting anything other than a loss but we put in a very good shift, huge improvement from the Mayo game. Donegal were severly limited without Murphy, McFadden and Cassidy.
Be interesting to see how we get on against Dublin next

Andy (Laois) - Posts: 371 - 13/02/2012 19:13:49    1111071